We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bit of the honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
27 Cornwallis Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“best bit of the honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Stayed here a couple of years ago, for a few days on our honeymoon tour of canada, and I have to say this guesthouse was worth the trip to Lunenburg. We arrived late in the evening, having lost my luggage on the way, and Chris and Dan made us feel so welcome and were so helpful. The room was the perfect place to relax for a few days, and even though the weather wasnt great the first day, the selection of movies and well stocked fridge in the rooms kept us out of mischief. Breakfast every morning was fantastic, and by the time we finished eating and talking, everyone around the table seemed like an old friend.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
142
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed only one night which was the only negative aspect of our stay. We had the Flying Jib room and found that a good size. Comfy bed, DVD's, storage and chill out area - fab. Best breakfast out of our three holiday in Canada. Chris very friendly and took time to settle us in. Stay here if in Lunenburg if you want the personal touch with the luxury of any high quality hotel chain.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford NS
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

Chris and Dan once again provided us with a wonderful getaway from reality. From the welcoming hug when we came through the front door to the final good-byes, everything was perfect. We stayed in a smaller room (Spanker Suite) this time, but loved it just as much. The pride that they both take in their B and B is obvious. Normally we travel with all the hardware to enjoy time in our room, but when we come to the Addington we can leave it all at home because the room is well equipped with everything that we need. (wine glasses, opener, candles, matches, etc) Breakfast, once again, was top notch and ensured that we wouldn't need lunch. Lunenberg is full of fabulous restaurants and Chris knows all the good ones. When we called to book our room, she also asked to make our dinner reservations as well. This time, we ate at Terra del Nona.....fabulous. Try the calamari.....the best I've had in years. We only had one night away but it was perfect. We will definitely return again and again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland OH
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

My husband and I, 110% recommend our stay at the Addington Arms. We drove 22 hours from Cleveland Ohio to Nova Scotia for a 11 day trip. Yes, we are insane and love to drive. Lunenburg area, and the hospitality of Addington Arms, were the highlights of our trip. This is an excellent "base camp" to seeing beautiful and stunning landscapes, towns, and local flavors of Nova Scotia. We stayed three nights, and absolutely enjoyed each moment to the fullest. Chris and Dan are superior hosts, and I have been just gushing since we returned to let everyone know they need to stay here.

The room we chose was the Spankersail Suite, which fit our lifestyle perfectly. It consisted of a large, well appointed bedroom with comfortable bedding, lighting, and storage, a spotless private bath with shower/soaking tub, and a nice front room with television and lounge area with refridge and plenty of books/guides to read. You could see the harbor from our window and great views of the town in front. We were a full house on the three nights we stayed, and never heard anyone upstairs on the top floor or our neighbors next door. Being in the field of healthcare design, my husband and I are very observant (and sometimes critical) of public and private building construction and renovations we visit. It is very apparent the financial and emotional investment that Chris and Dan placed in this 10,000 sq ft home to bring it to modern standards but retain an eclectic and historic charm. We were very impressed.

Enough of the "Bed" portion of the B and B, onto breakfast. Breakfast, where do I begin, incredible! Even for my very picky husband, each day was absolute luxury. Breakfasts were coursed, and only the finest local ingrediants. We met a couple who had been staying at the Addington for 10 days, and there was never a repeat breakfast the entire time. I find Chris and Dan's culinary skill sets to be very impressive. No one in Nova Scotia matched their breakfasts, hands down.

As for the town of Lunenburg- wow, I wanted to move there permenantly, open a coffee/wine/bookstore, and never leave. Quaint, authentic, and almost storybook like describes Lunenburg. For the outdoor lover, the options of nature abound from Lunenburg to surrouding areas--- beautiful pristine coastlines, clear water that often rivaled colors of the Carribean, the flora filled with so many beautful shades of golds, rusts, sage, browns, oranges, and reds... all of this and it was before Fall hit Nova Scotia so I can only imagine what it must be like then.

Thank you sincerely Chris and Dan for an excellent stay.
We appreciated all you did for us

Diane and Nick

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach, fl
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

Loved the location and hospitality. Breakfast was terrific, very well thought out. Dan and Chris put heart and soul into making each guest feel comfortable and welcome. Loved our room which was absolutely spotless. Thought the amenities were excellent. The only caution I would put out there is that the mattress is super soft -- I had a hard time sleeping but my fiance did not. Location is excellent. We used Lunenburg as our base and had a blast exploring the nearby areas. Make sure to ask Chris for itinerary and dining suggestions.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We had such a great time staying with Chris. The food was excellent! So many choices! It was also great to have a sitting area with TV and fridge in our room to unwind before dinner or before bed. We never needed a thing as everything was provided. ie stocked fridge, soaps, lotions,wine glasses. We were in the Spankersail Suite. Chris is a wealth of information as far as restaurant choices. Our meal at Fleur de Sel was the best of the trip. We would return in a heartbeat!
Mark & Jennifer Scenna
Burlington, Ontario

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

really liked this place. It is perfectly located. The breakfast was the best (organic) we had at a B&B in Nova Scotia. All the B&B's we stayed in were 4 stars or better. The place doesn't look like much from the street or when you walk in but the suites are very nice. We were fortunate not to have anyone staying above us while we were there or it could have been a different experience what with it being an old building with hardwood flooring. The owner said we would have heard them walking around. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to a friend.

victoria grl

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast

Address: 27 Cornwallis Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Addington Arms B&B sits atop 2 fine art galleries and atop the six square block historic district of this UNESCO world heritage site, affording ocean views from all of our suites and room. Shopping, dining and exploring are all just steps outside your front door. We are not your typical B&B but more akin to a boutique hotel, with stocked mini fridges, TV's and en-suite steam-rooms with aroma therapy or an air-jet tub in very spacious surroundings. On-site parking is available as street parking is problematic in the summer months. Our breakfasts are as memorable as the town of Lunenburg itself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Addington Arms Bed And Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addington Arms Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.