We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripoff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of C'est la Vie

C'est la Vie
708, Rue De Saint-Jovite, Mont Tremblant, Quebec J8E 3J8, Canada
+1 (819) 681-0779
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Grill, Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
New Westminster, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ripoff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We went there looking at Trip Advisor first, but it was not has we read out. I mean, they let you cook your steak, ok, I get it, pretty cool, but when you order a tenderloin, they bring it on a hot stone and you cannot start eating it until your cook is ready (I eat my steak medium rare)

When you get to the end of the meal the steak is pretty much overcooked, I did not like this experience at all, service was way too slow also. Wine list is not big but expensive. Will not go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabien G, Owner at C'est la Vie, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear sir or madam... Or young man maybe?;-)

It is true that our concept of cooking on stone is particular.
This is why when one of our guests chosen a grill-stone for the first time, we well take time to explain to him(her) how to use it to maximize his(her) experience.
We how explain him(her) to use the wide edges of the wooden board in which is put down the hot stone by putting there the piece of meat chosen to cut it in smaller pieces than he can cook to his taste and at his pace.
And if our host is not comfortable with the concept, we never refuse to cook his(her) meat traditionally.
You qualify your experience of ripoff … As well blame a restaurant with hamburger for serving some grounded meat …
You blame us for our thin selection of wine and their high prices …
The wines list have 45 wines, all of excellent quality.
The first price is $26.00 the bottle and the average vacillates between 35.00 and $40.00. More 6 choices of wines proposed in the glass.
You also blame us the slowness of the service …
Allow I to bring to your attention a small detail, whom I am on, will enlighten you
In a traditional restaurant, a waiter can take from 2 to 4 plates at the same time.
Our grill-stones weigh 5 kilos (11lbs). It means a round trip by guest.
Then it is possible, if the restaurant quickly filled, for example, that the service is slightly and by moment, a little slowed down.
Do you understand?
Now, let me propose something to you.
Although you visited us in February and you stayed a whole month before expressing your disappointment while keeping your anger intact all this time.
Although you are a quite new contributor of this week with to your credit 4 contributions throughout Canada … Quite posted the same day … 3 other short contributions of a single sentence.
I suggest paying off you in double
Made we simply reach a proof of your passage in our establishment or communicate us some details like how much were you, what you and the persons (s) which(who) accompanied you (have) ate and which day (one Thursday one Saturday?), in which place you were sat (the room is quite small). With this information, we are capable of finding your invoice very easily.
But I doubt that you do it.
Even if you were taken by some regrets, please don’t delete your critic, it is the perfect example of the kind of dishonesty used to calm I do not know which kind of resentment. Always with covered face.
My name is Fabien Gilissen
And you?

Cher monsieur ou madame...Ou jeune homme peut-être? ;-)
Il est vrai que notre concept de cuisson sur pierre est particulier.
C’est pour cette raison que lorsque l’un de nos invités choisi une pierrade pour la première fois, nous prenons bien le temps de lui expliquer comment l’utiliser afin de maximiser son expérience.
Nous lui expliquons comment utiliser les larges rebords de la planche de bois dans laquelle est déposée la pierre en y posant la pièce de viande choisie afin de la découper en plus petits morceaux qu’il peut faire cuire à son gout et… à son rythme.
Et si il se trouvait que l’un de nos hôte ne soit pas confortable avec le concept, nous ne refusons jamais de cuire sa viande traditionnellement.
Vous qualifiez votre expérience d’arnaque… Aussi bien reprocher à un restaurant à hamburger de servir de la viande hachée…
Vous nous reprochez notre maigre sélection de vin et leurs prix élevé…
La carte est composée 45 vins, tous d’excellente qualité.
Le prix de départ est de 26.00$ la bouteille et la moyenne vacille entre 35.00 et 40.00$. Sans parler des 6 choix de vins proposé au verre.
Vous nous reprochez aussi la lenteur du servir…
Permettez moi de porter à votre attention un petit détail, qui je suis sur, vous éclairera
Dans un restaurant traditionnel, un serveur peut emporter de 2 à 4 assiettes en même temps.
Nos pierrades pèsent 5 kilos (11lbs). Cela signifie un aller-retour par invité.
Alors il se peut, si le restaurant s’est rempli rapidement par exemple, que le service soit légèrement et par moment, un peu ralenti.
Comprenez-vous?
Maintenant, laissez-moi vous proposer quelque chose.
Bien que vous nous ayez visité en février et que vous soyez resté tout un mois avant d’exprimer votre désappointement tout en gardant votre colère intact tout ce temps.
Bien que vous soyez un tout nouveau contributeur de cette semaine avec à votre actif déjà 4 contributions d’un bout à l’autre du Canada…Toutes postées le même jour…Les 3 autres contributions courtes d’une seule phrase.
Je vous propose néanmoins de vous rembourser en double.
Faites nous simplement parvenir une preuve de votre passage dans notre établissement ou communiquez nous quelques détails comme combien étiez vous, ce que vous et la(les) personne(s) qui vous accompagnait(aient) avez mangé et quel jour (un jeudi…un samedi?), à quel endroit étiez vous assis (la salle est toute petite). Avec ces informations, nous sommes en mesure de retrouver votre facture très facilement.
Mais je doute que vous le fassiez.
Si vous étiez pris de quelques regrets, surtout ne supprimez pas votre critique, elle est l’exemple parfait du genre de malhonnêteté utilisée pour assouvir je ne sais qu’elle vengeance ou frustration et ce, toujours à visage couvert.
Je m’appelle Fabien Gilissen
Et vous?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    22
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had a wonderful meal here. The cheese fondue appetizer was a real hit as was the "table d'hote" with 3 courses. One of their specialties is "pierrades", raw food brought to your table on hot volcanic rocks. I had a trio of kangaroo, crocodile and ostrich. Lots of fun and very good, but I think the food prepared by the restaurant was better both in taste and value.

The service was impecable and the environment, an old house, is charming.

They have a children's menu and resonably priced bottles of wine. The meal was rather expensive but a very nice splurge! We would definately eat here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Marvelous discovery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Been going to Mont Tremblant for a long time now. St. Jovite's restaurants have been opening and closing fast but this was an unexpected discovery and a great culinary experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“delicious dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

dined here our first night in Mont-Tremblant. 'Hot rock' tuna with three dipping sauces and pasta with mushroom sauce were the entrees. both were great.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hot stone cooking was really unusual and very tasty. I had the kangaroo, and it was extremely tender.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C'est la Vie also viewed

Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
Mont Tremblant, Quebec
 

Been to C'est la Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage C'est la Vie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.