We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could hardly ask for a nicer stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Could hardly ask for a nicer stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

This past weekend my wife and I sneaked away to Muskoka for a three-day weekend of much needed R and R. We had considered more far-off destinations like Miami, New York or Las Vegas, but came to realize we’d like something close and quiet - where pure relaxation, not activities - would be the goal. We looked at all the better properties north of Toronto to decide where to go; based in part upon Trip Advisor reviews, we chose The Rosseau.

The drive from Toronto is quick and easy, at "get the heck out of Dodge" speeds, it was around 2 hours and 15 minutes from downtown. Most of the drive is quite pretty; once north of Barrie, the drive is very nice. Arriving at the hotel, you are greeted by a lovely building with charming architectural detail. In the winter, it is a very pretty snow-covered facade, in summer, with the gardens planted and fountains in operation, I think it will be really beautiful.

The first staffer we met was bellman Nico, (sorry about the spellin') who right from the start made us feel really welcome with what seemed like genuine care about how we enjoyed our drive. Nico helped us with our luggage and walked us through the beautiful foyer - with the impressive view through to the "conservatory" room - to the check in. Here we met Jessie, who was also very friendly, and made genuine efforts to make us feel welcome. After a quick check in, Nico took us to our room, a beautiful one-bedroom suite.

Now, I have stayed in a lot of hotels, some expensive and some not so much, and this was one of the nicest rooms I have checked in to. Beautifully decorated in a tasteful old-timey cottagey motif, it felt both homey and luxurious. The suite featured a nice big deck (obviously better for summer), a nice gas fireplace, galley kitchen with dishwasher, two big flat-screen TV's, an amazing granite bathroom with double sinks, separate deep tub and shower, and a tucked away WC (one reviewer below is right about the light in the WC. It's a green-minded LED lamp, and er, forget reading on the loo). We were thrilled with our room, and after settling in for a few minutes and unpacking, we went to see the rest of the property.

Down in the foyer we bumped into a charming manager (you know who you are) to whom we gushed about how much we already liked the property, and the suite. Long story sort, she suggested that she could shift us to an east-facing suite where she promised we would be blown away by the sunrise over Lake Rosseau. We said we'd be delighted to take her up on the offer, though the suite we were in was fantastic.

It was worth the time to shift our things; the corner suite was AMAZING. A little bit bigger, with an entry foyer, a larger, even more impressive bathroom with a beautiful round window over the soaker tub. The bedroom was as nice as any hotel I can remember. The only drawback is that it's a pretty long walk from the elevators, but it assured the most privacy - and quiet - possible. She was right, by the way; dawn broke clear on Saturday morning, and sunrise over Lake Rosseau was very beautiful indeed.

We were on a weekend dining plan, so later headed to Cottages for our first dinner. After a quick stop at Lakes, the lobby bar, we got our table. On the dining plan there is a "table d'hote" menu, slightly condensed from the main menu. There were plenty of choices for our three nights' stay. We both enjoyed delicious appetizers, mains and dessert, in a lovely cottage-country resort ambiance. Like the people we had met at check in, all of the staff in the dining room were wonderfully pleasant, and as we were learning was typical of the staff, would do anything they could do to ensure a pleasant experience. We especially enjoyed meeting the managers of both of the dining rooms, who at our invitation, joined us for a few minutes to chat about the property of which they were both clearly proud.

After dinner we retired to our room for an early night, we were both tired from work.

Over the next three days we enjoyed breakfasts in Cottages, which on the weekend had a great breakfast buffet, with so many choices we had to strategize how to try them all during our short stay. We enjoyed the exercise room (most sophisticated treadmills I have ever seen) and the pool. The pool has an indoor and an outdoor portion that are joined by a swim through. Outside was the large hot tub, which was fun to soak in in the cool weather and especially nice in the falling snow. One warning: after the hot tub, the pool feels (brrr!) cold.

Beyond that, we didn't do much. Even in the winter there are lots of outdoor activities for guests, but we were interested in mostly a quiet weekend curled up by the fireplace with a book. Whether in our own room or in the public areas, there were plenty of nice corners with comfy chairs or couches to curl up in and dig into our books.

