We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort - Just a Few Areas for Improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Minett
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Resort - Just a Few Areas for Improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

A great deal of care was taken in the design and construction of this resort. The rooms are extremely well appointed. The style of the room is country (not my favourite) but the excellent design and attention to detail is to be appreciated; the room includes top quality fabrics and materials.

My very large one bedroom King suite included small top end appliances (Miele dishwasher and a cooktop) as well as a small refrigerator. The kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans and dishes for 4 guests. There is a pantry area as well an iron and ironing board.

The living room has comfortable furnishings, nice art work (throughout the room and hotel), an LCD TV - and an extremely smart fold down left top drawer that hides outlets and cables to plug in your own laptop or DVD.

The bedroom includes an in-wall slim safe, bathrobes, and the bed is extremely comfortable (as well as the chair). The bathroom is huge, with a soaker tub (not jetted), two sinks and a separate shower and WC. Everything is of high quality (Kohler) and the only things missing are a towel rack in the sink area and some form of lighting that does not require every light in the bathroom to be on.

Housekeeping service is very good overall. It could stand some improvement (my room was cleaned as late as 5 one day) but it is likely as a result of the number of suites to clean during the busy summer season.

The common areas are very well designed. There is a bar that transitions into a large common room that includes plenty of comfortable sofas and chairs in various seating arrangements. There is also a large harvest table with outlets on the side for laptop users. Very smart indeed.

The library includes wooden games tables and a small collection of books and board games. There is a nice stone fireplace as well, adjacent to the small store/coffee market (that serves Starbucks coffee) fruit, salads and snacks. In general, the finishes are top end, with beautiful windows and mouldings and a nice Muskoka room. This also applies to the meeting room areas.

The grounds are stunning. There are white Muskoka chairs everywhere overlooking an impressive vista. There are three main pools - one of which is a small pool for spa guests only. My biggest complaint about the main pool is that I felt the outside lounge chairs were uncomfortable. They were okay, but the nice padded chairs are in the spa area and in the indoor part of the indoor/outdoor pool. Apart from that, the upper pool was nice, though I think if the resort were busier it would feel a bit small - especially when the kids take over.

Be advised that there are a number of graded sone steps from the top of the property to the small beach and dock area (well over 100 dispersed with several landings as you go down). There is a shuttle service (not clear exactly where it takes you), but it is a bit of a hike. The beach is small and there are no beach umbrellas. There is a lovely spot to enjoy the water on an adjacent grassy area. There is another pool up from the beach, as well as a wading pool and a snack bar- which services some light meals (BBQ, etc.). The upper part of the the hotel includes a lounge area overlooking the water, which is wonderful. Beside the lounge area there is a large lawn where weddings and functions are held. Again, very beautiful as this overlooks the lake below.

The two restaurants are Cottages and Teca. Cottages is fine for a good basic meal. The breakfast buffet is very good. Teca is a small Italian restaurant that has received very good reviews and as such reserve a table for your stay if you can. The menu is small, but the food is excellent and moderately priced. The restaurant can also be closed entirely for a private event so check in advance if you are only staying a couple of days.

Boats and other rentals are available from a marina which is a 5-10 minute walk from the resort. On site you can rent kayaks and paddle boats. Overall, I think some work can be done here to improve the water-based activities.

There are nature trails, that other reviewers described but which I did not visit.

Be aware that the parking is down a hill below the hotel. It is manageable but it is best not to be carrying items that distance.

I am also not impressed that internet access is at a fee in the lobby as well as the rooms. There were plenty of people using laptops - especially on the rainy days - and there are many outlets and comfortable tables and seating areas for this.

There are limited facilities and things to do on rainy days. Offering DVD rentals or other activities would be helpful. The small grocery store in Port Sandfield does offer limited rentals. Port Carling is a 10 minute drive or so, and has a bigger selection of stores, etc. though it is still relatively small.

The staff were all friendly, helpful and well trained. This includes all employees (from the Bellmen, to the staff at hotel reception, the wait staff and all others I encountered).

