We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is "THE" place to stay in Lunenburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast
56 Victoria Road, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada (Formerly The Commander's Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Wiarton
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“This is "THE" place to stay in Lunenburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our 3 night stay at the Atlantic Sojourn was our first B&B experience and what an experience it was. The enthusiastic innkeepers, Sebelle and Susan welcomed us like we were family and by the time we left we felt like family. They are two lovely, fun loving, down to earth ladies who have thought of everything to make your stay in their magnificent home a memorable experience. They both have the knack of being professional while at the same time making you feel completely comfortable and at ease during your stay. Coffee, tea and wonderful home made cookies are available 24 hours a day.
Guests can get together in a common room to watch TV, listen to music, read or spend time getting to know each other and Sebelle and Susan if they have the time to join you (and they will make the time). The guest rooms are spacious, well appointed and our bed was extremely comfortable. Did I mention the home made cookies??
Lunenburg is a great place to visit with something for everyone. Lots of quaint little shops, excellent restaurants (you must visit the Knot Pub), museums. a golf course, horse and buggy rides and wonderful old homes and churches. Lunenburg is located a short distance from so many interesting and picturesque places that you can make the Atlantic Sojourn your home base for exploring a good part of Nova Scotia. One of the best features of the Atlantic Sojourn is their delicious, bountiful breakfasts. You have a good choice of breakfasts to choose from and none will disappoint. Nothing like a home made chocolate chip cookie to end your breakfast with!!!!
I can't say enough good things about this B&B. If you are planning a stay in Lunenburg, stay at the Atlantic Sojourn. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

This past Saturday evening, my husband and I spent a very pleasant one night stay at the Atlantic Sojourn B&B. This was our first time staying at this B&B and we would not hesitate staying here again when in Lunenburg.

Having purchased concert tickets well in advance for a June 12 show in town, we wanted to book our accommodations at the same time. As many of Lunenburg's B&B's were not yet open or available to respond prior to the upcoming tourist season in this town, our choices were limited. Since our preferences in B&B decor first lean towards a more contemporary style while maintaining architectural charm or secondly, an edited Victorian (most B&B's in the east coast go overboard with a traditional Victorian atmosphere which is a turn off for us) the Atlantic Sojourn would not normally be our first choice. However, upon receiving a reply from Sebelle while she and Susan were on the road returning from the US, I decided to book with them and we are very glad we did!

We arrived before the 4 pm check in time where we were warmly welcomed by Sebelle - one of the charming innkeepers - and the smell of freshly baking chocolate chip cookies! What a great start to our stay!

While nibbling away on fresh cookies, Sebelle walked us around the B&B pointing out the various rooms accessible to the guests, gathering our breakfast preferences from an extensive list of possibilities for the next morning, then bringing us upstairs where we looked into the other very comfortable sized guest rooms then introduced us to our charming room while pointing out the various amenities available to us. Afterwards, it hit us that in the 30 plus years we have been staying at B&B's, these innkeepers have thought of every possible need or want their guests may require while offering an authentic B&B experience. As someone who worked in the event and conference planning industry for years, and personally enjoys attention to detail, I was very impressed with the passion and attention to detail both Sebelle and Susan have applied to their success as innkeepers.

The location of this B&B was perfect allowing us a short stroll into town for dinner then making our way to the concert at the Pearl Theatre, located just a five minute walk up the street from this B&B. Our evening ended with us enjoying the company of fellow guests and Sebelle and Susan, everyone sharing their extensive travel stories, before heading off to sleep in our comfortable bed.

One of the many pluses staying at the Atlantic Sojourn is the fact the innkeepers actually live on site. You feel welcomed into their home and not just a business which is the experience most people who enjoy staying at B&B's look forward to.

If you are looking for a welcoming, very comfortable and true B&B experience, this is the B&B for you. As our preference is to not duplicate a hotel when staying at a B&B, Sebelle and Susan have focused on the comforts that count most for a B&B experience and we look foward to our next stay at the Atlantic Sojourn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed at the Atlantic Sojourn for two nights on our road-trip of the Maritimes and enjoyed it very much.

