We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful, secluded getaway from city life.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   400, rue du Mont Plaisant, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1L2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A peaceful, secluded getaway from city life.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friends and I visited Mont Tremblant for the first time during the long weekend in May and stayed at the Cap Tremblant.

Reception:
We were greeted by very pleasant bi-lingual staff that were more than happy to be of assistance. Both check-in and -out were efficient.

Suite:
My friends and I stayed in a Two Person Suite that comfortably accommodates up to four people. The living room area was spacious and indeed came with the amenities listed in the room description on the website. A helpful note is that the beach towels can be found in the bedroom's dresser drawer. Additionally, we agreed with the reviews that complained about how the pull out couch was uncomfortable. Heeding the many warnings, we brought a spare set of blanket, fitted sheet and pillow. If you take the spare quilt (found in the bedroom closet) and lay that down on top of the provided bedding, in addition to placing your own sheets on top of that, the pull out couch is much more comfortable to sleep on. The balcony was spacious and included a propane BBQ and patio set. I would recommend requesting a suite in the "205" section since it is directly across from the pool. We saw many guests drive up and park along side the pool area because their suites were much further away. That being said, noise from the pool was minimal to none. The way it is situated, you are able to see how busy the pool is from the suite, but from the pool, overall suite privacy is maintained.

Laundry & Kitchen:
The suite was provided one sample size box of Tide laundry detergent. I recommend bringing some extra detergent and softener if you are picky or if you plan on doing more than one load. The kitchen was equipped with all the amenities listed on their website. We were wondering if they would also provide garbage bags, sponges and at least salt and pepper, since they were not listed, and rest assured they did provide those items. Despite the reviews, the cutlery, utensils, and tableware were all provided and were in working condition.

Location:
Cap Tremblant is located approximately 10 minutes away from The Village in a relatively secluded area that is difficult to locate at night since signs are small and the area is not well lit. For those looking to take a taxi to or from The Village, I recommend you phone well in advance since both times we took a taxi, we waited over 30 minutes and had to phone again to confirm that they were still coming. From my understanding, there seems to be only two taxi companies that have only a handful of drivers. If you are driving to The Village, there is a small parking lot that charges $3/hour. Aside from that, the location is perfect for wildlife spotting, trails for biking/running/rollerblading, and kayaking/canoeing in the lakes for those visiting in the summer. Nearby restaurants close early and the closest supermarket is approximately 10 minutes down the mountain, so stocking up prior to arriving is recommended.

Overall, our stay at Cap Tremblant was pleasant and relaxing. I would recommend it to anyone looking to have a nice quiet weekend away from the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the 205 section since it is directly across from the pool area. Additionally, r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Great review ! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    111
    45
    35
    29
See reviews for
117
93
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My friends and I had a great time during our first visit to Mont Tremblant and were pleased that we stayed at Cap Tremblant. I would definitely recommend it to people looking for a quiet trip away from the city rather than if you are looking for the hustle and bustle that the Tremblant village has to offer.

The service:
Since there are no turn down services, we only saw reception 3 times, upon checking in and out, and once to ask for general info regarding near by hiking and taxi services, all with very pleasant bi-lingual representatives.

The suite:
The room was very spacious, with a large living area with 2 loveseats, a coffee table, TV with DVD player, a stereo, fireplace (currently not available for use), a dining area for 4, 3 bar chairs with the kitchen counter. The bedroom was a queen size bed with a full body mirror, spacious closet, a small TV and a dresser. The bathroom came with various sized towels (although more "beach appropriate" ones can be found in the bedroom dresser), basic amenities and hair dryer. The balcony (depending on what floor/room size tho) was very spacious, we stayed in 205-4 so our balcony wasn't directly under the sun (one more floor above us) but came with a patio set and propane bbq overlooking below us the "main" gravel path and pool slightly below on the mountain (so still full privacy but we were able to see how busy the pool was at any given point)

Kitchen & Laundry:
There was an on site washer and dryer and they supply the detergent. The kitchen was very surprisingly well equipped, which was one of our major concerns, even bringing some of our own things. It has lots of cutlery, assortment of cooking spatulas, strainers, cheese grater, hand mixers, ladles, various bowls for baking or plastic ones for serving, abundant plates and bowls, cups, glasses, wine glasses, ice trays, baking plate, muffin pan, measuring cups & spoons, tea pot, kettle, knife set & cutting board, coffee maker, complementary coffee and tea, bbq tongs, bbq lighter, bbq skewers, salt & pepper, garbage bags, dish soap, dishwasher soap, sponges.

