We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Day at the Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Girls Day at the Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Brought about 7 girls to enjoy the spa and its services for a girls day out (2 days before my wedding). The day was absolutely perfect. We enjoyed the hot tub and steam room and saunas. Spent all day at the spa pool! The massages were AMAZING.

Afterwards, we enjoyed lunch at the restaurant there. The server was absolutely charming. I wish I could remember her name because she definitely deserves the recognition! She brought out fruit to help tide us over and after our lunch, she brought out a little dessert plate to congratulate me on my upcoming wedding.

Thank you!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati S, Manager at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your girls getaway with us! Your kind comments will be shared with associates in Spa Rosseau and the restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to Muskoka soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    178
    64
    31
    33
See reviews for
248
260
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

You will not find a more beautiful property anywhere......however, expected much more from a Marriott. Arrived at noon, didn't get our room until 5:30 (even though they guarantee 4pm check-in, I'm sorry) After 4.5 hours, they offered us a complimentary drink (no specialty drinks, just wine/beer, I'm sorry) Restaurant couldn't get us reservations until 8:45 (I'm sorry) Service was poor, food was marginal.
Waited 45 minutes for breakfast...had to ask for menus (I'm sorry), again for water (I'm sorry), again for coffee(i'm sorry), again for cutlery (i'm sorry), again for salt and pepper(I'm sorry).....If they could only improve their service instead of just apologizing constantly!!
Spa was nice, but WAY overpriced. $75 dollar pedicure plus $15 for polish removal(??!)
Got our appointment time wrong for massages(I'm sorry) and didn't book with "registered masseuse" even though requested, so couldn't put it through insurance. (I'm sorry) They called me on my cell 5 days later when I was back in Toronto, to ask if I was coming down for my massage...(?!!) they booked the wrong day! (so sorry) At this point all I could do was laugh.
Overall, rooms are lovely and property outstanding, but they need to work big time on their service! Stop apologizing and do better!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati S, Manager at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Mary, thank you so much for your review of your recent experience with us at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka. Clearly we did not deliver the exceptional experience that we strive for, and that our guests expect. Please know that your comments are shared with leadership teams in all areas of the hotel, and are important to the development of our team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

It took some time to check us in, but eventually the Director of Rooms checked us in upgraded suites, which were beautiful. The suites are spacious, with great views and beautiful bathrooms. Also, the food and service are excellent. The only thing that we found to be completely exaggerated is the valet parking service of $30 per time (it's not a fee for parking but just for the valet to take the car to the parking. The parking is not far away and for free, so the hotel could have provided the service and the valets would get the tips similar to any other hotel without such exaggerated fee).

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have stayed here twice and visited for lunch three more times. We are booked to have a corporate meeting (multi-generational family foundation) next weekend. I can't wait! Every visit has been wonderful. The views from the terrace are probably the best in that part of Ontario, particularly in the fall. Great food and they've capitalised on the outdoor experience with the terrace overlooking the lakes. I'd highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved our short but worthwhile stay at the hotel. The rooms were nice and big and our view was very scenic, overlooking Lake Rousseau. The whole area was very so peaceful and relaxing, would definitely go back in the future.

The only downside is that JW Mariott's location is far from everything else - it will take you a while just to get out and be able to explore other areas in Muskoka. It's better to go there keeping in mind that you'd probably just stay in the resort the whole time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went to this hotel in the winter and had a great getaway. It would be marvelous in the summer too. It is way off the beaten path and is an awesome escape. The stars you can see at night are amazing. I took some pictures that cannot be replicated anywhere else too. The staff was great and the hotel room itself was outstanding. Looking forward to going back someday. It is a bit of a trek to get to (to say the least) and once up there it is pretty remote. There are a couple of small towns but not a lot going on in the winter. I am sure it is different in the summer but there are not a huge amount of places to go and eat so having a kitchen was great.

Room Tip: We had a corner one bedroom suite with a kitchen and it was delightful, bright and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golspie, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Though our reservation had not reached the hotel, Melissa fitted us in even though the hotel was almost full. We got a suite, rather than the studio originally booked.
Desk and restaurant staff equally fantastic, Lindsay, Natalie and her daughter, Shelby, Alison and Brenda, Barb and the 2 chefs at the superb restaurant Teca.
We had a car so took wonderful drives around locality, seeing black bear and her 2 cubs near Johnson's Cranberry Marsh, also worth a look in.

Room Tip: all the rooms have kitchens, we only had 2 nights so a studio would have been OK but we were upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Address: 1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa welcomes guests to luxurious surroundings overlooking Lake Rosseau. Year-round, experience the beauty and renewal of nature on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Hotel Minett
Jw Marriott Rosseau
Jw Marriott Minett
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa Ontario/Minett, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.