We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Teca

Teca
1050 Paignton House Road | JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
705-765-1900
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Teca is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Minett
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hwy #7 Peninsula Rd.
Description: At Teca, we focus on simple, delicious Chef-crafted food made with the freshest ingredients. Sounds from the open kitchen and the aroma of the woodstone oven create the environment of a Italian family gathering. This is a place for great food, conversation, laughter with friends and loved ones. Group gatherings are elevated by the emphasis on family-style dining.
Ridgeville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This dining area was used when Cottages was reserved for a large group meeting. Food and service were very good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Staff make this restaurant happen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

One needs to book early to avoid disappointment as TECA is frequently sold out. Jose and Megan, manager and waitress, did make our evening one of the most memorable. A member of our party is "gluten free" and nothing was too much trouble to accommodate her. Their friendly, unobtrusive service was noteworthy. Both staff members had an innate sense of when their service might be required and they were attentive, but not in a bothersome way. Truly an evening to remember. The food was quite good, but the service was outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“If at the JW, eat at Cottages instead”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our meals were pretty bad - no way to get around that. Dining options around the lake area are pretty limited so my wife and I decided to just eat at the JW rather than drive all over. Teca's menu is very limited and the 2 pasta dishes we ordered had very bland sauces. We ordered basics - spaghetti and meatballs and a seafood pasta -- and we both felt we prepare it better ourselves. The servers and staff tried very hard though to make our meal nice. Too bad they do not have better meals for their guests to enjoy. If staying at the JW, just go to their "Cottages" restaurant instead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ho-hum evening for a milestone event”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Decided to eat at Teca to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We spoke with the concierge who assured us we would be seated with a lake view, and that the staff would be made aware of our evening. Apparently, the joke was on us. The is NO view of the lake from anywhere in Teca--it's just a room stuck off to the side of the resort with no windows. There was no recognition of our anniversary, although the staff was accommodating and friendly. The food was uninspired and essentially something I could get at Applebee's, except at Marriott prices. Not impressed, and not likely to return.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good food and great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A small upscale place that we enjoyed 2 nights of our 5 night stay. Prices aren't much more than the Cottages but much better. Eat here...avoid Cottages.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teca also viewed

Minett, Muskoka District
Minett, Muskoka District
 
Minett, Muskoka District
Port Carling, Muskoka District
 

Been to Teca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.