The pull out couch:
Reading previous reviews, we brought our own bedsheets and blankets in anticipation of the "horrible" pull out. I can definitely imagine that if I didnt had the expectation I would be upset about the bed, however we put their blanket down and our bedsheets over, and using our blanket, it was significantly better.

The location:
It is located about 10 min drive from the village, which isnt a problem during the day. There are only 2 cab companies in the area and we highly suspect just a handful of taxis as it was the same driver that took us both ways one night, each time waiting 40 mins+ for the taxi to arrive. I highly recommend call well beforehand. The cab ride was about $15 after tip and parking at the village is $3/h so that's just the additional cost from choosing not to stay at one of the hotels in the village. Aside from that, the area was very secluded, making it extremely hard to find in the dark since there are no street lights and the signs are not very clear. The entire Cap Tremblant is located in a ring road enclave in the middle of residential areas on a hill. It was very quiet throughout our entire stay with lots of greenery and animal spottings. There are near by trails that are suitable for biking and rollerblading alongside the lake leading up to the village. Although we were directly across the pool, we didnt have any noise problems. The nearest grocery store is down the mountain about 10 mins in, so I would recommend stocking up beforehand since option is very limited especially at night as it seems that many restaurants close early.

All in all this was a great trip for relaxation, I think would be the perfect location for couples looking to get away from the city.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms have an open "balcony" and it does seem that deers roam around freely in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for this instructive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We really liked this place as a last chance to get some skiing in Mont Tremblant before the end of the season. We went there on March 29-31 with a Groupon. The rate was ok, and despite the fact that I was pretty skeptical about this place, I was surprised to find exactly the opposite. The place was sparkling clean, the kitchen had everything you needed to cook meals even for a large family (I am not just talking about pasta, we made diner every night and breakfast in the morning). We had our room across the street from the pool and hot tub (really awesome despite the fact that you had to walk a little to get to it, but not that bad). Everything, including the pool area were sparkling clean. We had an awesome, relaxant stay with friends. The only thing that really annoyed me was that on our first night we got a call at 10:30 to move the car because we parked on a different spot than the one that was assigned to us (someone else took ours before we arrived) So when the woman that had that particular spot arrived at 10:30PM she was so keen about parking in her stupid spot despite having another one available a few steps away that I had to go out in my pajamas to move our car. I was furious about how the receptionist handled this, they really should be smarter about stuff like this. When I spoke with the manager he said that their policy is to not call after 10PM, so why call us at 10:30 when you could have easily find a solution?? This was the only thing that spoiled our stay, and was almost forgot by the time we left. The 20 $ credit to use in the restaurant sounds good, but only from Monday to Thursday, so we had no use of it. They give you maps for the free shuttle, and you have to pick up your garbage and recycle at the end of your stay. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Be aware of the assigned parking spots: if your parking spot is taken when you arrive, report it to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for this thorough review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our recent stay at Le Cap was a very positive experience. We had read many reviews of the property, are well traveled and thus, had realistic expectations of our rental unit. While not a 4/5* property, Le Cap offers value for the dollar. Additionally, the service from front desk and cleaning staff was excellent.

Upon our arrival at Le Cap, we were greeted by completely bilingual staff who were welcoming, courteous and friendly. We were placed in a newer condo with a gorgeous view of Mt. Tremblant and the surrounding area.

Unfortunately, upon our arrival at the condo, we were also met by six quite drunk adolescents who had yet to finish their St. Patty's day partying. While we all can recall our own youthful excesses, watching teenagers proudly and loudly urinate in a parking lot and then enter the condo next to the one we had been assigned, was not, to our way of thinking, a symbol of good things to come.

We returned to the lobby, explained the situation, and requested a different condo. Jean-Francois, the reservations manager, was more than apologetic: his service was outstanding. We ended up in an older condo, with another great view.

I mention "older" condo because we wanted to comment on the accoutrements that came with it. Yes, the space needed some refreshing. Yes, one could tell that the furniture had been used. However, the unit was spotlessly clean. (We are very picky about that!) Kitchen facilities were more than adequate for food prep. We found the unit a comfortable space during our five day stay.

