We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa to your Saves list
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great resort hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Found the studio apartment at the hotel complete with full kitchen and all necessary kitchen utensils to be a great surprise. And a cosy gas log fire to stretch out beside to be and added luxury - all making it a great relaxing hideaway. Yes dining in was a bit expensive, and maybe we could have bought our food in nearby Port Carling supermarket and used our kitchen, but, hey, we were on holiday.

Apart from the fitness suite and swimming pool and golf there did not seem to be too much to do at the Rosseau but eat drink and relax. Once round the ramble trail and we had seen it all. So for us it was great location for a short break and a stop off passing through Ontario.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    178
    63
    31
    33
See reviews for
246
259
10
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Booked a room thru Priceline for a one night stay at the beginning of June 2013. Arrived at check-in around noon the day of arrival and desk upgraded our room without asking. Check in time took less than 2 minutes and we were off to our room. It was a king suite with a fireplace and balcony and a great view. The positives were a great room, warm pool, great property and friendly staff. The negatives were a long walk from where you park your car to get to your room, additional internet charge of $15,95 plus tax per night (we used the free internet in main lounge), additional $20 resort charge for ??? and expensive to eat on site. I would definitely stay here again in the warmer weather to enjoy all the ammenities. Would book thru priceline if possibile as $400 + a night is too much.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building, away from the elevators and request a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

These people are terrorists in the restaurant area. Luck warm chicken and scalloped potatoes served one hour late after numerous complaints and requests for service. They brought us the wrong drinks also very late and after having to go to the manager. Dine here at your peril. Outside the restaurants and bars the hotel is beautiful and well run. Location is fantastic. Just do NOT eat here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding in August 2012, and this place is beautiful. The location couldn't be nicer, the staff is attentive, and the food is excellent. It's not an inexpensive holiday, so try and book a work event here so the company can pay for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I loved our Sun-Thu mid-week pre-season romantic celebration for our 30th anniversary at the end of May. This JW Muskoka resort is gorgeous with a warm luxury cottage feel. The JW staff were highly personable, eager to please, responsive to our special requests, and all seemed happy to have us visit. The special treats like our Platinum room upgrade and champagne & chocolate strawberries for our anniversary were all greatly appreciated. The room had all the extras you'd expect at a JW with a very comfy king bed, fireplace, very nice compact kitchenette, small living area, large spotless bathroom and balcony with Muskoka chairs and fabulous views of the lake, sunrise, moonrise and special fireworks display. Make sure you bring extra wine and light snacks for breakfast & breaks on your balcony. We also tried all the restaurants and bars, and loved Teca (Italian) and Lakes (casual) for great food, drinks and service. Try the local Muskoka draft beer - delicious ! And best of all for this family oriented resort, our Sun-Thu pre-season timing was wonderfully quiet and romantic, with only a few happy kids, and in many cases, we enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs to ourselves. And probably most surprising we did NOT find this resort or any of the onsite restaurants to be overly expensive. While my wife and I travel extensively throughout the year, we will definitely be going back to the JW Muskoka resort again and again and again.

Room Tip: Loved room 1447 - top floor king & fireplace with fabulous balcony & lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location overlooking the lake. I loved everything except the price. I went during 'off season' and was really surprised by how much they charged. The hotel was very nice, but I wouldnt have paid the price if it werent for the wedding I attended there.
The rooms are spacious with fireplaces in them. Ask to overlook the lake if possible. If they try to charge you a bunch extra for a lake view I would suggest not taking it as you likely wont spend much time in your room anyhow with all the activities, and beautiful common areas, bars and restaurants.

The drive from Toronto is far so be prepared and allow yourself extra time getting out of the city if during rush hour. These days the traffic is pretty busy until Barrie due to commuters.

Room Tip: Get a room viewing the lake if they dont charge you an arm and a leg for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, ON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been going every family day weekend for the past 5 years. We go with a group of about 40 people. Mixed group of young children, young adults, middle aged, and seniors. Everyone always has a blast. The food is lovely, and the spa service is phenomenal. Had a masssage with the male rmt and I felt relaxed for days! The hotel is setup with family friendly activities every visit.

The room is perfect. With a kitchenette we have the option to have meals in our rooms which is nice when you have young children like us.
The pool is nice as well. You can swim outside to enjoy the outdoor pool and hot tub or stay in the inside pool. They're connected and open year round.
My only critique is that the restaurant service is slow. We are used to waiting for our meals by now. But ideally this should not happen. Additionally, it would be nice to have a kids club for a couple of hours a day so that we are able to use the spa for longer periods and as a couple.

Room Tip: Request main building (not paighton house) or you will be walking a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa

Address: 1050 Paignton House Road | PO Box 31, Minett, Ontario P0B 1G0, Canada (Formerly The Rosseau, A JW Marriott Resort & Spa)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Minett
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Minett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa welcomes guests to luxurious surroundings overlooking Lake Rosseau. Year-round, experience the beauty and renewal of nature on your terms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Resort And Spa
The Rosseau, a Jw Marriott Hotel Minett
Jw Marriott Rosseau
Jw Marriott Minett
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa Ontario/Minett, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.