We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, average room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lunenburg Arms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lunenburg Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lunenburg Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Pelham Street | Box 1378, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lunenburg
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Friendly service, average room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The Lunenburg Arms provided a friendly 2 night stay as a base for exploring Nova Scotia's south coast. The warm welcome at the desk raised our hopes that we were to expect a comfortable cosy stay - unfortunately the room we were given was a disappointment (rm 303). The room was clean, and the bathroom was very good with a good shower. But the bedroom itself was poorly considered, with a television in the wardrobe that was at right angle to the bed, so unwatchable except by one person in a small armchair. The bed itself was small and so soft that it was a precarious night for the two; every turn one person made nearly bounced the other onto the floor. The small fridge on the floor was also rather noisy.

Other rooms of course may be better.

Some plus points - free parking opposite, free wifi, average continental breakfast, effective but noisy air conditioning unit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    61
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
109
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We love this quaint and elegant hotel. This time I took advantage of the spa services and after hours one of the helpful front desk staff helped me re locate my new necklace and earrings I had left there. The previous time we stayed there, she had run to her vehicle to lend her own umbrella for us on a rainy day. The location is excellent and you just feel pampered. Also, there is not a speck of dirt anywhere. It is ultra clean. We will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.S.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Because of work and a pending snow storm my company put me up at the Arms. I was given a room with a beautiful view of the harbour. The room was spacious and impeccably clean. The front desk clerk was friendly and helpful. The dining room has had a revamp and will defiantly be going there for dinner when it reopens for the season. I thank the arms and my company for taking good care of me during a perilous storm

Room Tip: You might pay a little extra but a room with a view of the harbour is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the weekend and had a great time! The loft suite was very nice. It had a huge whirlpool tub in the main living room and a large bedroom upstairs with king bed. Unfortunately we didn’t get a view of the harbor which would have been nice, but it was great all the same. Make sure to ask for a view of the harbor.  The town of Lunenburg is a sweet place-very authentically Nova Scotia. Please be aware during the winter months most restaurants are closed so finding a place for dinner can be tricky! Summer would be amazing… We toured the SPA and it looked fantastic. The continental breakfast was fresh and satisfying.

Room Tip: Ask for a view and summer travel would best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here in Feb. 2012 for a two-day meeting. The restaurant was closed for renovations. It was pretty quiet, but it was February after all. Very cozy rooms, great view. Found a big bug in my bathroom - strange for February. Central location. Meeting room and breakfast rooms were very small.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potter Bar, Herts (near London), England
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is situated in the heart of the historic old town of Lunenburgh. The hotel appears very old with wooden cladding from the outside but inside it shows how appearances can be deceptive. It is modern and very well appointed throughout.

The location is central and surrounded by shops and restaurants and close by to the fantastic fisheries Museum of the Atlantic.

The rooms are very large with wooden floors.

The hotel has an excellent restaurant and spa all worth trying.

Splash out for a King Inn Room and enjoy spectacular views.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Very nice room and furnishings. Good quality toiletries. The bed was extremely comfortable. Spa was awesome - very relaxing and conveniently located downstairs. Continental breakfast was good. Within walking distance to many restaurants. Staff very helpful. Best place to stay in Lunenburg!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lunenburg Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lunenburg Arms Hotel

Address: 94 Pelham Street | Box 1378, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lunenburg Arms Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lunenburg Arms provides an experience rich in history and culture. It’s the perfect get away, retreat or corporate meeting place, located in the heart of Lunenburg, a Unesco World Heritage Site. Twenty-four graciously appointed guestrooms many of which overlook Lunenburg Harbour and the famous schooner Bluenose II (when in port) are available to our guests. Enjoy our plush allergy-friendly duvets, soft guest robes, complimentary wireless Internet, expanded cable television, room-controlled air-conditioning and beautiful Aveda soaps and shampoos. And hardwood floors allow us to be pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Lunenburg Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lunenburg Arms Hotel Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lunenburg Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.