We visited Le Cap in a "low" period. The only issues we could foresee, if one stayed here during a busy time, is that noise from units above and beside readily intruded into our unit. We were fortunate in that our neighbours were considerate and very quiet.

Additionally, parking space appears to be quite limited. Again, because of the time we visited, this was not a problem for us: however, we could foresee it could become an issue in busy times.

Overall, thanks to the excellent service of staff we enjoyed our stay. Le Cap offered value, and an excellent location for those not wanting to stay at the foot of the Flying Mile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for this constructive review and good comments about our Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have stayed at this property many times over the years since the Wyndham first opened it up almost 10 years ago but this was the first time we have stayed there since they Wyndham is no longer involved in its operation. Unfortunately, it shows.

While this is a place that I have always recommended to friends going to Tremblant, I would not do so any longer. Our unit was certainly showing signs of age (156-2). In the unit, some of the ballisters were loose on the staircase railing, a clear safety issue and we had two chairs that were actually broken when we arrived. Neither the BBQ or the fireplace were available for use and the kitchen was missing some basic supplies that made making dinner a challenge.

As mentioned, for the sake of your back, do not count on sleeping on the sofabeds if you are an adult. Our kids slept on one and they seem to be ok if you weigh less than 40lbs!

Although we won't return to this resort until we hear of some changes, it could still fill a niche for some people. The units are large and we did have a beautiful view from ours. There seem to be deals to be had for this property and the free shuttle to the hill works well, although it would certainly be nice if it was marked in some way that it was returning to the Cap Tremblant from the hill. Even a small sign on the door of the bus would suffice. The outdoor hot tub is also always appreciated in the winter, it certainly was popular when we were there - I would try and avoid it between 4:30 - 7 when everyone gets home from skiing and heads down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for this constructive review. Since your departure, the vast majority of condos has been refurbished. You can come back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed for three nights in February 2012. We got there to check in only to see a lineup of about 100 people… The “Lobby” area had no room to park and no room to stand. We waited about an hour to get to the check in desk and finally got our keys. (2 hours after the “Check-In” time). Several people had to keep going through the line over and over… No rooms were ready and they did nothing to prepare for the long weekend.

When we finally got to our room we were greeted with about 6 garbage bags on the porch… When we walked up the stairs there was a very large piece of broken glass that appeared to be from the top of a coffee table… It was pretty dangerous because I almost walked right into it. When we went to the kitchen the dishwasher was open and there was dish soap everywhere and water had leaked onto the floor. Tried calling front desk a few times and no answer, finally they sent someone to come and fix things… Took 2 hours for the staff to show up. On the same note, we had almost no towels since they used ours to wipe the water. When I called the next day (took about 5 times for them to answer) they said “we will be right there”…. They never showed up. Tried calling again, no one answered… So we washed the ones we had and re-used them. Also we were not allowed to use the fireplace which was a big negative. (They did tell us in advance, but it still would have been nice to use it)

Now for the positive, the view from our room was very nice and the room was very spacious. It had a very “cozy” feel to it. The shuttle was nice and depending when you took it you had enough room to sit comfortably. Our last night there we hit the hot tub because it had been closed the previous nights.. It was very nice but it was PACKED with people.

Overall the place was nice and well-kept but the service was awful. I will not go again.

Room Tip: Dont go during "Busy" times, they dont prepare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Sorry for this far from perfect stay. That day was the worst day we ever had in terms of turnaround. All 150 units were checked out in the morning and had to be ready for 4PM. Everyone did their best to get the units ready on time and we succeeded 90%. It also means we failed 10% and I would like to apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We rented a one bedroom condo. Everything was first rate. Nothing was missing. The place was clean and spacious with a beautiful view of the mountains. The place was very quiet and the management had scattered the few renters throughout the property so that we really felt by ourselvers. A very enjoyable experience

Room Tip: The further in you are the quieter it will be. From blocks 300 up is far from the entrance and you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guymond, General Manager at Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for this nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort

Address: 400, rue du Mont Plaisant, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1L2, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#6 Spa Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Tremblant Mountain Hotel Mont Tremblant
Wyndham Hotel Mont Tremblant
Wyndham Mont Tremblant
Mont Tremblant Wyndham
Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cap Tremblant Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.