We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast
201 York Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our stay at the Wellshire has been one of the best of our trip so far. The house is beautiful and our room exceeded expectations - it was like staying in a five star hotel. Robin was a gracious and perfect host and he make a spectacular English breakfast! The price of the room was very reasonable. Would recommend the Wellshire to anyone visiting this lovely part of Nova Scotia.

Room Tip: Two rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
57
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had such a fantastic time staying at the Wellshire that we were lucky enough to be able to stay an extra night. Having arrived a little later in the afternoon we felt right at home and got settled into the gorgeous, newly-built B&B. We didn't hesitate to share a drink with Robin sitting pond-side to chat and take it easy. Our breakfasts were made to order (Robin even went out of his way to get some gluten-free products as needed) with lovely place settings, a selection of juices, coffees, and tea with a range of choices from freshly baked breads, blueberry pancakes, traditional English breakfast (with the most delicious scrambled eggs!), and fresh fruit. The pride in the home and the attention to creating a wonderful experience is evident.

The location is great as well - close enough to downtown but far enough for some quiet as well. We just happened to be there at the time the Folk Festival was beginning so were lucky enough to be able to hear a great selection of live music from right outside the door.
The decor and facilities were excellent - coffee/tea maker in the room, tv, mini-fridge, and a perfect little sitting area right near the window for some reading or writing.

After contacting several B&Bs in Lunenburg, we are happy to have decided on this one - it would be be one of the main reasons we would return to the town and we have already recommended it as the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #1 which has an ensuite bathroom (just a note that the tub does have a handheld sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Arriving on the first day of the Folk Harbour Festival, we were pleased to discover that Wellshire B&B is at the top of the hill across the street from the main performance venue! We have stayed in B&Bs coast to coast in the US and around Britain, but Wellshire B&B was the most enjoyable B&B experience we’ve had. It is within the World Heritage Site, but the interior was completely redone a year ago and redecorated spectacularly. Our room had fresh flowers, chocolates, a Keurig coffee maker, a fridge with cream and bottled water, bananas and Asian pears, and terrycloth robes and slippers.

I enjoyed our conversations with Robin, the proprietor, more than any host in memory. He is a Brit that came to Nova Scotia 30+ years ago. Admittedly, my opinions here are strongly coloured by roughhousing with his two 100+ pound yellow Labs, Benson & Bedford, who were just the most laid-back pair of dogs you can imagine, even for Labs. (And to whom it concerns, there was nary a single dog hair in our room.)

The breakfast was your choice of homemade granola, wild blueberry pancakes, or a ‘full English’ breakfast, custom to order. We opted for the latter, which included a rasher of bacon, eggs over easy, beans, sautéed mushrooms, tomatoes, and croissants. This was accompanied by fresh-squeezed OJ and a spread of fresh fruit that included bowls of strawberries, wild blueberries, raspberries, cherries, watermelon, cantaloupe, honeydew, plumcot, and pear; they were all wonderful. We also each had our own French press of superb coffee . And to boot, Robin provided a bottle of Bailey’s Irish Cream on the table to liven up the coffee! We found food, gas, and accommodations generally to be quite pricey in the Maritimes, but Wellshire B&B was quite reasonable and well worth the price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

What an exceptional & pleasant stay we had with Robin and guess.
It was indeed, like staying at an old friend's home.
Likewise to Dogsrule123 comment, Robin has indeed done an outstanding job of creating the best B&B we have also stayed at.
Accepted payment at the time was cash or check only. However, the price was seriously below market for this level of accommodation and we appreciated the economies.

My wife & I loved it so much, we look forward to soon return to this charming nest for a vacation in beautiful Lunenburg.

Room Tip: Room #1 has a in-room tube. Room #2 has a nice private modern shower one door up the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This B&B excels in every possible way. Robin has overlooked nothing in his room appointments.
There is also a loevely dining area for breakfast, and a tiered garden with small, fish-filled pond and cascading water.
Recommended without hesitation. If you're reading this and appreciate quality, look no further.

Room Tip: The front room has an ensuite with soaker bathtub/hand held shower wand. (no shower enclosure/curtai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the Wellshire -- and didn't want to leave. We felt like we were visiting old friends. Robin has done an outstanding job of creating what is -- in all seriousness - the best B&B we have stayed at. If you are staying in Lunenburg, this is a fantastic place to stay. We have already made reservations to return next year.

It all starts with Robin - a very warm, personable man who cares deeply about providing his guests with a comfortable and memorable experience. He is an artist and his creativity and attention to detail show in many ways. It shows in the house -- a beautiful modern reconstruction of the old historic property that is absolutely spotless and decorated with art work by Robin and local Lunenburg artists. The rooms are spacious, well-appointed, and very comfortable. The house also has a lovely garden and koi pond that makes for a very relaxing spot. The location is great -- just far enough from the center of town to be quiet and relaxed, but well within walking distance of everything.

The house is also home to Benson and Bedford - two wonderful and gentle older Yellow Labs. If you're not a dog person, no worry. Robin has a downstairs apartment and "the boys" live there and you would never know it. But if you are a dog lover, they are more than happy to spend some time with you out in the garden relaxing at your feet!

The breakfasts are a highlight. Six different types of fruit and a choice of one of three breakfasts - full English, lox, or pancakes. French-press coffee. My wife is gluten-free and Robin went out of his way to get gluten-free blueberry pancake mix -- which was delicious. Perfect way to start the day.

When we were making our reservations, we saw all the Tripadvisor comments and were a bit skeptical, but they turn out to be true. We could not have been happier with our decision to stay at the Wellshire. Seeing all these reviews, it looks like the secret is out. Finally, to top it all off, the price is seriously below market for this level of accommodation. We can't wait to be back in Lunenburg!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Other reviewers have raved about the Wellshire and we can only add our raves! Having stayed at many B&Bs over the years, we don't hesitate to place the Wellshire among the top. I won't recount what you can read from previous reviewers but suffice it to say that host Robin does it right and goes the extra mile in every way. It is also priced very reasonably. Note that one of the rooms has an ensuite bathroom and the other has a private bathroom just outside the bedroom in the hall. First rate B&B. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast

Address: 201 York Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Also Known As:
The Wellshire Bed And Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Wellshire Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list