We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade from powder package” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Treasures Confectionery

Sweet Treasures Confectionery
125 Montague Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
(902) 634-4949
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 shopping in Lunenburg
Type: Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Westmount, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Homemade from powder package”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went yesterday, four of us, we got the "homemade" chocolate ice cream and cookie dough ice cream. Neither tasted like real ice cream, they were worse than most store bought frozen desserts which isn't comparable to real icecream . Not to mention with the neon food coloring how un appealing it was. I don't know how they got rated 5 stars from other reviewers. Must be friends of the ice cream shop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“For Us, It Was The Only Ice Cream Store in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our server at The Salt Shaker Deli, just across the street from Sweet Treasures, highly recommended the ice cream store after we asked her about it. We always will treasure her advice, for that evening, it was indeed a sweet walk back to our B&B with Death by Chocolate and Orange-Pineapple cones. The next afternoon, it was Wild Blueberry and Strawberry yogurt, with such fresh and rich tastes! Tip: you can ask for a child-size scoop, which is more than enough for many; note though that we never saw a child order one!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have had ice cream here several times over the years, on day trips to Lunenburg. I was happy to see that this store gets excellent reviews on both Trip Advisor and Yelp.

Yesterday I had a small butter pecan ice cream and it was huge. And scrumptious. What pleases me is that my waffle cone is included in the price, as I always enjoy waffle cones. If you like ice cream, this store serves it perfectly. There are two lists of ice cream flavours, one list being homemade. They also sell fudge, which looked extremely good to me too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Wonderful homemade ice cream and homemade waffle cones. Reasonable prices, as one scoop is a big scoop. Very friendly staff. Some of us also tried the milkshakes and they were good too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Yummy ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stopped in on a warm July evening. They had homemade ice cream flavours as well as commercial ones. We tried the homemade pistachio and the homemade maple walnut in waffle cones. They were delicious! Since there was only one table inside, we decided to eat and continue our walk through the pretty town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Treasures Confectionery also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Sweet Treasures Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Treasures Confectionery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sweet Treasures Confectionery to your Saves list