We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lunenburg Walking Tours

Lunenburg Walking Tours
97 Kaulbach St., Lunenburg, Nova Scotia, Canada
+1 902-521-6867
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Activities in Lunenburg
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There is no better way to experience the spectacular sites and atmosphere of Lunenburg's historic streetscapes and working waterfront than on foot. Lunenburg Walking Tours was created to offer visitors to our UNESCO World Heritage Site town - one of only two such urban sites in North America - an educational and entertaining directed walk through history. Co-Owners Shelah Allen and Ashlee Feener, both descendants from original founding families, bring authenticity, accuracy, and levity, all woven into great stories, to your outing. Tours are at a gentle pace, vary in length depending on the tour, go rain or shine, and require a reservation by phone/text or email.
Sussex
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Shelagh met us at the Academy and talked and walked us down to the waterfront. She was an excellent raconteur and a brilliant sense of humour. The houses and streets in Lunenburg were lovely, very olde world.A lovely place to visit

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelah63, Owner at Lunenburg Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
What lovely compliments, thanks!I have great material to work with and so many wonderful guests. Shelah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
“Ghost/Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A great way to spend an evening in Lunenburg. This tour has a very knowledgeable guide who is full of stories from the towns history. She can be scary and throw out some humorous wit when telling the haunting stories of this old, OLD, town. The sites at night are awe inspiring, full of magnificent churches to the scariest of schools which happen to be surrounded by graveyards.

I mean how cool is that!?

This is a must event when visiting Lunenburg.

Thanks for the fun evening

Donovan R.
New Westminster, B.C.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelah63, Owner at Lunenburg Walking Tours, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Ah thanks for the kind words Donovan R! We did have fun. Shelah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Junior High Choir enjoyed the tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our choir of junior high boys and girls had a very informative tour with the tour guide. The tour was geared to their interest level and had a good mix of historical culture, stories of past residents and history of the town and area. All came away with a much better understanding of Lunenberg history and culture.

Visited April 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelah63, Owner at Lunenburg Walking Tours, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
This was a really special tour; I mean, how often do your clients sing so gloriously for you in a beautiful historic church? Thanks for coming to Lunenburg and letting us show you around. Shelah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“History and Ghost stories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had a great time taking the lantern tales walking tour. We met at 8:30 just as the town was getting darker. Shelah was knowledgeable, and knew all her information really well. My wife remarked that she felt like she learned so much in only 90 minutes. She was even able to give tidbits about little bits of the town that we would have missed otherwise. The time length of the tour was perfect, and it FLIES by, it is almost exactly 90 minutes and you wind your way up through the town, with a peek inside the cathedral as well as a walk through the graveyard at the top of the hill.
The tour was fun, and Shelah was very accommodating, the tour was just for me and my wife, as we visited in the off season, and although the night was chilly, we got the full package, and were grateful that Shelah could make time for just the two of us, so we could learn more about the beautiful town. She also was able to take a picture for us when my camera failed in the graveyard and email it to me before I left the next morning. If I ever head back to Lunenburg I would be interested in taking her other tours to learn even more about this tiny little town.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelah63, Owner at Lunenburg Walking Tours, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to add your review folks. I really enjoyed our outing too and love that you had questions! Do come again for a daytime tour with all the history. Shelah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great Way to Learn About Lunenburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Our one hour tour of Lunenburg was given by a resident of Lunenburg all her life. She knew everything about the city and presented it very well. The tour started at the top of the town and we walked down toward the harbor, taking in the various attractions on the way. It is a great way to learn about a city in a short period of time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunenburg Walking Tours also viewed

Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Lunenburg Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lunenburg Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.