We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right in the village” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3035 ch de la Chapelle, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1E1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ontario
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just right in the village”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have stayed in other hotels in around Mont Tremblant, but this was the first time for us travelling to this location with our 3 children. One of the largest hurdles with a family of 5, is finding a place that accomidates the size of our group and not pay extraordinary for a huge suite. Rates were competitive with incentives several other Tremblant hotels don't offer such as senior, CAA/AAA, Government and internet rates.....plus it's a Hilton so signing up for the free Hhonours card on the internet before you leave won't hurt you when you can possibly have a free nights stay somewhere by the time you check out.

For our group, this was the perfect place in a 1 bedroom with a loft. My two younger children in the loft, son on the fold out livingroom couch and my wife and I in the bedroom. All this with plenty of living space left over.

Front Desk- Check In/Out = Very helpful and courteous. Very complete explanation of events in the area. Ask about ski storage and they will give you directions to the secured indoor lockers and enough ski locks/keys for your group to use all over the resort the duration of your stay.

Parking = There are free lots available outside, but we arrived in the evening and chose to use the underground parking (additional $10 a night if you choose this). We found our luggage topper did not fit into the garage and when I went back to change arrangements with the desk, they offered to securely store the topper for us at no additional cost. It was nice having the van inside.

Breakfast = I believe the hours were 7 am - 10 am. It's not going to be the highlight of your trip, but was more than adequate for us. Pastries, breads (toast), french toast, cereal, yogurt, eggs (reviews are right, but i ate them anyway), changing meat, potatoes, tea, juice, coffee ( 4 types incl. decaf), etc.......enough options to meet most needs. Always found a place for all 5 of us to sit comfortably.

Other meals = We ate breakfast at the hotel as we previously said, lunch at restaurants like Le Shack and only had 1 dinner at Casey's (great Wings). Other than that we made dinner in the suite's kitchen. We brought a crock pot with us and bought groceries before we arrived at the resort. I should have listened to an earlier review recommending bringing your own can opener.........the words echoed for some time as I walked to the resorts grocery store to buy one for 1.99. I left it there for someone else finding themselves in that spot.

The fireplace was nice.....synthetic logs only, which we learned from previous reviews to purchase before you arrive.

There is a SAQ (Liquor store) and the grocery store in the pedestrian village sells beer and wine. (we bought ours before arriving at the grocery store on the highway).

We never had an issue with noise and never heard a sound outside of our room. We were on the side facing the hot tub (away from main village and mountain which may or may not be a factor).

The children loved the free GT Racers ( up to age 12) and Tubes (all ages). Although we just watched the kids, they never had to wait and the people mover ( moving sidewalk) back up the hill was a nice touch for the youngest ones. There are 2 courses groomed for these activities each night.

Previous reviews have captured pretty much everything else. All and all and excellent stay for our large family. We will be back next winter.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    210
    64
    32
    12
See reviews for
270
205
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

This hotel works for us for two reasons:
1. BREAKFAST . Lifts close daily at 3:30pm. So key is to get out to the lifts at 7:45am (for First Track, which is this special ticket you get as a resort guest that lets you get on the lifts at 7:45am while the public has to wait till 8:30am). In order to get to the lifts at 7:45am, having someone cook breakfast for us definitely helped. Quality of breakfast - it's fine.. the eggs were definitely questionable, and it was the same "scrambled" for all 3 mornings. The meat changed - sausage links fri, sausage patties sat, ham on sunday, 3rd hot item were hashbrowns ( weren't that great.. cold and chewy at 7:30am), potatoes, or baked beans. Hot cereal ( instant oatmeal), 4 kinds of cold cereal, juices, milk, coffee, tea, pastries, toasts (raisin, white, whole wheat), fruit , yogurt. A reviewer wrote about plastic bowls - maybe that was for the afternoon soup which is only served Mon-Thurs which we weren't able to enjoy (we were there Fri-Mon). Breakfast was served with regular restaurant plates/bowls and stainless steel cutlery. Plastic /paper ones available for those taking food back to their rooms. Breakfast room was not busy between 7-7:30am, lots of seating available. Did not encounter any rude breakfast staff.
2. LOCATION - Hilton is the only hotel with a slope facing door that is less than 50 m from the gondola _and_ with breakfast (there are other Intrawest condos a tad closer.. but you make your own breakfast). Fairmont would be truly ski in/ski out, as their exit is somewhat higher up the slope, but to ski out from the Fairmont means...strapping on your skis, ski for 5 seconds to the gondola then taking off your skis again to get on the gondola. From the Hilton's exit door we carry our skis and walked to the gondola to board.
Following advice from another reviewer, we parked our van close to that slope-facing exit door and left our skis in the vehicle. Every day our personal ski valet (DH - dear husband) goes down to the van to carry our skis up one flight of stairs and sets them at the exit door. We walk down from our suite in our ski boots, poles in hand, and pick up the skis then out the door. At the end of the day, we get off the slopes, take off our skis, carry them for a few steps back into that exit door, drop the skis off there while our personal ski valet carries them down into the garage for storage. That's the life :-)

