We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sports bar atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Shack

Le Shack
3035, chemin de la Chapelle | C.P. 2658 Succ. B, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1B1, Canada
+1 819-681-4700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 119 Restaurants in Mont Tremblant
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Fast Food, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: One of the most popular restaurants in Tremblant’s pedestrian village, Le Shack stands on the original site of the Chalet des Voyageurs, built by the legendary Joe Ryan in 1939 at the foot of the south side of Mont Tremblant. Philadelphia-born Joe Ryan was an eccentric millionaire and a visionary. With encouragement from his wife Mary and a parish priest, Father Deslauriers, Ryan founded the second ski resort in North America: Mont Tremblant Resort. During the 1940s and 50s, the Chalet des Voyageurs was the preferred meeting place of skiers, who’d congregate after a day on the slopes to swap stories with friends. With its warm and cozy atmosphere, Le Shack carries on this tradition of offering the best après-ski in Tremblant. The “Shack” – so named for the Quebec “sugar shack” in tribute to the longstanding tradition of shacks erected for the spring maple syrup season – recreates the spirit of good times with good friends. To honour Joe Ryan and perpetuate the tradition of the sugar shack, the folks at Resto-Bar Le Shack welcome you for your après-ski gatherings at the foot of Mont Tremblant.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sports bar atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW

We happened to visit Le Shack during the hockey play-offs...the restaurant was buzzing with lots of activity and hockey fans, young and old. There is an extensive menu from which to select and the food was good. Our server, Francis, was pleasant and accommodating.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    141
    77
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not As Good As We Had Hoped ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015 NEW

The food here was average at best compared to most other places we ate in the Tremblant area. For such an extensive menu, most of the 6 plates at our table were pretty bland and unimpressive. The staff was almost unfriendly... it was towards the end of the night, but still at least an hour or more before close so the attitude was unexpected. Maybe our server was annoyed that only one in our party spoke French, but we all made our best effort to do so...being from the US, we apologize constantly, but that didn't seem to suffice that night. When I asked to have the veggie burger with a different type of cheese, I was told no. When I asked if i could have it without the mango salsa, I was told no. When i asked to simply have the mango salsa on the side (as i did not want it and then would just not eat it), i was again told NO. When i asked why this was? Our server said in a huff that she had to speak to the chef. After about 5-10 minutes, she came back and said he would "allow" me to have it on the side... how grateful I was for such a difficult request! Likewise, my mother asked for a simple substitute for something she wanted and was also told no. When my veggie burger did arrive, it was fried on the outside and dry on the inside and is in competition for the worst veggie burger I've had to date. I wasn't expecting the best, but after all the trouble it took just to disclude a condiment, i guess i expected a little better than what i received. my french onion soup was also average compared to most other places I've had in Quebec. The Margaritas, on the other hand, were. QUITE delicious. Next time, i will consider going there for drinks after we have dinner somewhere else.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Nice place to watch a sports event since there are plenty of TV's. Food was good but service was a bit lacking. Our waitress ended her shift during our meal and it took quite some time before some other waiter came to see us. We had to wave him to get service, it's as if we had been forgotten.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dinner in the Village”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

Pros:
1)fun atmosphere and indoor decor
2) variety of food to choose from
3) ample seating
4) amazing view of ski trails
5) ski racks
6) food was decent (burgers were good)
7) friendly bilangual service

Cons:
1) Seafood just decent could be tastier.
2) Limited beer and wine selection (all of Mount Tremblant has this issue)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Poor service and quality of food. Burgers and chips were both cold, just like the waitress. Plenty of other restaurants to choose from in the area.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Shack also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Been to Le Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.