We had two more dinners to enjoy, one more at Cottages, and one at Teca, the Italian Grille themed dinner spot. At Teca our server was Simon, who clearly loved his job, and was very good at it; from wine recommendations, to thoughts about the many menu items. We were joined that evening by another couple who we had met earlier, and together had a fantastic dinner experience where we could not possibly have asked for more attentive and thorough service, with just the right “casual-professional” attitude. We laughed, chatted and lingered long over a delicious dinner, until we were the last guests in the dining room. After dessert was an unexpected capper – close-up magic performed by the bartender, a delightful close to a wonderful evening.

Monday morning we were sad to be packing up to leave, we had had such a nice time, very peaceful, fun, and relaxing. We truly cannot wait until summer, when we hope to be able to visit again with our boys. I believe the property will be even more wonderful in the summer season.

A couple of reviewers pointed out those things they found wrong with the property. I found that there were a couple of issues consistent with the property being open only a matter of weeks. But to tell the truth, these issues were so minor as to be not worth mentioning here. Once the bugs are all ironed out over the next weeks and months, this property is going to be even better.

In summary: a beautiful, well appointed hotel situated in one of the most beautiful parts of Canada. The staff are hand-picked and consistently some of the most friendly, caring people I have ever encountered. There wasn’t a single one that failed to greet us warmly, or, when appropriate to offer to go the extra mile to ensure we had a wonderful time. Of course, this was not a bargain hotel, so one would expect a certain level of luxury and staff care, but I think that our experience exceeded what one might normally expect of a good hotel.

No, I am not affiliated with the hotel, and yes, we’ll definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    178
    63
    31
    33
See reviews for
246
257
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville Ont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

My wife and I went to The Rosseau for a weekend away for our anniversary. Despite the fact that the spa was not complete and some other parts of the resort are still being completed, we had a fantastic weekend.
We were given a balcony room with a lake view on the 4th floor. All the rooms at the Rosseau have fireplaces in them which is a great touch. The bathroom was nice as well with a nice sized tub and a seperate shower. A small kitchenette came with the room which I believe is in all the rooms too. Nice to have even though we didn't use all the amenities it came with.
The staff was very friendly and helpfull. After speaking with an employee while waiting for an elevator we had mentioned we were there for our wedding anniversary. To our suprise the next morning we had a knock on the door from that same employee with a beautiful heart shaped cake and two glasses of champagne and orange juice and a small card. That kind gesture topped of our weekend spent there. I'm sure as time goes on and the resort matures a little it will only get better.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Spent New Year's at the new JW in the heart of Ontario's cottage country and nothing disappointed. Staff were friendly, suite was beautiful and view across Lake Rosseau from the huge balcony outside our bedroom was amazing.

Supper in the Italian restaurant on property was excellent... good menu and varied wine list. Bar and public areas where great for just hanging out. Certainly be worth coming back in spring, fall and summer to see this great new resort in different guises.

  • Liked — well appointed and roomy
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Roaring fires, comfortable rocking chairs, a beautifully decorated Christmas tree, floor to ceiling windows, all sorts of nooks and crannies to relax or read in and that is just in the lobby!

Our family just returned from ringing in the New Year at the Marriott Rosseau and we only have good things to report, with both the hotel itself and its extremely friendly staff. Beginning with the doorman, continuing to the concierge and including the bartenders who entertained our kids (ages 12 and 14) with their skill and humor, everyone went out of their way to please all of the guests.

Our room had a full kitchen that included a dishwasher and a fireplace that is more than just ‘show’; it can actually warm the room quickly. The bathroom in our suite was very spacious (his and her sinks), walk-in shower, jacuzzi tub with a smart layout and beautiful decor. The WC lighting is dimly light however, I appreciated this aspect. This way my husband wasn't encouraged to take the two daily newspapers provided by the resort into the "library".

The fitness center has state-of-the-art equipment, with each piece of cardio equipment featuring its own TV. The heated indoor/outdoor pool and outdoor hot tub (just a few feet from the pool) kept our kids busy for hours. The Rosseau Spa was, unfortunately, not ready (we were told completion would be sometime in January), but it appears it will be just as impressive, totally 35,000 sq. feet and occupying two floors.

The staff at the nearby marina, where you can rent skis, skates and snow mobiles was just as accommodating as the hotel staff. We enjoyed ourselves so much we have already booked for this summer!