Other notes:
Kitchen supplies - we didn't cook beyond soup and PB&Js so can't really say if the utensils were adequate. There wasn't a colander, but there was a frying pan, a saucepan with steamer, and a bigger pot. There was 1 knife and a can opener, no measuring cup. Coffee, tea and 1 bag of microwave popcorn supplied but if you want to make your own brand of coffee, bring flat filters. I brought my own green tea teabags and a case of duraflame firelogs. They did supply a box of kleenex in the bathroom and a roll of papertowel in the kitchen (i recall one past reviewer said there weren't any of those).
Did not try hot tub. Did not try tubing.
Booked the stay directly via Hilton's website as the Tremblant website did not show any rooms for this property for our dates.
Would have liked to get the lift tickets deal from Costco (described by another reviewer) on the way up (saw 2 Costcos along hwy 15) but it was past 9pm when we got to that neighbourhood and they were closed. Our eldest has an Ontario Grade 4/5 snow pass which allows her 3 free tickets to ski at Tremblant, but the rules are that we have to go to the ticket booth every day to have that snowpass swiped for a lift ticket. The ticket booth opens at 8am so we always missed First track by 15 mins... It is true that the slopes are quiet before 10am.
We were here during Jan 28-Jan 31. The only busy day on the slopes/lifts was Saturday. Sunday was surprisingly non-busy (perhaps people were hungover/busy checking out to go home).
Noise - heard from other guests at breakfast that the rooms closer to the top end of the hotel (higher room numbers) had to put up with a lot of party noise sat night. Our room was down near the "bottom" (room 30x) and we had a quiet sat night.
Parking is $10/day.
Highspeed internet (via an ethernet cable) in room is fine but next time we will certainly bring our router so we can connect more than one computer at a time, wirelessly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Overall a good hotel, but unfortunately constant problems with heating system for the entire stay. No Internet access, even though listed as available. Breakfasts very average standard, plastic bowls. Après ski not at the standard we expected. Hot powdered soup, quite sterile environment. Rooms need upgrading, look tired. Bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Family of 4 (2 adults plus 20 yr old son and 17 yr old daughter) stayed over Christmas week in a one bedroom suite. We drove up from Connecticut. The hotel has an amazing location in the pedestrian village just steps from the ski lift. Stayed on Hilton points (Diamond) and we were upgraded from a studio to large one bedroom overlooking the ski slopes and village. Suite had a large bedroom with two double beds, living room with sofa bed, kitchen, dining room ,bathroom and balcony overlooking the village. Room had a nice fireplace for which you can only burn Duraflame type logs so we brought a case with us in the car. Small kitchen has all of the necessary appliances and utensils if you want to cook your own meals. Service at the hotel was excellent. The front desk staff was always very polite and helpful with restaurant recommendations, directions, etc. Housekeeping did a great job and we were happy to leave a nice tip everyday.

Internet – Wireless in only available in the breakfast room and we could often see people sitting there with their laptops. As others have noted, rooms only have a wired connection in the bedroom. While I don’t need much Internet access on vacation my Internet addicted wife and kids brought a couple of laptops, an iPad, iPod Touch and WiFi enabled cell phones. I warned my family about the Internet situation in advance and my son brought our wireless router from home and plugged it into the wired connection to create our own WiFi hotspot.

