We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a little TLC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boscawen Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Boscawen Inn to your Saves list
Boscawen Inn
150 Cumberland Street | PO Box 489, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Needs a little TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Boscawen Inn has many things going for it. The Inn Keepers recently acquired the Inn, and are super friendly. The location is right in the middle of the Unesco World Heritage district and thus, everything is walkable. The Inn is beautiful, especially the common areas. However, the rooms certainly need some TLC. We stayed in Room 203, which was very large and roomy with great windows looking out on the harbor. But the mattress did not sleep well (felt a little old) and the bathroom really needs a remodel. The breakfast is catered and is very good. Overall, liked our experience, but not sure we would stay here the next time.

Room Tip: Room 203 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen I, Owner at Boscawen Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Jon and I are so sorry that you did not enjoy your room. Did you enquire about the availability of a different room at the time? We are busy upgrading as we go along, so I will be disappointed if you don't come and stay with us again so that we can show you all that we have been up to. We are both so excited about the potential of this beautiful old lady and those views aren't going anywhere anytime soon. See you again I'm sure of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We only stayed one night, but would happily have stayed longer if it were possible. A very interesting and well-kept house. We received a great welcome from the owner who was extremely helpful and attentive in an unassuming way. Breakfast was very good. There is a terrace with a view over the harbour and also a bar and sitting room, which we did not have the chance to use.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed two nights at this spacious, lovely b&b/inn. Very spacioius public rooms and attractive dining room and deck with view. Owners couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly, and location was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lunenburg is a quaint and lovely little town, and I expect many of the places to stay are good. I can only speak for the Boscawen Inn since it is where we stayed. We spent two nights, and I wish we could have stayed much longer. The house itself is beautiful and clean. The breakfasts were outstanding, and the hospitality of Jon and Judy go far beyond the call of duty. They are energetic and capable hosts, and have experience for operating a bed and breakfast having done this kind of work in South Africa before coming home (Judy is from Ontario) to Canada. I strongly recommend Boscawen Inn and Lunenburg as a place to visit on your trip to Nova Scotia.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent two of our seven nights in Nova Scotia at the Boscawen Inn, and this inn was our favorite! Everything about our stay (the rooms, the view, the breakfast, the cleanliness, the decor of the historic house, and of course the hospitality of Judy and Jon) made us feel comforted and accommodated. The breakfast is catered each day by professional caterers and was delicious. The dining room has large windows with a view of the harbor. I also enjoyed relaxing in the parlor with a cup of coffee after a day of site-seeing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The "girls of Rotary" went for a weekend getaway at this lovely inn, and felt welcomed and comfortable from the minute we arrived. We were a group of 7 and enjoyed the lovely views from the rooms of the harbour. the breakfast was a buffet with poached eggs,,sausages fruit, yoghurt and cereal with various juices and coffee and tea. Lunenburg is a beautiful town and we were lucky with a sunny weekend. the service was excellent. We highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Jon and Judy (the Innkeepers) are very welcoming and friendly. The inn is stunning and the renovations completed so far are beautiful. Everything is within walking distance,on Sunday mornings you can hear the lovley church bells in the morning.You will not be disappointed with the beauty, view, or service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscawen Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscawen Inn

Address: 150 Cumberland Street | PO Box 489, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boscawen, as seen on Amazing Race, is the perfect spot to set up base and visit Nova Scotia. Jon and Judy are looking forward to meeting you and will strive to ensure your visit to Lunenburg will be the best it can be. The Boscawen is available for destination weddings, spa getaways or just a quiet weekend with a good book. We are already filling up for weddings in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Boscawen Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscawen Inn Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscawen Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.