We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must see in Lunenburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic

Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
68 Bluenose Drive, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
902-634-4794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Attractions in Lunenburg
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum tips its hat to the rich fishing heritage of Canada's Atlantic Coast by offering a wealth of attractions and activities, from boarding the banks schooner Theresa E. Connor to talking with "old salts" who fished the North Atlantic.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“This is a must see in Lunenburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Even if you are visiting Lunenburg for the day, you simply must visit this wonderful little museum. It will provide you with a great understanding of the cod fishing industry and its importance to this area. Also, you should be able to tour one or more of the old schooners docked by the museum.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    84
    19
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida and Lunenburg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“One of the Best Maritime Museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Best place to take houseguests who want to learn about the fishery. We like everything. There are many types of exhibits, including lots of boats and floating boat museums. You can even ride the Bluenose from the wharf once its back in the water again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Museum - provides good sense of the maritime heritage of the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was a wonderful little museum - we enjoyed it more than we anticipated. The exhibits were well done, and provided a good sense of the town's maritime heritage. We enjoyed speaking to the volunteers, who were friendly and well versed about the town's history. We also enjoyed talking to them about their crafts - each volunteer was working on a craft that was indicative of the times.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This small museum is very interesting and we spent double the time that we had expected. It has 3 floors with exhibits about the North Atlantic fisheries. They also have two ships at dockside, a Grand Banks fishing schooner and a more modern small trawler.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A lot of work has gone into this museum, all thre floors of it. A labour of love by the looks of it.
Plus you get to walk through two ships moored at the wharf. I enjoyed every minute.
It may not be as glitzy as a big city museum, but then, it's not a big glitzy city. The museum reflects well upon the community and it's history.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.