We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the admission” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic

Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic
68 Bluenose Drive, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
902-634-4794
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Attractions in Lunenburg
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum tips its hat to the rich fishing heritage of Canada's Atlantic Coast by offering a wealth of attractions and activities, from boarding the banks schooner Theresa E. Connor to talking with "old salts" who fished the North Atlantic.
Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the admission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A lot to see; Could spend an afternoon here. well worth the admission. Annoying to have to pay to park.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit. We are always looking for new ways to address parking issues. Thanks for your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    84
    19
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Historical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Maritimes are about fishing and boats, don't miss the Museum. Spent a full morning and the volunteers were most helpful answering questions.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful educational experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Everything about the Fisheries Museum is first class! We spent most of the afternoon as there is so much to see and do. Teachers and parents, please bring your students to this museum for a huge educational experience. It is full of valuable cultural facts and has a number of hands on activities for children. I am very proud to know that we Nova Scotians have such an incredible museum here in our own province! The staff at the museum are an exceptional resource too!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We agree, this is a great museum for fostering learning. All you parents and educators, come on down! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent hours going through this museum. Landlubbers that we are we knew very little about the history of the fishing industry in the maritimes and we learned so much. The exhibits are excellent and I loved the miniature representations of the ships and dories. There is so much history in Nova Scotia and this museum greatly contributed to our knowledge. Very worthwhile to visit for half a day or more.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our museum. We strive to celebrate and share the heritage of the Atlantic Canada fishery with enthusiasts and landlubbers, alike!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Terrific Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A great place to visit while in Lunenburg. We spent a rainy morning within the museum and stayed longer than we had anticipated. The exhibits highlight the importance of Lunenburg as a major fishing port and provide an interesting historical record of the fishing industry.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlee F, Communications Assistant at Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for visiting with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisheries Museum of the Atlantic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.