All in all, this is an excellent resort. I would prefer to be closer to the water, but the views from the main building of the resort are terrific (and the landscaping is top notch). A place to put on your short list if you intend to visit the Muskoka area.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    325
    148
    46
    22
    23
See reviews for
203
217
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

My wife and I wanted to do an overnight trip to the Muskokas and decided to try the JW Marriot. We chose to book their nature package which included a guided hike with a naturalist.

Apparently, the facilities have been very recently finished off. There is still the odd bit of landscaping to be done, and there were workmen here and there finishing off trim and whatnot. But the facilities are complete which was a bit of a concern based on the earlier reviews. There's an indoor/outdoor pool as well as a deck pool, and a spa spool. There's a small beach area at the lake. Overall, the grounds were beautiful.

Our room was in the second building accessed by a bridge from the main facility. We had a nice view out to the lake. The room itself was very well appointed with a fridge and stove. A very comfortable room to relax in.

It appears the staff are still new to the resort and its packages as there was some confusion over our package. When we made our reservation, they didn't ask us when we anted to book our hike. As a result, there was a bit of a scramble to get it scheduled when we arrived. Having said that, the staff are extremely friendly, and went to great lengths to get it resolved. The naturalist was booked. And an emergency call to the kitchen was made to have the packed lunch prepared.

The hike itself was enjoyable with the naturalist pointing out interesting facts about the area and spotting wildlife that I'd never have found. In particular, small toads in the leafy litter by the path.

Dinner and breakfast were at the Cottages restaurant. The food was good. Not spectacular but a cut above average.

Overall, the stay was very enjoyable and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

It's new, it's grandiose, it's really quite lovely. We did enjoy our stay there. The staff seems to have been trained very well because they were all helpful, friendly and there were a lot of them. We had a 1 bedroom corner suite with a large balcony, view of trees and Cleveland House in the distance. They have used high end products throughout the hotel and the finishing is impressive. The pool areas look like something out of the caribbean, well at least on a sunny summer day. The place has a large conference wing with which, I suppose, they are counting on keeping the resort full during the cold winter months.
We were not impressed with the food at the Cottage Restaurant. They call it simple cooking and boy is that ever the right word... simple! The caesars salad was basically a plate of chopped up bits of lettuce with a thin sauce. Our server recommended the Mac & cheese ($23) and since nothing else really appealed to me on their menu I ordered it. It came in a covered white china bowl which was grandly opened and voila lots of macaroni, a few small florets of cauliflower and 2 small pieces of lobster meat swimming in a tasteless sauce. I'm not a fan of salt but I had to pour it on just to be able to eat this because it was sooo bland. My husband's salmon dish was very simple too! Needless to say, we were afraid to try the other restaurant Teca although I have read other reviews that say the food there is quite good. The pastry's in the morning were very tasty.
The small point to note is the lighting in the bathroom of the suite. There is only one switch that turns every light in the bathroom on and that means, in the vanity area, the bathtub and the shower areas - so it's glaring with 700 to 1000 watts of light in there. Not very green like they claim they are. Also our suite did not have towel bars installed.
All in all we enjoyed our 3 nights stay. The pools and exercise rooms are lovely and if you can afford the prices in the spa, well that looks lovely too.
If you're looking for a more Muskoka like feel then the Cleveland House next door may be a better choice but if you want luxury then you are at the right place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

Stayed: Aug 4-6 2009

Overall: Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Beautifully landscaped hotel in the heart of lake rousseau---it's an upscale retreat for families who want to experience Muksoka living without roughing it.

Rooms: Clean, bright spacious rooms, with LCD TV that entertained the children. King size bed was very soft, comfortable especially with the duvet. Pull out sofa bed was lumpy...but that was expected. Bathroom was huge with a separate rain-like shower. Kitchen had everything that you need - wine glass, cutlery, pots/pans, stove top that worked really well.

Service: We had some trouble with the A/C and the refrigerator---but that was very quickly resolved. The people really go to the extremes to help you out and make you feel pampered.

Pools: The kids really enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool. The water temperature was nice and warm so the kids enjoyed the water even though the temperature wasn't exactly the greatest. The pool closest to the Paignton House was opened this weekend, and would highly recommend it for parents with young families. There is a wading pool, an outdoor pool that's shallow, and a hot tub. This pool is also close to the small strip of beach.

