We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the worst hotel experience, outrageously awful, I do not recommend it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3035 ch de la Chapelle, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1E1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
Kingston
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“By far the worst hotel experience, outrageously awful, I do not recommend it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

A frequent skiier all around Canada, often I've vacationed to Tremblant with family and friends. My second stay here at the Hilton Homewood Suites, I was completely taken offguard by my experience. Traveling only with friends, I felt as though the hotel took advantage of me.

First, when our toilet underwent a sewage backup, it took repeated calling over 3 hours before two security guards ventured up to clean up the mess. Or should I rephrase that because they didn't even bother to clean up the sewage deposits covering the floor of the bathroom and bedroom. Instead they fixed the toilet (thanks), and snooped around the room making rude remarks. Outrageous! Frustrated and confused, we stayed in the smelly room, cleaning up the mess ourselves with the towels provided, leaving us with none (again..thanks).

Later that evening we invited a couple of friends over and the same two security guards barged in, without waiting for us to open the door, and shouted "too many people in the room, get out". I spoke with the security guards, simply suggesting that they could have just asked "hey guys, you cant have this many people in the room, please leave thank you". Some service and respect, if you will. I understand completely that a room full of people may get a rowdy and a noise complaint is expected, however the $50 fine the next day was not. Unaware of the room number policy, we were on top charged for abiding the security guards and clearing the room, thus eliminating the noise problem (which...was it?).

I remember traveling numerous times to places like Tremblant and gathering in one room to eat and hang out, all family and friends. Never have I ever been charged for it. If anything, it was a warning before anything else. Upon confrontation with the hotel service, they simply dismissed my claims and I felt at a complete loss. As a student who can be quite aggreable and approachable, the prejudice I felt leaves me angry and frustrated. I highly recommend that you do not stay at the suites if you are a student like me, or even if your traveling with family and friends because the service was awful, and I would seriously like to see those two security guards charged the $50 instead of me.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    196
    56
    29
    10
See reviews for
233
190
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Great location for skiing and for village shopping. We had 5 rooms and everyone was more than happy with their accomodations. We used one of the rooms as the gathering place for dinner, lunch and snacks. It worked out well. Saved a ton of money for meals by cooking in and skiing back for lunch. Rooms were clean and comfy. The 2nd bedroom in the 2 bedroom unit is small with just enough room for the queensize bed and a small night stand, but it was just fine! Staff was friendly and helpful. Hot breakfast is included. We were given passes for First tracks, ice skating and tubing, a very nice perk. There is a large hot tub- more like a large heated pool this is nice for soaking after a long day of skiing. There are plenty of restaurants steps away.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Reviewers here are confusing hotel class (this is a 3 star) and tripadvisor Rating (4 star). I stayed here in March 2008, and mostly on the basis of value and location I too give this hotel a 4 star rating. It is a 3 star hotel -- it doesn't cost much for a ski-in/ski-out location at this lovely resort, you get a nice basic condo arrangement. Hint: try hard to get the full 2 bedroom units -- all the others will feel cramped unless you have only 1 kid, or just a couple of very small kids, or really all like each other very much). As a condo-type hotel, it is a do-it-yourself experience. No bellhops, no room service -- like ALL Homewood Suites.

As Homewood Suites go, it is among the worst I have stayed at: older, smaller breakfast room relative to size, no indoor pool, more stressed & cranky staff. But the other Homewood Suites I have stayed at were in relatively boring suburban settings -- this is in the center of a resort area. And most other condos at Mont Tremblant don't come with ANY free breakfast, however dismal. We made sure to stop on the drive from Montreal and buy basic groceries -- coffee, milk, juice, eggs, bread -- because you get a kitchen and can supplement your stuff with butter, jam, salt, ketchup, etc. from the breakfast room.

If you want a 4 star hotel -- book the Fairmont but know that it will cost at least double (or triple if you add parking, internet, hotel restaurant & tips). I sort of concluded that I would rather be at the Fairmont. But the price difference is really huge. (And the people staying there, for all that money, also complain about the service not being up to snuff.) SO -- if you like the location right in front of the ski lifts, choose: budget price and do-it-yourself, or double the price and more service. Simple.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iLoveHotels2010
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

Right at the beginning, the service was horrible. The people at this hotel are rude, and they lied to us about a number of things. I won't get into detail, as I do not want to waste any more time thinking about this hotel, but DO NOT STAY HERE. The rooms have a horrible noise as well so impossible to sleep. I am assuming it is because the hotel is ancient!
All in all, I have stayed at the hilton brand, and most are pretty good, but this one is not only the worst hilton, but the worst HOTEL I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

