We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best German Restaurant Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Black Forest Restaurant

Old Black Forest Restaurant
Highway 3, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 35 restaurants in Lunenburg
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Jacksonville, Florida and Lunenburg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“The Best German Restaurant Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

If you don't think you like German, eat at this place. We are Florida residents who own a home in Lunenburg. We go to this restaurant about six or seven times overthe course of four months. It never disappoints. We are not Germans but are converts because of this little place. The schnitzel and the multascen are the best anywhere in any country, including Germany. The salads and dressings are just right and the gravy is just as it should be. The owners are lovely hard working people. Please give this place a try for lunch or dinner. It's between Lunenburg and Mahone Bay in the middle of nowhere. You can do both towns before and after. Don't miss this one or you will be missing out.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    43
    11
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfork, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Somewhat Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We don't have any German heritage that we know of, but we have eaten it in the past and were looking forward to eating here because of its rating on Trip Advisor and because the owners of our B & B love it also. Our food was mostly bland, poorly seasoned, and each dish tasted very similar to the other dishes the four of us ordered, even though we ordered different items. There was a mediocre brown gravy that seemed to be a mainstay for most of the dishes - my schnitzle was not thin and tender as I expected it to be. A couple of us had the spatzle and it was very bland and tasteless. None of the food was bad; it was just mediocre. One of our traveling friends attended a culinary institute and he was quite disappointed in each of our dishes. Perhaps we didn't have realistic expectations, but we've each eaten good German food in other areas and this just didn't measure up.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great German Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Went to Hamburg Germany and couldn't find a good place to sample German cooking, but managed to find it in Lunenburg. We drive by this little place all the time, and finally went in for supper. We had to get a reservation, and the little restaurant was packed. No wonder! This is excellent food. The server was actually German, and was excellent, suggesting options to get around my Milk allergy without once saying "I'll check with the kitchen"; she obviously knew the menu very well. The food is simple but delicious, from a lovely fresh salad to REAL Black Forest cake (Which I of course couldn't sample . .) The German specialties are all made on site from Spatzle to Sauerbraten, and you can get authentic German beer served in the proper German beer steins. I had the Beef Sauerbraten and it was tender and delicious with a rich delicious gravy. Even the Poached pear and cranberry on the side was amazing!

Don't miss this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great German food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have some insight into German cooking so I am fussy about where I eat when it comes to this....but the Old Black Forest is great traditional food done with care and pride!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Enjoy best german food in Nova Scotia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

On our first evening in Canada we found this nice little restaurant near our hostel Kip & Kaboodle. Being in a Hostel run by an Kiwi it amazed us even more to find these nice people from the border of the "Bodensee" in Germany here serving really good food from Germany and Canada! We enjoyed both some "Maultaschen" and Scallops. The food really tastes like it should, very good and authentic. It was a warm welcome in this new atmosphere for us mixing german and english. About the price we can't tell yet. Its the same moderate price like in Austria or Germany, not that cheap as we were told. But maybe we don't know yet other Canadian prices?

Come and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Black Forest Restaurant also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Old Black Forest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Black Forest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.