We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude rude rude server” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Keg Steakhouse & Bar

Keg Steakhouse & Bar
20640 Dewdney Trunk Rd, Maple Ridge, British Columbia, Canada
(604) 465-8911
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 147 restaurants in Maple Ridge
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rude rude rude server”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been to The Keg many times (not by choice) just for birthdays & special occasions. I was here tonight for my girl friends birthday & it was the worst experience ever. I've maybe had 2 good experiences every time I've gone once again ( not my choice to go ). The servers are so rude. Our server was so rude she made a rude comment about one of the kids at our table because he ate his food fast she goes (oh your a big boy you sure ate that fast) he's a young boy, she embarrassed him so bad!! like really!!! Hardly came back to check on us. We would have ordered more drinks and desert if she was more attentive. If you really hate your job that much maybe you should quit. Just a bad experience over all. I'm a server I know to tip and always do. We spent a good 300$ for 5 of us and left no tip. Rude of us I don't think so. Bad bad service NO tip. Everything is way to over priced. Nun of us will be going back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

40% Recommend
    2
    7
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have eaten here numerous times but tonight was a disappointment. Steak was tough and the crab topping was salty and the cream sauce was inedible. The staff were courteous and did not charge for the meal. Service was ok.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“It was OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I was taken to this Keg for my birthday a few weeks ago. I have been there since the reno was done and I still find it very dark. The service was good as always but I found the food to be less than stellar. We started with calamari which was a huge disappointment. We got a small scattering of some tiny pieces and they were somewhat chewy. I ordered the prime rib which is a real treat for me but again my expectations were lowered by the amount of gristle on my piece. I was taken aback since this is not the Keg standard that I have become use to. It wasn't awful just not as good as it use to be. Are they ordering their meat from a different source or are the cooks just being sloppy? I don't know but since I was the guest of honour I did not feel right saying anything.
Nobody said much about their food so I'm guessing that the feelings were shared across the table. That's too bad because my feeling has always been the Keg is reliable for good food and service. Too pricey for a weekly meal but nice for special occasions. I hope that this was just a minor blip. We will go back in the near future.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice but way too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Restaurant is too dark and drab, and the menu is too overpriced for the same thing that you can get cheaper in other restaurants.
Staff were nice though. They give you warm bread with orange butter to start, but no refills. The steak is tiny, and also, you have to pay for drink refills. Overall, okay but terrible terrible value.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I live in Maple Ridge and it has been many years since I have been to our local Keg. I decided it was time to return. They have undergone extensive renovations and I wanted to see if the food was good along with the physical changes they have made. My husband and I took a couple of friends and we went for dinner. We had made a reservation and only waited a few mins. for a table. My husband doesn't really like sitting in a booth, but that's just him. Our service was fairly good. It was very busy, and so I don't fault them too much. The food was excellent though. We each had different kinds of steak and everyone was extremely pleased. Our wedge salads were one of the best we have every had! The food was really a surprise at how good it was. We will be back very soon!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keg Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
Maple Ridge, British Columbia
 

Been to Keg Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keg Steakhouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.