We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfy hotel wth gud service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Kandahar

Save Saved
You added Le Kandahar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Kandahar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Cure Deslauriers, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1C9, Canada (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Mont Tremblant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Mont Tremblant
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice comfy hotel wth gud service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We get the hotel for our stay in 140 / night for a bed suite wth kitchennn living room . It was decent .. front desk staff was warm clean rooms . Over all for the price it was a very gud stay

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    66
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
59
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Dover, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We Stayed here July 21-23 and without a reservation, (walk-in) were given a 1 bedroom suite with bedroom upstairs on the 4th floor, kitchen, living room and 2nd bathroom on the 3rd floor.
Nice layout with a balcony overlooking the pool.
We even used the gas fireplace. That the kind of July we've had this year.
We only paid $179 per night which is good value.
Continental breakfast was excellent too.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

We arrived later than expected due to departure delays and were greeted by a lovely receptionist who gave us a quick introduction to the hotel. The room was clean and warm, although slightly smaller than expected and was cleaned every day along with fresh towels. The breakfast suited the whole family and was served from 6.30am which meant we could take advantage of the first track tickets we were given on arrival. The hotel is situated at the bottom of the pedestrian village, just across the road from the ski hire shop and cabriolet which takes you to the base of the mountain. Although we were there during half term week the resort did not seem overly busy and certainly by taking advantage of the first track tickets we skied the first few runs of the day with the slopes to ourselves (bliss- no snowboarders in sight!!). The range of runs suited us well as they catered for all our abilities and meant the children could ski down in front of us (as I tend to hold them up). We booked private lessons direct with the ski school in November, which was very easy and were not disappointed with the standard of teaching (huge thanks to Sylvain and Bob, they even got me skiing down a black!) Although there was no snow for the first week we were there, the slopes were 'beasted' every night. The resort did not use the snow machines (which I think may have been a cost cutting measure) but it was not a problem. When it finally did snow the slopes were fantastic. We could not fault the resort or the hotel, I know some reviews have said it was very noisy but we requested a quiet room at the time of booking and that was what we got, we met some lovely friendly people as well as visiting a beautiful country. Fingers crossed we will return next year.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

My husband and I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite for two nights mid-week (Wed + Thurs). Due to the mixed reviews on this site I wasn't sure how it would be, but it was great from the moment we arrived - the staff let us check in early (check in was supposed to be 4:39, but we arrived at Tremblant around 11 am and they let us check in then).

The hotel is a little older than some of the recent developments, however, it seemed to be well maintained. The room and bathroom were clean. The kitchen was fully stocked. The appliances were clean and functional. The gas fireplace was nice. And the bed was firm and comfortable. The TV was a little older but worked fine. We didn't have any problems with noise.

We found the staff friendly and helpful. They even let us check out late on Friday (at noon instead of 11am). The free breakfast was good enough to keep us fueled up for a morning on the slopes. It was continental + a few extras: hard boiled eggs, waffles, etc. And the location was excellent - right at the bottom of the pedestrian village, an right beside the cabriolet to bring you to the gondola.

The only negative I would say is that the outdoor hot tub is a little small - however, if you do not mind sharing the hot tub with a few other guests it is fine.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I travelled with a ski club from my university to Tremblant and we stayed in this hotel. I stayed in a one-bedroom suite with a fireplace. The room was very nice and clean and the kitchen well-appointed with a dishwasher. The fireplace was a great feature. However with four girls we went through towels very fast and when I wanted to shower there were not any left for me. I called down to the front desk and was informed that no towels could be sent to my room as the cleaning staff were on their lunch break for the next hour. She told me however that if i saw a cleaning cart in the hall I could just go take one. Not something one wants to do before getting ready for the day. The towels are also very tiny. Breakfast was ok but don't expect too much. Cold items and a toaster but not too bad of a selection to choose from. There were at least two Universities staying there that weekend and as you can expect there were quite a few rowdy people so I would hesitate at staying here again just because of that, especially if travelling with my family. I did not appreciate the knock on the door at 10am from a woman with a clipboard telling us that she was there to inspect our room and that checkout was at 11. I have done much travelling and have never been treated like that at a hotel. Also I did not appreciate being asked many questions at check-out about the state that we left our room in. It was assumed that my friend and I were just a couple of rowdy university students and we were not treated like valued customers. Would not stay here again.

  • Liked — The fireplace in the room
  • Disliked — Being treated like a delinquent rather than a valued customer
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Well, we stayed here and boy did the other reviews hit it on the spot about the noise. Not sure what made the room noisy (either the doors or walls) but, you can hear everythinpg in the hallways and next door. We had a room with a connecting door and we heard basic talking. Our room wasn't far from the elevator so we heard all the traffic. If you book this hotel, try to get one of the end rooms. Our room (421) was basic but quite large with a kitchenette w/o sink or microwave, but coffee maker and toaster. Hotel doesn't allow for skis or boards in room, so plan accordingly. We had to unload in the ski locker room area. The staff is rather friendly and helpful though. Breakfast was a little lackluster, but doable... pancakes, waffles, croisants; no warm stuff, but you can microwave or toast them...

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

Stayed at the Country Inn for 2 nights. Staff was very nice and helpful. Free breakfast (no hot food), parking is $10/day. Great location, in the heart of the pedestrian village. We were on the 4th (top) floor and our view of the village was amazing. It was great to find that we had a mini fridge in our room. The only negative thing is the room, a little outdated and dark even with all the lights turned on. Bathroom was a little small and outdated as well. Our room didn't have the balcony which would of been nice, it was one of the attic type rooms where the window sticks out.

Got a great deal from priceline, good value.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Kandahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Kandahar

Address: 160 Cure Deslauriers, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1C9, Canada (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Mont Tremblant)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Kandahar 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Le Kandahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Mont Tremblant Hotel Mont Tremblant
Country Inn And Suites Mont Tremblant
Country Inn Mont Tremblant
Mont Tremblant Country Inn
Le Kandahar Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Kandahar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.