We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Long story short: left 2 days early, non-refundable, disappointed, contacted, they confirmed the problems on-site, shrugged them off, "we hope you'll join us again".

See "The Ugly" below and decide for yourself if I'm being a whiner.

The good:
(1) it's a pretty setting
(2) clean rooms (see "The Ugly" re: facilities)
(3) very nice common areas
(4) pretty good food, albeit expensive
(5) rooms are well laid out

The Bad:
(1) service is bad, not awful. Think Comfort Inn, with a gentle drawl for snobbish effect
(2) lousy activities/equipment
(3) no towels in the changerooms at the pool
(4) about half of the lockers didn't work

I'm not a high-maintenance traveller: trust me on this. But if you're going to pretend you're five star, have some towels in the changerooms.

The Ugly:
(1) cigars and alcohol containers left by the hot tub for more than 12 hours. Come on: clean the hot tub after people party in it. Eww.
(2) solar blanket left on the outdoor swimming pool with no indication indoors. Not a fun surprise.
(3) 4' high Connect Four game in kids' area. Fun right? Until it breaks in half on top of your kid: they had held it together with putty and twist ties, literally. (Mariott responds: "it's designed to come apart easily...condition of the toys and activities can diminish quickly" -- I doubt the kids brought the putty and twist ties)
(4) switch on air hockey table came off in my hand. Hello bare wire.

I could go on to talk about what the activities were like, or the dismissive hand gesture we were given when we asked where to return our snowshoes ("over there in the bin").

But those were all minor things compared to the filthy hot tub and dangerous kids' room.

Would I be complaining like this if this place didn't bill itself a 5 Star Resort? Absolutely not. I have stayed in cardboard-walled hotels in Southeast Asia (not kidding) and loved my stay. I can handle roughing it, but that is not what I signed up for from Mariott Muskoka.

They did not live up to its promises, and for that they get a solid 2 out of 5 on TripAdvisor from me.

Couple that with nothing to do for miles, and in case you hadn't already guessed it, I don't recommend wasting your vacation time here. Click your browser's back button and go somewhere else. Deerhurst, while not as nice, is a much better pick than this place.

Room Tip: Best tip I can offer: don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati S, Manager at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of your experience during your stay at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka. Our whole focus is on providing guests with a truly exceptional experience, and from your comments, it is clear that we did not deliver the memorable experience we strive to provide all our guests. Please be assured that the Children’s area concerns have been addressed, and we will continue to monitor the space to ensure that all the toys are in safe working order. We apologise that the pool cover was not removed while you were using the indoor/outdoor pool. While the cover will be removed upon request, it is certainly our error that this was not communicated to you. Again, we value your comments, and please be assured that they are shared with our leadership team here at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    192
    68
    32
    34
See reviews for
266
287
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alliston, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Just spent Friday and Saturday night at this Marriot with a group of friends. We spent our days snowmobiling, and our evenings at the resort. First impression, awesome! We were greeted by a wonderfully nice and helpful gentleman who stored our luggage until our rooms were ready. Luckily a room was ready super early, so we had a place to put on our snowmobile suits. The trails were awesome - groomed to perfection from Friday to Sunday. At the resort, the spa, hot tubs, indoor / outdoor pool, the games room (a must see if you take children, Wii, air hockey, ping pong tables, etc), the bar, the 'cottage' restaurant, the service, the library, the outdoor skating rink, all great. Our room was lovely, super clean, spacious bathroom, and the kitchenette was handy to help us get going in the morning - just bring your food and store in the fridge. You will have available, a toaster, 2 burners and kettle (the pan to fry your eggs, the spatula, and all the dishes you would need are there)! The stay was made even better by the 'wagjag' deal we used which included a $100.00 credit to use at the resort for anything but alcohol (spa treatments, restaurant meals, the gift shop). We will definately be back! Love the Marriot on Rosseau ♥♡♥♡

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We travelled with our adult children and grandchildren for a one night stay but would love to have spent longer. The whole establishment is outstanding and the decor fits the beautiful natural surroundings. The snow makes it all the more special with the ability to swim outside in water which was comfortably warm while surrounded by beautiful winter scenery. The whirlpool was a treat to enjoy at daybreak. The breakfast buffet was varied and delicious with fresh raspberries and blueberries to accompany hot waffles and maple sausage amongst many other delights! We enjoyed snowshoeing using top quality equipment provided by the resort. The guys enjoyed skating well into the evening. The children's play room is well equipped and was fun for my two little grandsons. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms clean and well equipped with everything we needed. I recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for the best of everything in pristine, natural surroundings. It is truly a place to get away from it all and enjoy the natural beauty of a Canadian winter.

Room Tip: A room looking over the lake would be beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and teenage daughters stayed at the JW Marriott Rouseau for 2 nights over a weekend in January. The Good: 1) Great views of the lake 2) Large, clean comfortable rooms 3) suites have full kitchen amenities so you can prepare meals 4) In door / out door pool, great for an evening swim under the stars 5) snowshoes and skates are included in the resort fees so no extra charge to rent. The Bad: 1) With little choice in terms of area restaurants we were stuck at the resort for meals (avg cost per meal ~ $120 for family of four) 2) Although the staff were helpful, the resort seemed to be short-staffed since we waited for everything (ie, check-in, bag check, restaurant, activities desk etc ...). Overall, our experience was positive and we would likely return as a family in the summer to enjoy the lake. Next time we would likely bring groceries and prepare breakfast and lunch in the suite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here with my husband in November and had a great time! Our room was stunning and so was the view. The staff there were helpful and delightful! I recommend this to couples for a romantic get away as well as families as they have many things to do for children

Room Tip: If you can splurge pick a room on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the lake and property. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

My husband and I just spent a wonderful weekend at the JW Marriott resort on Lake Rosseau. We had a lovely room overlooking the lake and the hockey rink. This is a great spot for people who enjoy all winter activities. Options were: snowshoeing, skating, dog sled riding, snowmobiling and ice fishing. The resort itself is very, very nice. We ate at Teca Restaurant on site twice and the food and service was very good. From the moment we entered the resort we were treated with first class service from everyone. We also enjoyed two spa treatments and enjoyed the outdoor hot tub. Also, the bed was extremely comfortable! A great vacation spot!

Room Tip: A view of the lake is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just got back from 2 nights at the JW Marriott Rosseau. We went on a travelzoo package so we got a pretty good deal. I'm not sure if we would normally have gone because it is quite pricey to stay here. But it is a wonderful place to go. Every meal we had was amazing. The blueberry pancakes at breakfast were to die for, and the goat cheese arugala salad at Teca was the best I've had. We had fun snowshoeing and using the outdoor hot tub. The spa was nice too. Because we paid for massages we had access to the spa, but if we had of paid to access the spa facilities (hot tub, sauna, steam room) I think I would've been a bit disappointed. They were nice facilities but I thought the price to access them was a lot for what you got. We had a beautiful room that was very clean, no complaints there. I would definitely recommend staying here, but it's definitely expensive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kati S, Manager at JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your note about booking dining reservations in advance – we do try to suggest that all guests make a reservation prior to arrival at the resort. After a day of snowshoeing, we’re glad that you did experience great service and enjoyed dessert! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Address: 1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa welcomes guests to luxurious surroundings overlooking Lake Rosseau. Year-round, experience the beauty and renewal of nature on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Hotel Minett
Jw Marriott Rosseau
Jw Marriott Minett
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa Ontario/Minett, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.