We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family night out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Man Inn and Restaurant

The Green Man Inn and Restaurant
Church Road, Partridge Green RH13 8JT, England
01403 710250
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Family night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've lived in the area most of my life and never been in the Green Man until last night, having been invited by my father in law. We ranged in age from 82 to 13. On arrival we were warmly greeted by the barman, got some drinks, then coats taken and shown to our table. The bar area was empty at that time, the restaurant area full except for our table. I say this because it indicates that whilst it's a pub, it's more of a restaurant really. The menu is not vast, but there is a specials board to complement it. Most went for fish and chips in our group, I went for Steak and Kidney pie. Since my mum died I've not had what I'd call a decent steak and kidney pie which hasn't been messed about in some way, but what you get at the Green Man is as close to perfection as you can realistically expect, it was heaven. The fish and chips is a large portion and top quality fish, not over battered. We were attended to by several waiting staff, all friendly, and I could see them working hard over the other tables to make sure customers were happy. Later I saw people in the bar drinking, so it still functions as a pub too. It is not cheap, but the price reflects the quality of food and service on offer. It's packed, they are getting it right.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    53
    26
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We went for lunch mid week. It was so nice to see a pub that was busy with a great atmosphere. We felt most welcome and very relaxed as we sat at our allotted table. We shared a starter of squid...perfectly cooked, crispy and full of flavour. I've only ever tasted similar in Seville. We then both had the Dover sole, absolutely delicious, we would have paid twice the price for a similar meal in London, it would have been equal to a Michelin star. A lovely way to spend a few delicious hours in a perfect local pub. How lucky are we!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed the food and environment very much. My wife had the prawn and salmon starter and the pork belly main. All well cooked. I had chicken for the main in tarragon in cream sauce. The service is good and the people friendly. Nothing too much trouble. I have been back four times when in the area. Would recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost perfect Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went on a Saturday lunchtime with a party of six to celebrate my parents wedding anniversary. Quite expensive but the food was very good, the service faultless, the décor is gorgeous and the tables are well spaced out. My only complaint is that I asked for a smaller portion for my 11 year old son who has quite a small appetite. This was provided but there was no deduction on the bill which I didn't want to complain about at the time as I felt it would spoil the atmosphere for my parents.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Went last night in a party of 4. One of our party has to avoid some food products and they were very accommodating with this. The other 3 meals were very nice but really tight on the side dishes of potato and vegetables. Another dish of veg came out when we asked but really only enough for 1. Come on green man, bit more veg, it's not expensive. Onto deserts, £6.50, too expensive for the quantity. My custard was cold and it got sent back. How do you slice Brie so thinly? Cheese board was pitiful. Generally really nice place, good service. £128 bill for 4 and I left hungry. Shouldn't should I?

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Green Man Inn and Restaurant also viewed

Worthing, West Sussex
Lower Beeding, Horsham
 
Ashurst, West Sussex
 

Been to The Green Man Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Man Inn and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.