  • Liked — Relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Honestly, nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

We just returned from a fabulous weekend at the brand new J.W. Marriott resort.
We have been anxiously awaiting the opening of this new resort in Muskoka, on Lake Rosseau.
As a family, (Mom, Dad, and 12 year old son) we love the North, but are not a fan of camping or cottage life.
We have been to Deerhurst Inn a few times and have been disappointed lately. The resort is aging.
With the opening of the J.W. Marriott, we now have a true 5* luxury resort to visit.
The location is fantastic! The hotel is very beautiful and impressive.
Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff who met us at our car, took our bags and offered to valet our vehicle.
We opted to use the self park, only a short walk away and free of charge, and were told it was no problem to leave our car at the front door until we had checked in and could come back to move it.
At the front desk the staff was just as friendly. The check in process was a little slow, as the staff was clearly still learning some of the features of the new computer system. However they were genuinely friendly, apologized for the minor delay, and called the manager in the back when another customer arrived as to not keep them waiting. All in all the process only took 10-15 min which we did not mind. After all we were on vacation, all the hustle and bustle of city life left behind, and we were in a very welcoming and beautifully cozy reception area after being cooped up in the car for over 3 hours.
It was clear from all the staff that we encountered that they were very proud of the new hotel, and their job, and were truly enjoying serving the guests.
We brought Grandma and Grandpa with us, and had reserved two rooms. One Queen Studio, and one King Studio.
We were upgraded to a One Bedroom King Suite connecting to a Queen Studio room.
This turned out to be a fantastic combination of rooms and allowed us to compare both the Studio and One Bedroom Suites.
Both rooms are beautifully decorated with attention to detail. Fireplace in each room, real stone mantels, painted beadboard ceilings, wallpaper, crown moulding, granite and marble kitchen and baths, high quality hardware and fixtures, paintings and throw pillows.
It was obvious that this resort was not built on a budget. Quality materials and craftsmanship were apparent throughout.

The studio room was the size of a large normal hotel room. It included a kitchenette with a two burner stove top (no oven), microwave, fridge, and dishwasher. (I believe all the rooms have a dishwasher, but they look like a normal cupboard door, if you did not open it, you would not know it was there) It had a dining table to seat three comfortably, two queen beds and a seating area with two comfortable chairs.

The one bedroom suite was quite a bit bigger, with a much larger kitchen area including a large granite counter top.
The kitchen had the exact same equipment as the studio, including full dishes for four, toaster, pots, pans, cutlery, even salt and pepper.
It had a dining table to seat four comfortably, and a large living room. The living area had a full size pull out sofa, and comfortable chair.
There was a balcony with two Muskoka chairs, which would be very nice in the warmer months. We have never used a balcony in the winter. Even in Whistler they were not kept serviceable by the hotel in the snowy months.
The bedroom was furnished with a King bed, and accessed through French doors from the living area, or an ensuite door to the bathroom.
The bathroom was huge! The door from the bedroom led to an area with a separate shower and deep soaking tub.
From there another door led to a large room with two sinks, makeup mirror, and large counter. You could access this sink area from the main room through a door on one end, and the other end had a door leading to the water closet. It was in another small room with a door that could be closed for privacy. I will admit with the door closed the small L.E.D style light was quite dim, but this room ONLY contained a toilet. Due to the large number of other doors that could be closed and locked in the bathroom area, one could simply leave this door open if they required more light and still have privacy.

The common rooms in the hotel are equally well done.
They have a large lounge and library that is very comfortable to spend an evening in.
Live entertainment, piano, singer, bar at one end. The other end has a large open fireplace that is really cozy to read a book, or play board games around. (all supplied by the hotel)
The entire family could spend a very enjoyable evening in this area, as we did!

The pool and spa are in the lower level of the hotel.
The spa was not open yet, but I believe will be very soon.
However we saw no signs of construction at all. At the end of the hall, was a very classy looking glass reception area which looked to be complete, with a sign saying under construction.
Just beyond that was a workout room, with the usual assortment of equipment, large screen T.V. etc.
And then the indoor/outdoor swimming pool.
We found the inside pool to be quite large, with great lounges and atmosphere.
One could swim outside where the pool was also quite large surrounded by a beautiful pool deck with a fantastic view of the lake.
They also have an outdoor hot tub that was the perfect temperature to enjoy the winter wonderland.

