We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apres Ski at it's finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Forge

La Forge
3035 Chemin de la Chapelle | C.P. 2517 succ. B., Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1B1, Canada
819-681-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 116 Restaurants in Mont Tremblant
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: One restaurant, two experiences; the Bistro-Bar of La Forge offers a seasonal menu, with something for every taste, for lunch and dinner. The atmosphere is welcoming and the bar is right in the middle of the big room… from which you can admire the mountain and ski slopes on one side and on the other, Place St-Bernard in the centre of Tremblant’s pedestrian village. On the second floor, The Grill of La Forge offers truly excellent cuisine. Specializing in meats grilled over maple-wood coals, it provides the charm of yesteryear both on your plate and in the luxurious décor of wood, leather and wrought iron that makes the atmosphere so warm and lush. An amazing wine cellar, awarded the the Prix Excellence from Wine Spectator (2 glasses) awaits you.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Apres Ski at it's finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Right at the bottom of the slopes, the perfect spot for a cold pint and a snack after (or during) a day of skiing!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    71
    48
    33
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food but busy- watch out or you'll miss out skiing!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had a very good meal here but it was a hectic lunch hour- albeit it was during the Christmas to New year's holiday busy time. Waited 20 or so minutes for a table (ok- that's standard for noon) but it took a long time to get served and the waitress needed to be ushered over for various requests (spilled glass, more napkins, missing spicy mayo with fries, etc). In the end, it was probably 2 hours from start to finish so we missed out on some great skiing- so keep that in mind. I should mention that we were a group of 8 so maybe smaller tables are more efficiently served.
Food was good. Had the onion soup in a bread bowl, spicy mayo with fries (good! but spicy mayo comes in a plastic-lidded container!!?) and small gree salad. Apparently all the rest was good- burgers, caesar salads, kids' spaghetti, etc.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was my third time at La Forge. As always the filet mignon was excellent. The view great too.
Service was good and they were great with my 9 year old. Not much for kids on the menu but he was happy with what he had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overpriced and underwhelming”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is understandable that the restaurants at the village at Mont Tremblant realize they have a captive audience, and can pretty much charge whatever they like. We went to La Forge for a late afternoon snack. We ordered chicken wings and Nachos. The chicken wings are supposed to be 1 lb. - we got 6 wings which were deep fried and very dry. No dressing or sauce = simply a tub of sour cream to go with it, and a few sprigs of carrot on the side. This is something lke $12.00. The Nachos were marginally better with olives and a healthy serving of cheese, but the tortilla chips were stale, and again - this was about $13.00. The overall meal was greasy, heavy and unappealing. Needless to say, beer & wine are regular fare - at top dollar. To have to pay such excessive fees for sub par food (plus there is a "Tremblant fee" of 10% or something, not including the tip) on top of everything seems a little insulting to me. My advise - bring your own lunch!
(Will mention the service was very good and the atomosphere pleasant enough - I just feel they are taking advantage of the location and the lack of competition)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great view, great alcohol not so great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Sitting in this restaurant, bill's just been paid. The service at first was great, dropped off after we got our second drinks. The finger food we ordered were good and the alcohol was good, until they ran out of Jameson. I'd come back. View at the base of the hill is nice.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Forge also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Been to La Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Forge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.