Skiing – The skiing was great the entire time of our stay. The resort was pretty full over the Christmas holiday and one of the chair lifts on the backside was out of service for the first couple of days which added to the wait at the other lifts. We took advantage of the First Tracks skiing for resort guests and were on the gondola at 7:45am each day so we were able to get in a couple of hours skiing each day without any lift lines. While most waits were less than 5 min. we did wait 20-25 min for the gondola at peak times. Per another suggestion on the forum, we purchased lift tickets at Costco in St Jerome just off route 15 on the way up only to learn at the resort that they weren’t valid during Christmas week. Costco Tremblant tickets are $63 plus tax and include a $10 lunch voucher vs. $75 plus tax without lunch at the resort.

Parking - $10/day for heated underground parking at the hotel. The garage is just down a flight of stairs from the lobby/ski lockers so I put my skies in the car rather than use the ski lockers.

Food – The Homewood suites has a free breakfast buffet which was convenient and includes a good selection of hot and cold items (sausage, eggs, bagels, toast, muffins, juice, cereal, fruit, etc.). After skiing hot soup and bread is served. The pedestrian village is full of great restaurants and bars. Since we drove up, we stocked up on snacks, beer and wine from the Costco in St. Jerome. There is a convenience store in the village which has a good selection of food, beer and wine and there is a SAQ liquor store next to the hotel.

Activities – The hotel has a nice outdoor hot tub which was nice after a day of skiing. Don't forget to bring your swim suite. The resort has a small outdoor ice skating area which is free to resort guests. My wife and daughter enjoyed it but the ice was very bumpy (No Zamboni here) so I didn’t even put on my skates. There was also a small sliding hill next to the hotel which was also free for resort guests. Lots of shops in the village for shopping.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

We stayed in one of the one bedroom lofts over Christmas week, and like others who have written reviews, were impressed with the location and rooms in this hotel. The front door of the hotel is right next to the mountain so walking to the lifts is very easy. The hotel provides storage for ski equipment (they'll lend you a lock at the front desk that's free, so long as you return it), but the package we had through the resort allowed us to use the valet hut for ski equipment that's beside the gondola, so we used that instead. Nonetheless, it's still a good idea to get locks from the hotel to use on the mountain. The people at the front desk and in the breakfast room seemed reasonably friendly and pleasant, if not particularly chatty.

Room: The living room/kitchen area wasn't huge, but it was spacious enough as well as very clean, recently remodeled, nice flat screen tv, etc. There are so many great restaurants in Tremblant that I didn't cook any dinners, but I certainly could have as the kitchen was very well stocked with a full set of dishes, glasses, flatware, cooking equipment, etc. -- it even had a crock pot. Our room was down a long hall (surprisingly, there were a few stairs in the hall that made bringing all the luggage in and out a little challenging, as we could only wheel the car as far as the stairs) and unfortunately, we didn't have a great view (we were on the side away from the village/mountain), but we didn't have any problems with noise - it was very quiet both in the evening and at night. After reading other reviews, I brought of case of logs so we enjoyed a fire every night. We also enjoyed having a private bedroom with our own TV, and the loft bedroom with a double bed, though fairly small, was perfect for our teenage daughters. Having a loft also meant that we didn't have to view the chaos they create from throwing their clothes everywhere or fight with them about picking up their clothes. The loft isn't closed off, however, so they don't have any privacy.

The only disadvantages to the rooms at this hotel is that there are no services such as room service and they don't have wireless Internet: you have to connect through a cord. This may sound silly, but to a family with Internet addicted teenagers that travels with more than one computer, it means a lot of "negotiating" (i.e. bickering) over who gets to check their Facebook while they're in the room. The hotel does have wireless in the lobby, but that's not the same as having it in the room. The breakfast wasn't amazing (eggs were a bit questionable), and my husband actively disliked the hot food, but it was certainly adequate, with plenty of bagels, toast, pastries, cereals, juices, coffee, apples, bananas, etc. as well as hot food some people may like and occasionally, cut up fresh fruit. To me, not having to worry about providing breakfast every morning far outweighed any complaints about the eggs. The hotel sauna and outdoor hot tub are great, so definitely bring bathing suits even in the winter.