You can tell that for Susan and Sebelle hosting people is not just a job, but a passion! Their hospitality is just amazing - they didn't get tired of answering all our questions about the region, searching for flyers and maps in their abundant collection of tourist materials and giving us tons of great tips what to do and see as well as on good places to eat. The house is very neat, the rooms are decorated very nicely. Everywhere you can find some really nice details: chocolate kisses on the drawer chest in our room, a complimentary coffee/tea "bar" (with at least forty different tea and coffee choices), fresh baked cookies and their teddy bear and Amerindian art collection is just amazing. Last but not least, the homemade breakfasts were super-delicious (especially the fresh fruit bowls and the "flying off the plate pancakes" for which we even got a copy of the recipe).

We can really recommend this B&B, it was one of the best we stayed at during our tour.

Steffi & Steffen (Germany)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, B.C.,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

It is the best. The breakfast is awesome. The location is perfect. The rooms are quiet and roomy. The house is spectacular. These two ladies really know how to treat the guests. The place is a library of knowledge. There is no detail that is not looked after for you. Every room is lovely. There is nothing bad to say about this place. It is truly fabulous value for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My first ever B & B, and a great example of gracious hospitality from Susan and Sebelle from the moment we arrived. Our room was comfortable and quiet. We had the twin bed room, and one of the beds had a slight list to one side - a bit uncomfortable, but nothing major. When this was mentioned to the owner she thanked us for mentioning it and said they'd act on it immediately by turning or exchanging the mattress topper, which I'm sure was done. We met other guests while sharing the comfortable sitting room with wide screen tv, and you could find something to read that would please any fancy in the numerous coffee table books scattered about.

Breakfasts were incredible, with a nice selection to choose from. Both ladies were there with answers to questions on what to see and do, or with general information.
High recommendations to anyone planing to stay in Lunenburg!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We just returned from two weeks out East, touring NB, PEI and Nova Scotia. One of our favorite places was Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast in Lunenburg, Nova Scotia. Sebelle and Susan are great hostesses and they have thought of every detail. The rooms are lovely with wonderful bedding and decor. The food was very good. Most of all though, it was the total guest service. They are definitely a 5 star in our book. Would recommend them highly to anyone visiting that region. They will entertain you as well as making you feel right at home, and have "loads" of information on the area.
Hope to return again some day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

The exterior may not be very outstanding, but this Victorian style house feels very welcoming and home-like on the inside. So far, this is the only B&B I have stayed at that is full of real plants. As a plant lover myself, I felt especially comfortable. It’s very clean, and I liked the idea that visitors have to remove their shoes when entering the house.

The owners, Sebelle and Susan, are very friendly. My husband and I arrived at 11:30am and decided to drop in to say hi. I understood it was way too early for check-in and did not expect the room to be ready yet. At that time, they were installing a new toilet for our room; otherwise, the room would have been ready. However, we were allowed to store our luggage in the room and were given the keys as well. Although we could not go into our room right away, we were given a tour in another room. All rooms are tastefully decorated and have a ceiling fan. After 2 hours, we came back and the room was ready. It was on a hot summer's day, but the ceiling fan had kept the room cool and comfortable.

I like the dispenser installed in the shower booth where you can get shampoo/ conditioner and foam bath. Very environmental friendly.

There is a big TV in the living room which everyone has access to. In the dining room, there are many different kinds of teas to choose from. A hot and cold water dispenser in the dining room makes drinking water or making tea easy at any time of the day.

Breakfast was wonderful. It needs pre-ordering the day before. I ordered the fresh fruits bowl. It turned out to be a really big bowl full of all kinds of fresh fruits. It also came with yogurt. It was excellent.

The two restaurants which they recommended (The Rumrunner and Old Black Forest) were both excellent.

The only lacking in this B&B is internet as we are so used to checking daily emails. However, I respect their intention of maintaining the B&B a relaxing haven for their guests.

Will come back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 56 Victoria Road, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada (Formerly The Commander's Inn)
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy gracious hospitality in our elegantly comfortable historic home. We offer an extensive homemade breakfast, collections of teddy bears, baskets, and American Indian items, wireless internet, and off-street parking. We delight in sharing our love of Lunenburg and Nova Scotia in order to make your trip more memorable. Make Lunenburg your hub for exploring the South Shore. Our guests say we have thought of everything for their comfort. Come sojourn with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Sojourn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.