We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alicion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lunenburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alicion Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Alicion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Lunenburg B&B and Inns
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful property, wonderful owners, fantastic service and excellent food. We couldn't have asked for a nicer, more hospitable place to stay for our Anniversary. My only complaint is that we didn't have more time to stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
146
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had an amazing visit in this historic little town. The B&B is within easy walking distance to town. Room was spotless, and teh bed was extremely comfortable. The host and hostess were very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and sightseeing...and breakfast was very good! Only regret was that we did not stay longer, but we are already planning a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Alicion had everything you need: quiet, comfortable, clean, good food, attractive, historical, etc. but it had one extra I especially enjoyed - refreshing honestly. Lorne shoots it straight, knows the community and its history, and both he and Janet are pleasant to talk with. You've have a positive and memorable experience.

Room Tip: The art gallery of Daniel Richards in town is good, just be aware, it's all photoshoped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicion, Owner at Alicion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We are grateful to have guests who celebrate the many, varied and lively discussions at our breakfast table. Such discussions are often generated by thoughtful and engaging guests who are pleased to share their stories and travel tips.

Thank you, Lorne and Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here is August. This inn is very nicely restored and maintained.
It has a nice verandah, which is very relaxing after a busy day touring. The
bedrooms are beautiful and very peaceful. They are light and airy and not
a piece of lacy Victoriana anywhere in sight! This inn is owned and managed
by a couple. Janet, the wife, is very nice and sweet . . .

Room Tip: There are three bedrooms on the second floor and one on the ground floor. The three upstairs would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great house, great food. Lorna and Janet were very congenial hosts. Not really walking distance from town. No air condition. There is croquet and Bocce ball. Great veranda for sitting and chilling. Refrigerator available for guests to keep snacks and wine. Would recommend hosts begin serving appetizers in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicion, Owner at Alicion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We thank this guest for the nice compliments. Clarification on a couple of points may be helpful to prospective guests. Our B&B actually is in Town and a comfortable 8-10 minute walk to the UNESCO core. This location allows us to be on a quiet corner with a large garden and our guests love the easy stroll through our beautiful neighbourhood.

Alicion B&B is environmentally friendly and air conditioning is not a good fit. We also find that it is not necessary. For example, nighttime temperatures in this time frame were 15-18°C (59-64° F).
When we stay in B&Bs we have no expectation of being fed in the evening and we are fortunate that generally our guests do not expect appetizers. Occasionally, after very busy workdays, we still find a few minutes to offer our guests hors d’ oeuvres and glass of wine on our veranda. We enjoy this quality time.
When seeking accommodations, it is always prudent to review the facilities and services that are offered by the establishment before booking.

Thank you, Lorne and Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

A beautiful period home on a quiet street. A pleasant 5 ish minute walk to 'central' Lunenberg. Beautiful, modern and clean amenities (including DVD player, etc.). Accommodating, informed hosts and a very nice breakfast included with the room rate. If you like staying in BnBs, I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Set back off the road on a large corner property, this B&B really is lovely. Lorne welcomed us in the afternoon and cooked us breakfast the next morning. We had the Kingfisher room on the main floor and it was very pleasant and quiet for sleeping. Bed was great!Too bad we only had one night here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alicion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 66 McDonald Street, Lunenburg, Nova Scotia B0J 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Lunenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Lunenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco-Friendly * Spacious Comfort * Historic Charm. Alicion B&B promotes the preservation of this gracious and historic estate while embracing green products and practices. For uncompromising comfort, all 4 rooms are spacious and well-appointed. King, queen, twin beds available all with large private en suites. We invite you to relax on the wrap-around veranda, spend a tranquil moment in the garden or take a memorable tour on a complementary bicycle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alicion Bed & Breakfast Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alicion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.