The Resort: As you can see from the photos on their website, the Mont Tremblant resort village is well designed and really beautiful. We also enjoyed the French flavor - the lodge at the top of the mountain, for example, has french onion soup, freshly made crepes and waffles with cut up fresh fruit and homemade whipped cream, as well as cafe au lait in bowls. Since everything is in walking distance, my teenages (16 and 20 with a 25 year old family friend) could go out at night alone after dinner, and we were happy that they could go out without us having to lend them the car. We ate at a lot of restaurants, both for lunch and for dinner, and although there are plenty of restaurants with dinner entries in the $35-$50 range, we managed to find several restaurants with more reasonable entries in the $15-$25 range. I would say that our favorite restaurant was definitely the crepe place (Creperie Catherine) that has amazing dinner and dessert crepes but closes early. A warning to people with kids under 18: since we're from Philadelphia, we thought we could go to the casino restaurant as you can in Atlantic City, so we tried to go to the casino one night for dinner (fun because you take a gondola there). Apparently, however, in Canada, people under 18 can't enter the casino at all, not even to go to the restaurant, so we were turned away.

The skiing was great from the 24-26th, but from the 27th on, the lines, as with most ski resorts during Christmas week, were horrendus. In the future, we will only go skiing during Christmas week if we can work out the kids' schedules so that we can arrive a few days before Christmas and leave on the 27th, which is when everyone seemed to arrive. Prebooking rental equipment through the website is definitely worth it--saves a lot of time. We had been forwarned that skiing in Quebec is very cold, so we were prepared and brought extra warm clothing. In terms of activities, the ice skating rink is a bit hard to find (it's at the lowest part of the resort by the little church) but it's lovely, and the skates they rent (included with resort packages) are new and comfortable. I also recommend the pottery painting place near the bottom of the resort if your kids enjoy that sort of thing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Water, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Stayed during the one of their busiest times, Christmas to New Year's. Stayed with Hilton points-thought we would get a cramped little studio, but to our surprise, we got a large studio w/loft & murphy bed. Perfect for our family of 5! To make it even better, it had 5 large windows that can open & overlooked the quad lift & mountains- what a beautiful view esp. during New Year's eve fireworks! I asked for a complimentary fire log,but the housekeeping staff we MUST purchase it (???). Bring your own pots if you cook & can opener. Lots of space in this unit. Housekeeping knew when we won't be in room and can clean it in 15 min, but not very well. 3 supermarkets, restaurants, dollarstore ~10 min away @ Tremblant centreville. Breakfast-very good, no problem finding a table, can bring food back to your room if you can find trays, large flat screen tv w/the french news on. Wished it overlooked the mtns or village-oh well. The 4pm soup on Mon-Thurs were excellent. Food Staff were friendly -didn't encounter some of the nastiness from prev. reviewers. Able to purchase tiks thru front desk (thanks Francios) & charge to room, access to early first tracks at 7:45am; free ice-skating & evening activities (which were so limited this year). We were disappointed that they kept moving the place where my kids can go sledding. They (Tremblant) need to get their act together-no fault of the hotel. The lift lines start to get busy at 10am, b4 that, the mountain is yours! If you have the mtn side, you get some truck noise grooming the trails early in the morning. We had some trouble switching credit cards at check out, note there is a resort fee or tax; and the province tax seems to go up 1% on Jan. 1st annually. But still love the convenience of the hotel for skiing. Great mountain abeit expensive. Oh well, cest la vie.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We were not disappointed with our two bedroom apartment - well-priced for 4 people. The kitchen was well-appointed and the room very comfortable. Perfectly located for a day on the slopes.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant

Address: 3035 ch de la Chapelle, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#7 Family Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#9 Romantic Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite hotel is located in the heart of Alpine Village where you can explore local boutique shops and eateries. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen, living area, and separate bedroom. Our beautiful property also has a dry sauna and a exterior whirlpool for your relaxation. Our full hot breakfast is complimentary daily, also enjoy our reception dinner Monday through Thursday evenings. Come escape from it all at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Mont-Tremblant Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant Hotel Mont Tremblant
Homewood Mont Tremblant
Mont Tremblant Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.