We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and good room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Kandahar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Le Kandahar to your Saves list
Le Kandahar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Cure Deslauriers, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1C9, Canada (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Mont Tremblant)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Mont Tremblant
toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good service and good room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The service was very friendly, the location was great your literally footsteps from a gondolla. The atmosphere of the village is OK. I mean besides having a terrible nightlife the food was god awful. I guess they have you in sort of a choke-hold when your there since theres nothing for miles. The room however, was great. The kitchen didnt get used that much because there were no grocery stores! Theres a general store but has limited supplies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    73
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
66
48
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

M y wife and I just spent the weekend here with a group of people for A mini ski getaway. It is an average stay at best. While it is in a good location i tghe village this is where it ends. The beds are hard and worn, the carpet was worn, fireplace was not working due to insurance reasons? The worst thing was the smell of smoke every morning in our room.
2 other things really stick out - the first night when we went to use the shower there was no hot mwater and barley any water pressure. We called down to the front desk fo rsomeone to come take a look - it was an hour before someone showed up. My wife showered in a friends room and I took a cold shower as we had dinner reservations to keep. It turns out the hot water control was reversed on the faucet. The water pressure they say was fine, but it would take my wife an hour to wash her hair as it is dowm below her shoulders.
If you are a bunch of college kids loking for somewhere to crash I guess it is fine, but otherwise I wouold look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in Mont Tremblant but first view of reception is a little discouraging being somewhat dull and uninviting and the dining room is also rather uninviting with plastic-top tables squeezed close together. Breakfast is adequate with the option of making waffles but otherwise no hot food (apart from toast) but it is advertised as continental breakfast and the fresh fruit salad is good. We had a one-bedroom condo with cooking facilities and it was well decorated, supplied and cleaned- which was very welcome as the food in the resort was okay at best but very expensive. There were ski lockers and the underground parking was very useful. It was possible to ski practically all the way back to the hotel and the base station lift was practically on the doorstep. At the time we stayed there were a lot of groups of young people in the hotel and it was very noisy at night but I believe it was an American school holiday so might not be like that all the time! However, on the day we left, our daughter left her camera in the dining room and by the time we went back it had gone. The staff were unhelpful, to the say the least, in helping us look for it and we never did recover it which cast a bit of a shadow over what had otherwise been a pleasant stay. The staff were not interested in taking details of the camera at the time as they were busy, and it was difficult to get through direct to the hotel after we left and when we did they said they would phone back but never did.

Room Tip: Possibly on the top floor so you can't hear people charging around on the rooms above you like h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse ny
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Can't beat the location. Close walk to lifts. Good breakfast, pleasant staff, underground parking, ski lockers. Hot tub is way too small. Rooms a bit dated. No sound proofing between rooms. Overall, a good value- more like a holiday inn than a ski resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique1197, Manager at Le Kandahar, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear mccabe4447,

Thank you for your review! I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at Le Kandahar. Our hot tub is definitely a popular amenity and can get a little bit crowded during peak season. We hope that you will come and see us again soon!
Regards,
Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The location of Le Kandahar can not be beat. Two minute walk to the gondola to the base lodge. Also on the plus side is that the (included) breakfast is great for a free breakfast, and the front desk staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

On the downside, if you are a light sleeper steer clear. There is zero sound proofing between the floors and the sound of kids running up and down the halls sounds like elephants above your head, not to mention how loud it gets as people head out in their ski boots in the morning. Even with ear plugs in and pillows piled on top of my head I got woken up several times each night. Even my roommate who can sleep through anything was awaken as the first track folks headed out each morning

Also note on the Internet, there are two prices - one for standard use and then a slightly more expensive one for people that planned to stream. I did not notice any difference in the quality of the two, and once people returned from the slopes at 4pm streaming even in SD was impossible. Note that it was a holiday weekend so perhaps it was a capacity issue.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique1197, Manager at Le Kandahar, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sfael,
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I am thrilled to see that you enjoyed our convenient location and complementary breakfast, and I thank you for bringing the noise issue to our attention. I will share this with other managers and hopefully we can include better sound proofing in the upcoming renovations.
We look forward to your next stay at Le Kandahar,
Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Kandahar Hotel in Mont Tremblant on Feb 14th for a ski and night out and we were not impress. Rooms and facility are dated and need a major uplift to bring it to a four stars level. We were on the top floor and look at two other rooms and they were not better. However we have some positive elements to point out. Front desk and all other staff were very courteous and helpful to any needs or question we had. Full buffet style was well stocked and in good quality.
Location was also a plus with interior parking for only 12$.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms that were renovated lately. Fourth floor rooms that we visited were all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique1197, Manager at Le Kandahar, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Eloi_Duguay,

Thank you for the gift of feedback. Although you were disappointed with the room itself, I am happy to see that the service, breakfast and convenient parking met your expectations. Moreover, I am delighted to share that the Kandahar hotel will be updated in the coming year. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over the weekend for 3 nights, in a 1 bedroom suite (accommodates 4 people) It was a bit dated, but the location can't be beat! Right in the middle of the village, close to everything - from the lifts to restaurants and bars. The hotel staff were very friendly. My only complaint would be the lack of free internet - other hotels in the village offer it and it would be nice to have it! Other than that, I would not hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique1197, Manager at Le Kandahar, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear vmc13,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Kandahar! We are definitely located in a prime location to take advantage of all that Tremblant has to offer. The Kandahar will be given a refreshing new look in the year to come, so be sure to check us out during your next ski trip!

Best regards,
Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Kandahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Kandahar

Address: 160 Cure Deslauriers, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 1C9, Canada (Formerly Country Inn & Suites Mont Tremblant)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Mont Tremblant
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mont Tremblant
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Mont Tremblant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Le Kandahar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Kandahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Mont Tremblant Hotel Mont Tremblant
Country Inn And Suites Mont Tremblant
Country Inn Mont Tremblant
Mont Tremblant Country Inn
Le Kandahar Mont Tremblant, Quebec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Kandahar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.