We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sea air, fine dining,comfortable beds, glorious sunsets....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belle Plage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Belle Plage to your Saves list
Hotel Belle Plage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1310 Matane-sur-Mer, Matane, Quebec G4W 3M6, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Matane
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“sea air, fine dining,comfortable beds, glorious sunsets....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Our salmon fishing party used the Belle-Plage last week enroute to and back from our salmon camp. It is a most reliable, welcoming and comfortable hotel. Right on the beach, it is not one of these loud noisy touristy hotels - rather it is a quiet place for a few days stop on a tour of the amazing Gaspé. Belle-Plage has fine cuisine that specializes in just-caught seafood - naturally - but all is prepared with flair - and they smoke their own salmon at their smoke house on hotel grounds.Don't miss the Matane baby shrimp prepared with garlic! Very good wine list and smiling service from student wait staff and a seasoned Maitre D'. Price wise they offer a modified American plan which is amazingly reasonable for this their high-season. Seated in their dining room one can easily imagine being on a ship at sea - and the sunsets! Bravo Belle-Plage. P.S. a must is a visit to the salmon ladder at the dam in Matane - five minutes from hotel.

Room Tip: request a beach-side room on the ground floor to the left or right of the hotel entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    39
    24
    5
    7
See reviews for
21
41
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This property is located right on the beachfront and has small balconies overlooking the beach.
The room was a different design to what we have been used to in Motels--it is a large room containing two comfortable beds and pillows with a small sitting area that contained two comfortable arm chairs, a table and two chairs, a small desk with a chair. It was nice to pull the two armchairs around to face the view and have a nice glass of wine.
The bathroom area is tiny and if you are a big person you would have trouble (as I did)
There is no coffee/tea making facilities which at the price charged should be included. There is no microwave or other method of heating food.
There is a restaurant attached to the motel which provides evening meals and breakfast. It is an up market restaurant with nice decor, lovely menu and wine list with the service that goes with it however you will pay for the privilege (not for the budget conscious)- I will say however that our meal was delicious and well presented. The young waiter was in his learning phase but was delightful and helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a room with your own balcony - some rooms have shared balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We can say that it is an average motel facing the sea. we can say that is a charming place in this beautifull región that is the gaspesie. Our room was facing the sea and had a balcony in a sort of deck, that is shared by all the others rooms. It s very peacefull, romos are basic but very clean, no coffe maker, flat tv. There is no good lightening in the room, they could have put some in the seeling, but it s ok. It is a bit expensive for value, but i really liked the beachside place, the ambiance of this place. I would recomemd even it was a bit pricey. We did not try the restaurant, thought it seamed chic and had a good menu. Breakfast not included.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

If they added an exhaust fan in the bathroom and more electrical outlets in the rooms it would be better but it is clean with an above average restaurant. Average is a good description. It is more of a Motel than a Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The room was barely tolerable. Carpet smelled of "barfy". TV very old, and didn't work until we changed plugs. Mattress hard. We loved our dinner at their restaurant, and thus went back for breakfast. Don't do breakfast unless you want overdone eggs and toast burned to a crisp - all the while being overcharged.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

As said before, the rooms are a bit dated, but they're clean and the bed was comfortable. I was in one of the "wings" and the first thing that struck me was the odd shape of the room.... really rectangular. It felt like I was in a rail carriage!

I had breakfast there twice and the service and food were top notch. Good value too.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Friendly service at front desk and in dining room. It's a bit dated and rooms and property need some fixing up. For one night in a beach front room it's ok. There are more interesting places nearby but for our stay they were full. The "beach" is not exactly "belle" but ok for a walk.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belle Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belle Plage

Address: 1310 Matane-sur-Mer, Matane, Quebec G4W 3M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Matane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belle Plage 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Belle Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belle Plage Matane, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belle Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.