We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but horrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Kandahar

Save Saved
You added Le Kandahar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Kandahar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Cure Deslauriers, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1C9, Canada (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Mont Tremblant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Mont Tremblant
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, but horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at le Kandahar for the Ironman. We arrived at the hotel at 11:30 am but our rooms were not available. We waited and checked every hour, they said would call us when our room was available. No one called us and we went again at 4 pm when they fibally gave us our room. We complained to the front desk that we've never had to check into a hotel at 4 pm. They didn't even apologize. We got a room and it was not impressive. I felt like I was staying in the attic. Next time I will pay the extra $100 and stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    66
    37
    13
    10
See reviews for
60
45
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Right at start of village in Mont Tremblant, you can walk or take the gondola outside your door. Older hotel has seen better days, however great for the price. Cleaning staff lacks as I had to clean the bathroom myself as no one showed up when we called to notify the front desk. As well the continental breakfast, which is included, could use some desperate help. They ran out of plates, we saw the girl washing them by hand as people were finishing their breakfast! and did not have much of a selection of anything else except waffles which you have to make yourself and took FOREVER to make for your family! The waffles only had fake syrop to put on them, We are in Maple Syrop Land for God's sake, shouldn't we use the real thing? I would recommend this hotel again except would come more mentally prepared this time and ask for certain requirements ahead of time.

Room Tip: Some rooms are actually for sale therefore are a little run down and old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. When arrived upgraded to suite - loads of space - had a pull out couch - but way too uncomfortable when pulled out! Breakfast was included and was very busy. I believe they could simplify if they changed the layout of the breakfast buffet - Just too cluttered poor traffic flow. Food very good! Terrific outdoor pool and hottub. Amazing location at base of village. Goldola ride and beach included.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique1197, Manager at Le Kandahar, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Veronika O,
It seems like you were able to make the most of your stay in Tremblant! We are truly pleased that you enjoyed the room upgrade and the complementary breakfast, and we appreciate your tips for improvement. Thank you for sharing this review of your experience at Le Kandahar. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the hotel the weekend of June 29-30th. Unfortunately, it rained but we had fun anyway. The room was very clean and air-conditioned and we were also able to open the windows; the queen-size bed was very comfortable. Amenities such as shampoo, hand cream, and conditioner are provided. Breakfast consisted of bagels, waffles, hard-boiled eggs, toast, cereal, yogurt, juices and coffee. Had the weather been better, we would have gone to the beach with the passes that are included at this hotel. We swam in the heated outdoor pool and went to the cinema located in the village. A shopping outlet is located about 15 minutes (by car) from the hotel. At night, we went to the casino (the free bus can pick you up and drop you off at the hotel) and we saw a great blues show (also free) in the village on Saturday night. Make sure you have the ice cream laced with maple syrup in the shop located near the bottom of the hill. It's the best we've ever had!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location is everything when you want ski in ski out on the hill! A short 30 second walk to the bottom of the cabriolet, which takes you to the gondola.

Nice quiet area, away from most night clubs.
Buddy found a deal back in November for 99$ a night with breakfast, parking and early tracks access, a steal. We stayed 2 nights, skiing Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
Safe underground parking. We were able to leave our car in the parking on our last day while we skied, nice bonus.
Check-in was a breeze.
The room was upgraded to a studio, which was a queen + sofa bed + a small kitchenette. We originally had booked a queen + sofa bed.
The place is outdated and tired, but who’s complaining at 99$.
It was clean, and the bed quality was decent in our room – comfy mattress.
The water pressure in the shower was non-existent – what the hell?
The breakfast selection was ample, and the quality of the food was fantastic.
The spa was dated and tiny. 2 jets worked, too small for the size of the hotel.
Internet was pricey.

I would not stay again. Lack of a decent hot tub facility is a turnoff for ski + hotel weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique1197, Manager at Le Kandahar, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear LaL7,
Thank you for this review. It sounds like you enjoyed your overall experience. I will share your comments regarding low water pressure and too few working jets in the hot tub with our management team so that we may remedy these issues and improve all of our guests’ experience.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My family spent 5 days and 4 nights in this hotel during March break. The first night we came in to our hotel suite, we right away noticed the floor was wet, just beside the dishwasher. We called front desk and informed them about it. It turns out that the dishwasher was leaking, and probably was for awhile coz the floor was very wet. We were told they will just have a maid come over to wash our dishes, while waiting for available unit to move us (we were not moved). But maid didn't show up until it was late in the afternoon. My dishes were all over the kitchen as i was cooking our food almost every meal....

Another problem was that the bathroom door doesn't lock...... And there was only 1 elevator working somedays during our stay. My kids had to climb up the stairs with their ski boots......

At the end of the day, i asked for some discount coz of all the inconvenience we had and we were only given a free parking.......worth $50

I will never come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service was very friendly, the location was great your literally footsteps from a gondolla. The atmosphere of the village is OK. I mean besides having a terrible nightlife the food was god awful. I guess they have you in sort of a choke-hold when your there since theres nothing for miles. The room however, was great. The kitchen didnt get used that much because there were no grocery stores! Theres a general store but has limited supplies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Kandahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Kandahar

Address: 160 Cure Deslauriers, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1C9, Canada (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Mont Tremblant)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Kandahar 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Le Kandahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Mont Tremblant Hotel Mont Tremblant
Country Inn And Suites Mont Tremblant
Country Inn Mont Tremblant
Mont Tremblant Country Inn
Le Kandahar Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Kandahar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.