Other activities: went hiking around the neighbouring trails and saw white tailed deer. There is canoe and bike rentals at a very reasonable cost. They have a campfire in the front of the hotel --our children enjoyed making SMORES!

Dining: Food at Cottages--not alot of value in the quality of food available there. The kid's hamburgers were so dry . If you want a better dining experience, try TECA as it offers a quality authentic Italian dining...would recommed this; or drive to Port Carling to access other restaurants.

CON: If it rained, I am not sure whether there would be alot to do here--even the games room (boardgames, and books) can only entertain my super energetic children.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce-Grey, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We stayed at the Rosseau for 2 nights after the long weekend at the start of August. From the moment you walk in, the staff are super friendly and the resort itself is GORGEOUS. The details are incredible and above par for Ontario resorts and everything is modern but tastefully decorated. We stayed in a studio 2 db bed with balcony overlooking the front fountain. Not a lake view but the balcony was very nice to sit out on in the sun. They are still working out the kincks in the place but now the beach is open and the second pool closer to the lake was opening the day we left. We luckily had very nice days but I can see if you didn't there is not really a whole lot of indoor activities besides the gym/yoga or the limited library. Almost every day they offer a morning run or power walk around the resort, yoga and there are lots of outdoor activities at either Cleavends house or the Wallace Marina. At night there is a campfire by the front fountain and the staff provides all the ingredients for smores and sticks etc. We went water skiing at Clevlend's House just down the road and we also hiked and went shopping in Port Carling. The resort is pricey for sure but every room has a decent size fridge and cutlery/pots/bowls/microwave so it is easy to buy groceries and make your own meals or at least breakfast and lunch. We ate dinner at the Italian restuarant Tecca, it was superb the food was excellent (especially the pasta and pizza) the waiters were super nice and the restaurant interior finishings are very high end. If you are looking for a goregous resort for a relaxing getaway this is the place for you. The children's programs are limited but there is tons to do for teenagers.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

The room was superb. Clean and big, there is a fire place in each room. I was lucky enough to have a balcony, and the lake view was so romantic.

The restaurants are fantastic! And their boat rentl was very conveniant. Bring your own skirt if you rent a kayak, since they don't have any.

The pool was awesome, and it was connected to the indoor pool. Very useful when it,s raining or during winter!!!

One negative remark: There was some major construction/renovation. It was quite noisy and parts of the path around the hotel was closed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Fl
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

No one can control the weather. That's for sure.But it was somewhat dissapointing to spend 5 days at The Rosseau during July and realize that this very attractive resort has few optional ways to spend your time. Since outside activities were out of the question 4 out of the five days, it would have been great if the resort had provided a really good library, or a store with books available to buy, or even movies available to buy on your room TV, or even better some planned entertainment for guests.

The restaurants were nice but very limited in choices, especially for vegetarians. The best meal was definitely at the Italian restaurant(Teca) and our server, Paul was excellent.

Most of the Staff was friendly and helpful. We did have problems getting newspapers and were told that "newspapers are very limited" and when we requested a paper at 7:30 in the morning we were told that they had not arrived. When I checked back at the desk 2 hours later I was told they were all gone!

The housekeeping staff was efficient and did a great job cleaning the room and getting anything we needed. They were very late each day (about 4:00pm) getting to our room however.

The high points of the trip were two things..a wonderful hiking trip on the one day without rain and the three yoga classes I attended. The yoga instructors were terrific and the hike really special with a family of deer spotted and an opportunity to take some pictures.

My husband and I realize that without bad weather we would have enjoyed the trip much more because the facility is a beautiful and restful one. It appeared to be a pleasant place for families, especially for those with young children.

Our advise to The Rosseau is have a backup plan for bad weather!Would we recommend this hotel to a friend...it would very much depend on the friend!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Address: 1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa welcomes guests to luxurious surroundings overlooking Lake Rosseau. Year-round, experience the beauty and renewal of nature on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Hotel Minett
Jw Marriott Rosseau
Jw Marriott Minett
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa Ontario/Minett, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.