We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained with good sized rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homeport Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Homeport Motel to your Saves list
Homeport Motel
167 Victoria Road | Highway #3, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Lochcarron, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Well maintained with good sized rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a good property, well maintained, in three levels on a hillside, see pictures. The rooms are large and bright and with good lighting and power points too. Mine was one large bed, with table by the window, a desk area with TV, with good internet connection.

An alcove has microwave, fridge and coffee maker. There was also cutlery and cardboard plates etc so you can eat at the dining table. Separate bathroom & shower and adequate towels. There's plenty of parking space and some picnic tables and outside furniture.

Just a short walk away is a small supermarket, whilst across the road is a branch of Tim Hortons for snack type meals. It is a bit out of town, yet convenient and good value for money. I stayed two nights and would certainly return when next in that area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    27
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
41
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Enjoyed an overnight stay here after winning on a ticket I purchased as a fund raising event for The Relay For Life 2013 ( Bridgewater Team). The owner was very friendly and informative as to what the area offered and all the eating establishments available in the area. Our stay was over the Scarecrow Festival in Mahone Bay, so was encourage to enjoy the events there. The Family Suite (Rm 201) was very clean. Everything needed for family stay. Lots of hot water, towels, dishes, blankets, pillows. Dishwasher and detergent, dish soap and dish cloths. Washer and dryer on site for a fee but washing detergent and fabric sheets complimentary. One bedroom with two large beds, Jacuzzi in a large bathroom. AC which we did not require. Full kitchen with dinning room and living room. Pleasant stay and would recommend this to any family visiting area. The BBQ is and asset to this motel with outdoor table and chairs. Julie Rice

Room Tip: Family Suite Rm 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

An excellent little motel 15 minutes from the exhibition grounds in Bridgewater. We stayed there for the Provincial 4-H show in September 2013. The owner is pleasant and accommodating and the motel is pet friendly. There is a grocery store, gas station and Tim Horton's next door. Room was clean and quiet. We will stay again. Downtown Lunenburg is very close.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Standard Canadian Motel set at the edge of woodland about half a mile from town. Set well back off the road so no noise from traffic. No cafe or shop on site but there is a garage across the road where you can buy chocolate and biscuits etc. The Motel is run by a friendly German lady and it is basic but clean. The bathroom could do with updating but everything worked and these was plenty of hot water. No breakfast was available and we paid CAN £126.50 for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We've stayed here before and in fact often schedule this part of our trip around availability. This time we had a two bedroom suite. We like the dining room layout and use the large comfortable table to play board games, write and use laptops (and eat of course!) The grocery store next door makes it easy to cook meals and it also has some ready-made meals and salads. The full kitchen is very convenient.

The two bedroom (as warned) is a little odd in that the one bedroom is off the dining room and has an extremely large pocket door. More importantly to us, the bed was very comfortable. There are two comfortable Queens in the second bedroom. There is a jacuzzi in the large bathroom.

There is a reasonably priced guest laundry on site in the room beside the office. There is only 1 washer and 1 dryer but with a bit of politeness everyone seems to get a turn. I find it very convenient to get caught up on the laundry here where it's just a short walk across the lawn past the flowers to check on a load rather than up and down elevators etc.

As usual the room was very clean and the housekeeping staff very polite and kind.

We find this a great location to see Lunenburg and the surrounding area. It's about 15 minutes from the craft shops in Mahone Bay; not far from the wonderful craft coop hidden in the back of the LaHave Bakery (which has excellent food and eat-in sandwiches); about an hour from Chester and the ferry to Tancook or to see the sail boat races; etc.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentone, AL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay here. The owner was very nice, check in a breeze & room was very clean. The motel was somewhat out from the city part, so we couldn't walk to town. But that wasn't a problem for us. In our room, we had a comfortable bed, and it was nice to have a table with 2 chairs. There was a coffee maker, toaster, microwave, & mini fridge. There were nice coffee cups, glasses & a few dishes. The bathroom was a good size, sooo clean. Only problem was the water pressure was weak for the shower. But we made it fine. If we went back to Lunenburg, I wouldn't mind staying here again. It did seem a tad pricey for a plain motel - around $125.00 a night, tax & all, but apparently it was their "busy" season. We saw several people grilling out on the provided grills & there were a few picnic tables as well. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribou, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This quaint drive up motel brings nostalgia from traveling in my childhood. The proprieter is very friendly, the rooms are immaculate, and the kitchenettes very convenient. The only issues I had were minor; the remote for the TV did not work, which I didn't really care about anyway. The other issue caused a small comedy. The water pressure is amazing, and the handheld shower took a trip around my bathroom. :) We loved our stay here and this will be our regular port of call when traveling to see relatives in Lunenburg. :) Across the street from this motel is a Tim Horton's coffee shop, an Irving gas station, and next door is a Save Easy grocery store.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homeport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeport Motel

Address: 167 Victoria Road | Highway #3, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Homeport Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeport Hotel Lunenburg
Homeport Motel Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homeport Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.