We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance with okay food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yamada - CLOSED

Yamada
100 Chemin Kandahar, Mont Tremblant, Quebec, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Part of Le Westin, Mont Tremblant
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance with okay food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Sadly when we went, there was hardly anyone dining here. The restaurant is nicely decorated but the food was just okay. I would not come back.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    11
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WORST restaurant experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I went to Yamada for my nice dinner with my friends for my bachelor party. We're a tame group... not your typical hollywood types. We wanted a good meal, understanding that it can be pricey.

This place is INSANELY expensive. The service was slower than a mule racing a thoroughbred. The time between being seated, making our drink orders and receiving them was 35 minutes. Food wasn't served for an hour and ten minutes and they weren't busy. I have had sushi in different parts of the world, and at a luxurious ski destination, you would expect some level of excellence. It was poor. The food was awful.

I highly sugget going anywhere else if you expect some form of quality and service for your hard earned money.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Food was very good, well presented and service was also sharp; pricey but most restaurants in Tremblant are pricey...

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced for what it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Menu not same as announced on website.
Soup cold
Salad, way too much dressing.
Ordered filet mignon rare but arrived medium well.
Duck in maple syrup was very tasteful but again warm and not hot.

Maybe the reason for this poor experience was due to the fact that it was a Monday!

Not recommended.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate in Yamada on Christmas eve and the food and service was outstanding. We revisited Yamada two more times during the festive period. The Sushi is delicious but it also has a more traditional menu that we ate from and again the choice and quality was there. Highly recommended and reasonably priced.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamada also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.