We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riotel Matane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riotel Matane to your Saves list
Riotel Matane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Avenue Du Phare Est, Matane, Quebec G4W 3N4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CAD99 (CAD)
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Matane
Quebec City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on July 28.
This is an older hotel that has been nicely renovated. the rooms are spacious and mostly clean. It was wonderful to fall asleep to the sound of the waves on the shore. The only two complaints I had were that there was a little bit of mold in the bathroom (only partly renovated) and the coffee machine wasn't working properly.
There is access to a spa, a sauna and a small pool, but we didn't go as it was too cold outside (10-15 degrees Celsius). There is also a cute spot to make fire by the beach. Nice place overall

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Good day,

We would like to thank you for your personal view of your stay at the Riotel Matane. In fact, this comment will definitely help our improvement toward the future. Furthermore, we have sent forward your comment to the leadership team, as your satisfaction is our top priority, at any time. It was a pleasure to be your host in the marvelous Matane City, and we would love to welcome you again in your next trip to the Gaspésie Region.
Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    71
    27
    11
    11
See reviews for
48
71
6
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Matane is an industrial town and horrid, but you might find yourself there if you tour the Gaspe Peninsula. If you do, you must stay in this hotel. It is well away from the industrial sites and the Wal-Marts. The people are friendly. You can eat both breakfast and dinner in the hotel. The rooms are large and comfortable. If you don't stay here, you risk an Econo-Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good day

We wish to thank you for taking the time to complete your comment following your recent stay at the Riotel Matane. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration. Your feedback is of the utmost importance as it provides insight in order for us to improve the quality of our product and services. I can assure you that we will pass along your good words. We look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to the beautiful Matane City.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice and is on par for the price point. The rooms are nice, modern and clean. The rest of the hotel is very, very quiet. After driving 6 hours we were starving! The restaurant in the hotel was closed but there was another one that was considered part of the hotel across the parking lot. We walked there at 5:00pm and were told they don't open until 5:30 so we went to the hotel "lounge" for a quick drink in between. We arrived back at the restaurant at 5:50 where the staff did not want to seat us because a bus "may be" coming at 7:00pm (there were only two tables currently seated). They called the manager and seated us. Our food was served in less than 10 minutes, considering I ordered a chicken breast at $25 and having 10 + years experience in the restaurant business I can't help but think I was getting perhaps pre-heated chicken??? While we were in the restaurant we couldn't help notice that everyone else was seated with no question until another English speaking couple arrived where they were turned away and left obviously disgusted. Coincidence?? I'd like to think not be we were paid and out if the door in under 30 minutes. If I'm spending $25 -$30 per entree I don't expect turn style treatment. The hotel itself is nice I would not give the "captains table" or it's staff the time of day ( maybe if you are fluent French you're experience may be better) save yourself the headache and go to Subway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good day,

First of all, I would like to personally thank you for the time you took for the comments you wrote about your stay at the Riotel Matane. Be sure that your comments have been sent forward to the leadership team of the hotel and will be taken into consideration. Your opinion is important for our establishment and provides us with helpful hints about what we can do to improve the quality of our product and services. Your satisfaction is the goal we are always trying to reach, as we are looking forward to be your host once again on your next visit in our gorgeous city of Matane.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice hotel, good value, staff was very accommodating & spoke enough English. Not much in Matane for food except the restaurant at the hotel. Fairly close to Saint Anne de Mont & Gaspesie National Park after a stunning 97km drive along the coast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good day,

We would like to thank you for your personal view of your stay at the Riotel Matane. In fact, this comment will definitely help our improvement toward the future. Furthermore, we have sent forward your comment to the leadership team, as your satisfaction is our top priority, at any time. It was a pleasure to be your host in the marvelous Matane City, and we would love to welcome you again in your next trip to the Gaspésie Region.
Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labrador City, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Driving out from Labrador City, NL, we took the Baie Comeau to Matane ferry. We had an long drive the following day so I wanted a good nights rest before heading out. We chose the Riotel because it is not too far from the Matane ferry terminal. It was a good choice. We were in the "Pavillion" building which is a motel style. The beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean.
The Pavillion does not have an elevator to get to the 2nd floor but the stairs were very wide so carrying luggage was not a problem.
We would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good day

We wish to thank you for taking the time to complete your comment following your recent stay at the Riotel Matane. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken into consideration. Your feedback is of the utmost importance as it provides insight in order for us to improve the quality of our product and services. I can assure you that we will pass along your good words. We look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to the beautiful Matane City.

Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec PQ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I recently got back from a week long stay on the Gaspé coast. I stayed at this hotel on my way home as a stop-over but I would definitely consider going back for a weekend visit. The staff are outstanding. The minute I arrived in the door they were smiling and inviting. I was arriving around 9 p.m. and very hungry. They immediately phoned the restaurant which is located on the property but a 2 minute walk out the door and along the beach. There is another restaurant right in the hotel but it was not open. The restaurant was great but the best part for me was the room and location. A fire was going on the beach in front of the hotel with people enjoying wine around the fire. There was another going further down and of course all of this is right in front of the hotel.
After having stayed in a rather disappointing hotel on the other side of the Gaspé penninsula, the rooms were a pleasure. The bed and the bedding was fabulous and I had the best sleep of my whole trip. The room has everything and I mean everything. Fridge, microwave, high end bathroom and overall a high end room.
There is a really nice vibe going on in this place. Loved it. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach side on the lower level. Your door opens right on to the beach. I stayed here a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions du temps que vous avez pris afin de nous transmettre vos commentaires à propos de notre établissement, le Riotel Matane. Soyez assuré, vos commentaires vont êtres envoyés aux personnes concernées et seront considérées avec soin. Votre point de vue personnel de votre séjour est notre meilleur outil pour notre propre évolution. Je peux vous assurer que vos bons mots seront mentionnés à toute notre équipe. Merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires constructifs à notre égard et nous espérons avoir la chance de vous héberger à nouveau lors de votre prochaine visite de la fantastique région Gaspésienne.

Sincèrement,

Stéphane Guy
Directeur Général
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The rooms overlooking the St. Lawrence are great with nice private patios-- weather may not cooperate. Location is fine with the harbour a short stroll away to aid digestion. The restaurant doe snot live up to the rooms. Service was slow and amateur. Mussels served on a flat plate with no broth to keep them hot? So sleep here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riotel, Directeur général at Riotel Matane, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Good day,
I will begin with my sincerest apologies for the situation that occurred during your stay at the restaurant of Riotel Matane. I would like to assure you that this is not a recurring situation in our establishment. Your critic was eye-opening on a light mishandle in our procedures that was changed in the moment we received your constructive comment. I thank you again for your helpful advice as it helped our team to improve itself. As always, we would love to welcome you back under our roof for your next visit to the charming Matane City and show you our improvements.
.
Sincerely,

Stéphane Guy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riotel Matane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riotel Matane

Address: 250 Avenue Du Phare Est, Matane, Quebec G4W 3N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Gaspesie Region > Matane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Matane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riotel Matane 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riotel Matane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riotel Matane Hotel Matane
Riotel Hotel Matane
Matane Riotel Hotel
Riotel Matane Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riotel Matane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.