I don't know how they call it a 4 star. While the rooms are comfortable, the service is horrible. Our rooms were "cleaned" at random times (once at 5 pm, quite awkward).
The hot tub was great (when it worked properly), though sometimes there weren't any towels.
If you are expecting a nice breakfast, think again. The breakfast was HORRIBLE. The "eggs" were fake, and sometimes their was no cutlery. The vegetarian option (for both breakfast and snack) is a hit or miss.
When considering this place against the others please rank it as a 2.5 star.
We have stayed at the St. Bernard and had a better experience for a cheaper price (granted there wasn't a breakfast to complain about). If you don't mind cooking your own breakfast (ie. toasting your own bread) go for a cheaper (and better) option.
Otherwise expect poor service for a 4 star price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in September '09. We got a great rate for a one-bedroom at $143 a night, plus $10 inside parking, and we got Airmiles for our stay. The location of the Hotel is fantastic, as you can easily return to your suite to add a sweater or drop packages, etc. The floors have strange hallway lay-outs, but it easily learned. Upon arrival, we requested a suite change, as there were dirty dishes in the cupboard and a few other things that were not up to par. We were given suite 208 above the pool and spa, which was accomodating. The fireplace logs are $5 each plus tax, so it is better to just stop at Canadian Tire in St-Jovite on the way and buy a box of them. I suggest picking up any provisions you may want in St-Jovite, as well. There is a SAQ near the hotel to purchase wine/alchohol and lots of shops for snacks, trinkets and chocolate. Everything has elevated prices.

Breakfast at the hotel was adequate, with hot and cold selections that altered daily. I calculated seating for at least 40+ people. We wondered why they had apples from New Zealand in the fruit basket ... in Quebec, in September, during the height of apple season. The suite was kept clean by the maids and the staff was, for the most part, friendly.

We had fun on the luge ride and bought the unlimited day access on the gondola up the mountain, which included a lunch. Forget it! It was a soda, a bag of chips and a pre-packaged sandwich like the ones in a vending machine. The view was beautiful and the fall foliage was beginning to change colors. We had a nice supper one night at "Spag & Co." at the bottom of the village. We also visited the Casino, which was ... well, a rip-off ... it is, after all, a casino!

On the whole, it was very nice and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

My husband and I stayed from 08/22/09 – 08/25/09. Because we were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary, we were given a room with an amazing view and for this we are very greatful. All the staff was very friendly and was eager to help. For example, we parked our car in the indoor parking (quite cheap by the way, 10$/day, tax included) after our check-in and got lost on our way back because our room was not accessible from the reception. The kind gentleman who had checked us in actually came out of the reception to point us in the right direction.

The hotel’s location is ideal, at the top of the village, right in front of the chair lifts and close to the stage where they have shows during the week-ends.

The room was beautiful and had everything you could ever need. We had stopped at St-Jovite to buy some groceries and were able to cook supper on our first night. We had pots and pans, dishes for 4, flatware, regular and wine glasses, colander, salad bowl, etc. We had a one room suite with a very soft and comfy queen bed. There were 2 flat screen TV’s. The bathroom is in 2 parts, there’s a sliding door dividing the bath/shower from the toilet section, which I thought was very practical. We used with no problems the free high speed internet acces available in our room. The only thing we didn’t like was that the cleaning staff cleaned our room quite late, between 4PM and 5PM.

I used the pool and Jacuzzi every day. The pool water was so hot, which was perfect I thought for this time of year since the August air is a little cooler.

We made it down to breakfast twice and it was a lot more elaborate than I expected. There was a lot more hot items than I thought there would be: eggs, like the one in an egg McMuffin, beans, bacon and French toast one day, sausages and some kind of morning burritos the other. The breakfast room staff was always available to hand out trays if you wanted to take your meal to your room, which is encouraged because the room is on the small side, and to constantly refill empty food trays.

Tremblant village is sooooo beautiful! It was our first time there and considering that we live an 1 ½ hour from there, it’s a shame we haven’t been here before. We will definitely return and when we do, it will be at the Homewood Suites.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant

Address: 3035 ch de la Chapelle, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1E1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#7 Family Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite hotel is located in the heart of Alpine Village where you can explore local boutique shops and eateries. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen, living area, and separate bedroom. Our beautiful property also has a dry sauna and a exterior whirlpool for your relaxation. Our full hot breakfast is complimentary daily, also enjoy our reception dinner Monday through Thursday evenings. Come escape from it all at the Homewood Suites by Hilton Mont-Tremblant Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant Hotel Mont Tremblant
Homewood Mont Tremblant
Mont Tremblant Homewood Suites
Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Mont-Tremblant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.