There is some construction of an other building closer to the lake, which will be part of the resort complex when complete, but it in no way distracted from our enjoyment or view. I am quite sure this area will be complete by summer, when the lake and water activities will be used.

The hotel has fantastic nature programs, nature trails, cross country skiing, ice skating, and snowmobile rental.
I can't wait to see the summer programs, with the marina and lake, it will be fantastic!

All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, loved the hotel, and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.
I think this will be a very popular destination.

  • Liked — 5* Property. Great Location, Great Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

We had a wonderful time at the new JW Marriott Resort in Muskoka. We were looking to have a quick getaway before New Year’s Eve. The location is stunning; set on a high bluff, the resort has great views of the surrounding lakes and forests. It truly had a winter wonderland look with all of the snow around the hotel. Having all of the snow was very magical looking. The hotel has only been opened for a week, so we expected that things may go wrong. Overall the hotel did meet most of our expectations but did lack in service and attention to details. Since there is so much to share, I will have the good parts of the hotel and bad parts of the hotel in a list.


The good:

- Great location set on a bluff with water front views

- Wonderful rooms, with a full kitchenette fireplace (we loved) and a great bathroom

- Great decor, very elegant but comfortable and has a similar look to some Ritz-Carlton Resorts

- Comfy beds with wonderful crisp sheets and nice pillows

- Room was very cozy feeling and was unique looking

- Staff where nice and are eager to please

- Great public areas with a very cozy feel

- Big fireplace in the lobby lounge

- Beautiful restaurants and lounges

- Nice live music on the night we where there

- Great hotel vibe with a family like feel

- Nice pool area with great loungers and outdoor hot tub, you may also swim outside too even in the winter months

- Nice fitness centre with state of the art facilitates with TV`s


The not so good:

- Hotel is very new and it shows as the staff is still learning

- Check-in took 25 minutes, which was not ok

- Staff seemed to not know how to get the room we wanted; to explain we had a confirmation email with the room we requested for a high floor, good view of the lake with a balcony, they had a very hard time finding us the room we wanted and they wanted to give us a parking lot view room which we declined. They found us the room we requested after 25 minutes; this was odd since the hotel was at 20% occupancy.

- Uncompleted areas where in view of the guests, this was also the ugly spa (I will talk about that), outdoor areas and the other hotel building next to the main building.

- Are room did not have a deep soaking tub, which I expected since they show this on the website and I phoned in to ask, where they told me all rooms do have a deep soaking tub. This was not true; since our room had a standard and small tub. Disappointing

- The bathroom was small, had only one sink, and the WC area had a very dim light, so when we close the WC door it was way too dark and we had to open the doorway to get light in (they should have a stronger light in the WC area or take off the door

- The room balcony was not shovelled and you couldn’t really get out safely, we had to kick the snow off the balcony are self’s so we could enjoy the view.

- The room we had an ok view, but was not a lake view room be sure to ask them for a high floor to get a good view

- The spa area decor was unappealing and did not have the same design scheme as the rest of the hotel, hallway to the spa and pool area is long and is ugly looking. Spa area looked very dull and dark, didn`t have a nice serene spa look that I was expecting. It looked very American like and was not consistent with the rest of the hotel design. Disappointed

- Fitness area for a hotel of this size was very small

- Indoor pool was a little small

- TV in the guest room, was limited and didn’t have a TV guide, therefore we had guess what channel we were watching

- Very youthful staff, some of them didn’t seem to know what they where doing

- Guest room was smaller than expected and would be too cramped for a family of four

- The in-room coffee was not great since it was a maple flavoured coffee and they didn’t have a regular coffee choice

- No in-room dishwasher in the kitchenette, the sink was small


Overall we had a nice time. I think that this hotel will get better with age as it is so new. Give it some more time, by the summer it should be near perfect. The JW Marriott Las Vegas Resort was much better, but this resort will be great within a few years.

  • Liked — Lobby area and the room
  • Disliked — Service lacked, small guest bathroom and the spa was ugly
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Address: 1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa welcomes guests to luxurious surroundings overlooking Lake Rosseau. Year-round, experience the beauty and renewal of nature on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Hotel Minett
Jw Marriott Rosseau
Jw Marriott Minett
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa Ontario/Minett, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.