We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rest a While Longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alicion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Alicion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Berkshire UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Rest a While Longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Staying for nine days with our hosts Lorne & Janet who are the proud owners of a colonial style mansion located within a large quiet plot which they manage with aplomb, offering complete discretion & a fine attention to detail, Alicion is the epitome of B&B perfection, we say this having experienced quality B&B worldwide the Alicion is up there with the best. I could use so many superlatives, but why it's just superb, whoops...

Pre-visit researching of various Lunenburg, accomodation & subsequent later walking the town identified the Alicion, to be in a superior location to many other B&B's & hotels away from the traffic, hustle & the noise of small town Lunenburg, but only couple of minutes gentle walk from Lunenburg waterfronts attractions with it's varied restaurants & pubs.

Our room (Dragonfly) was large with an 'Oh so comfy" bed, an extremely large bathroom with a magnificent spa bath & walk in shower. As with the rest of this house our room was spotlessly. Lorne, heads up front of house & serves breakfast in the lovely dining room, we found breakfast tended to keep us going until dinner. The adjacent drawing room is a stylish haven of peace to retire, relax, read, or listen to music, perhaps with the odd drink or two. In balmy weather the verandah offered shade & peace.

Nine days still wasn't long enough to see the area in full, interestingly during our stay we met many fellow travellers over breakfast staying only a night or two, without exception all wished they had arranged a more prolonged stay, it seems Lunenburg's secret is to do just that, take in the area, its ambiance & all it has to offer, with his local knowledge Lorne, will ensure you are justly rewarded.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
146
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

We've just returned from a trip to Nova Scotia and P.E.I. One of the highlights of our vacation had to be our trip to Lunenburg, Nova Scotia. After looking at websites of all the B&B's available, we chose the Alicion. It was amazing. The owners, Janet and Lorne Johanson were the consumate hosts. Our room had it's own hydrotherapy tub and separate shower. Wow! We were given all sorts of tips about wonderful places to visit in the area. We stayed for three mornings, and every day had a choice of omelets and fresh muffins. We'll be going back again.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

The full experience ! Staying in a historic home in the Unesco World Heritage site of Lunenburg, it couldn't be better! Walking up the stately staircase to our room was a step back in time! Make no mistake all the modern comforts are here and Eco Friendly too!

We enjoyed fabulous beds, a large room looking over this beautiful property, a spacious bathroom with wonderful eco safe soaps and hydrotherapy tub. There was a flat screen TV but no time to watch it!

Our hosts were engaging, the breakfast was delicious and served in a lovely large dining room!

There is so much to do and see in Lunenburg! We were able to walk everywhere in town. Walking through the neighborhood to the center of town we felt like locals in another time. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer! Always at the end of the day was this wonderful stately home to embrace us!

Michael and Dianne

Edmonton Alberta

  • Liked — Amenites and location
  • Disliked — Nothing not to like
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We loved our 2 night stay at Alicion! This historic house is spotless, large and comfortable. The bed and the room were amazing! We had a hydrotherapy tub in our room that was a treat after a busy day. The food was great and so was the hospitality of the owners. We really appreciated the commitment to the environment. The location allowed for an easy walk to the water, restaurants and shops. Highly recommend this B&B!

  • Liked — The beauy of the home and the location
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We spent two nights here, in the Tamarack Room (King sized bed), and the cost was $135 per night. If you look on their website www.alicionbb.com you can click on the photos of this room, which exactly depict what you will see when you stay there.

This is an exceptional bed & breakfast ~ a beautiful house built in 1911, with a lovely front porch to enjoy an afternoon or evening beverage. The decor is just lovely throughout the house, and you can tell that the innkeepers cherish this home. Our bathroom was absolutely huge ~ in fact, it was originally a bedroom, so you can just imagine how luxurious it was.

The innkeepers are extremely pleasant and knowledgeable about the area, so you can ask them for any advice about outings, hikes, etc.

Breakfast is delicious, with made- to -order gourmet omelets, and fresh fruit (cherries from their own tree!).

The home is in a peaceful residential neighborhood, and you can walk (or quickly drive) into town.

We loved the Alicion!

  • Liked — Beautiful home, lovely room, comfortable bed, great bathroom! Delicious breakfast!!
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

This property is set on a very large lot in a quiet residential area of Lunenburg. It is not in the historic area, but is about a ten-minute walk from the historic area. The house itself is a typical Victorian-era Maritimes house, with lots of dark wood. My room was a reasonable size, and was comfortable. It was furnished as you would expect for a Victorian-era house.

I found the owners to be welcoming and helpful.

I was the only one at breakfast initially (the other guests all chose to eat half an hour later, apparently), so the host had time to prepare me a made-to-order omelette. I don't know if that is normal, but it was very good.

Having said all that, I would probably stay somewhere else next time, but only because there are so many other very good B+B's to experience in Lunenburg. I would certainly recommend this B+B to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alicion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly * Spacious Comfort * Historic Charm. Alicion B&B promotes the preservation of this gracious and historic estate while embracing green products and practices. For uncompromising comfort, all 4 rooms are spacious and well-appointed. King, queen, twin beds available all with large private en suites. We invite you to relax on the wrap-around veranda, spend a tranquil moment in the garden or take a memorable tour on a complementary bicycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicion Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alicion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.