We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Cove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Smugglers Cove Inn to your Saves list
Smugglers Cove Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011 via mobile

Location, location, location = great!

Rooms are average size with small bathroom. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    62
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
91
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Springdale, Arkansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Smugglers Cove was a wonderful base for our Lunenburg and South Shore Nova Scotia trip. Great staff, lovely rooms, beautiful views. We will definately be back!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is a great, cute hotel in an amazing location with an old timey feel overlooking the harbor. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we would recommend it to everyone. Lots of great bars within walking distance overlooking the harbor.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We spent Canada Day 2011 in Luinenburg and stayed one night at the Smuggler Cove Inn. It was a great experience, the Inn staff were excellent and helped us with everything and anything that we needed. The hotel was located downtown near all the exictment of this historic town opf Lunenburg. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. I highly recommned this Inn to anyone who wants a famulous experinence.

Charlie

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed for 1 night at Smugglers Cove Inn, very nice room and a very comfortable bed. Highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YOURCOICE, Owner at Smugglers Cove Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Hello,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review at Tripadvisor. We are always trying to meet our guests recommondations and bringing in efforts to be on top of it. Thank you again, we appreciate you comment. Hope to see you again. Eva Ziegler, owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We stayed one night in town for a conference the next day.
The stay was great and the service was freindly and went above and beyond helpful.
We stupidly left our laptop behind in the room. The cleaning staff gave it to the front desk.
When we eventually realized we didn't have the laptop, we called and were happy that they were holding it for us. Since we were not returning to lunenburg, the owner Eva took our laptop and couriered it to halifax where we were able to pick it up later that night before our flight home the next day. Thank you to everyone at the Smuggler's Cove Inn - we know where to stay whenever we are in Lunenburg.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Smuggler's Cove Inn. The hotel is located in the centre of town, along the busiest thoroughfare, so it is very well located for those who want to explore Lunenburg on foot. Notwithstanding this central location, we heard no noise from the street in our room at night. The only drawback, location-wise, is that they have limited parking -- only a handful of spots for those who book far in advance. There is free overnight street-parking nearby, which worked well for us, but could present an issue for anyone with mobility issues, heavy luggage, small children, etc.

Front desk staff were friendly. We were initially given the key to the wrong room, but the front desk staff member was very apologetic when the mistake was discovered. I don't expect staff to be perfect, but simply gracious and helpful when there is a problem, and here their conduct was great.

Our room was lovely - on the top floor of the main building, with a balcony overlooking the thoroughfare. We really enjoyed the view. The bed was very comfortable, with nice linens, and the bathroom was clean and modern (shower stall, no tub). My one caveat -- the room decor had me scratching my head (for example, a poster-store reproduction of Warhol's Marilyn Monroe portrait), but that was a minor nit in an otherwise excellent stay.

Just a note about the restaurant. The restaurant downstairs is a great breakfast and lunch spot, with very friendly waitstaff, but it is not open in the evening. So I would imagine there is no room service in the evening for those who like that sort of thing.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smugglers Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Inn

Address: 139 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lunenburg's colourful waterfront, we offer our guests a great variety of rooms. You can choose from queen size beds to king size beds or you might stay in a spacious apartment with a kitchenette overlooking the water. In any case, our elevator provides easy access to all our individually appointed rooms.The moment you arrive, you will surrender to the warm ambiance and friendly service and style. Our hotel is the perfect choice for any traveller to Lunenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Smugglers Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Hotel
Smugglers Cove Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.