We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Thanksgiving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clevelands House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clevelands House to your Saves list
Clevelands House
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Family Thanksgiving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

You do not go to Cleveland House for the rooms. They are out of date, shabby without the chic, but quite clean. most of the facilities on the property can be described as antiquated. You can ask for certain room numbers when booking, I would advise to ask to not have room 111, there is a drive through car port directly below the room. Much of the sports equipment seems to be stored there and it is VERY loud at night as people walk through the car port and early in the am as the staff takes out the equipment.

The food is good, the golf all right, the pools and spa also fall in the okay range, the staff is nice, all very acceptable... The stand out, what makes this place special and the reason we will return is the great kids program and the fun family activities. My older son has autism and when I told that to the kids camp staff they offered to have a special counselor just for him. They give a printed plan of the days varied activities in case you need to pick up your child during the day. The kids are kept quite wonderfully and happily busy the whole day (a dream for all parents).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    79
    51
    38
    29
See reviews for
160
44
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are just too many things that are wrong with it. For the kind of money we paid, I fully expected more out of this place. Next year, we plan on paying more to stay somewhere that has better food with clean rooms.

First the good: Outside surroundings including grass was well kept. Tennis courts were well kept and clean. I suspect that’s probably their biggest draw in their heyday. Pools were not bad.

What was not good at all: The food was bad no matter which way you look at it. They had cream sauce items on every lunch and dinner menu. And I am not sure why? The breakfast was the only good meal of the day. My five kids, husband and I all fell sick the day we got home after the trip.
The rooms need to be refurbished, including changing of carpets. Light fixtures were old and had missing bulbs. When we arrived in our room there were dirty garbage bins that had not been cleaned out. All the lawn chairs were dirty and/or stained and most of them were broken around the pool. The roof on these cottages/houses needs to be changed-they are in a dilapidated state. High-speed internet worked sometimes and other times did not work at all. Overall, the staff was not bad and very helpful. However, I was pleasantly surprised that many of them (on their breaks) were allowed to drink beer/alcohol openly on the beach and other areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

The only that I did like was the kids programs - very good counsellors and programs for all ages of kids - actually pretty impressive. Normally, I could live with outdated rooms and poor food, but not when I am paying such high prices. I think that its time that Clevelands House stop resting on its laurels and start providing their guests with some real value. Update the rooms and provide half decent food - doens't have to be gourmet, but should be better than high school cafeteria food.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

Clevelands House is a bit on the pricey side; we paid $4200 for 1 week for 2 adults and 2 children.

And yes, it could use some updating, but it still was a very enjoyable week. Our 2 kids loved the camp, and we enjoyed the freedom to relax/play golf/read that you don't get when you take the kids to Disney or Mexico. I felt 100% safe with leaving my 6 and 4 year olds in camp from 9:30am to 4pm. Everyday they left camp with smiles on their faces and wanted to return the next day. They made lots of friends in camp.

The food was pretty good; lunch being the one meal where improvement was necessary. Lunch probably isn't even necessary; I felt like we were always heading back to the dining room to eat.

The Cornell family has sold the place to a larger company so changes are coming, but not until 2010. I don't think the family had the money needed to fully modernize the facilty. Looking at a few million dollars probably to bring this up to top quality standard. Dont' know how a recession will affect all this happening.

In any case, we are going back in 2009 for a week..

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

My family and I went to CH this past July and it was great!!! My four year old loved the staff and other kids and my husband really enjoyed the atmosphere.

Food was very good! You have a lot of opportunities to actually eat "healthy" here.

We stayed in one of the cottages--will do that again. Needs a little updating in some areas (the main lodge etc.) but not a big deal.

Staff were great. Entertainment was awesome. Just a fun place to relax and enjoy the summer in Ontario!

See you next year :)

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland county ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

This was a "night over" for a special birthday party event, too far from home to return.
Our living room area, slanted to the left, front door did not fit to doorway, due to slant. Decor extremely outdated, and not a very clean feel to the room. Bedroom had fake panelling on walls.
We were not informed of breakfast that was included in stay when we arrived, and missed the accompanying meal that was only served for a short hour and a half in the am. TV did not work. Table had a crack in it. Room was extremely damp. Beds were not comfortable.
For two people to stay for one night, with gratuity, taxes was just over 250.00 for a one night stay.
Did not feel like paying the gratuity , but was automatically put into the bill.
Would never stay here again, and would not recommend it to anyone. Resort seems to be asking the prices just because they are in the muskokas, and do not care to spend to update.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — decor, location to swamp, cost
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

My wife and I were there in late September for a wedding. In the summertime, it sounds like a wonderful place. So, I'll review for those that might be there out of season like we were.

The place was half shut-down, which is understandable for September. There were not a lot of activities...Everything we did was put on by the bride and groom. We golfed about a half-hour away. The couple hosted a bonfire on the beach which was pretty fun. The food at their pre-wedding dinner was good, and the appetizers at their cocktail party were delicious. There were others on the property who weren't part of the wedding, but they didn't seem to be engaged in any activities--day or night.

The room was very much in need of refurbishing...It was tired, with old-fashioned bedspreads, wood paneling on the walls, mismatched bathroom pieces (the toilet, shower and sink were all different colors). It appears that the carpet hadn't been changed in 30 years.

The staff was very friendly and helpful...Typical Canadian charm and warmth. They were very glad to see us there. I'd say that the staff was the best part of the whole experience. They really stood out.

If it hadn't been for the wedding, I'd have never heard of this place...We probably won't go back, but we never saying never.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clevelands House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clevelands House

Address: 1040 Juddhaven Road, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clevelands House 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Muskoka's most memorable experience! Clevelands House Resort is the perfect place for your summer getaway with 408-acres of family fun! With 3,000 ft. of prime waterfront, this Muskoka resort has something for every age! Clevelands House Resort has many different types of accommodation from standard rooms, suites and cottages. The cottages offer one to three bedrooms - space enough for the whole family! The onsite nine-hole golf course, 16 tennis courts, sandy beach and picturesque veranda are just a few places to relax. They offer many different dining options from the newly renovated C.J. Minett's Kitchen and Tavern to Duke's Refresher, serving gourmet burgers and shakes! Send the kids to their one-acre Cleve's Kids Club for hours of learning and fun, the largest of its kind. For the grown-ups, the Adult Social Program puts on over 120 events weekly! From bocce ball tournaments, welcome parties and beach volleyball, Clevelands House has every activity covered! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Clevelands House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clevelands House Hotel Minett
Clevelands Hotel Minett
Clevelands House Ontario/Minett, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clevelands House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.