We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Manoir Hovey Is Heavenly"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Manoir Hovey to your Saves list
Manoir Hovey
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   575 chemin Hovey | C.P. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3rd night free !
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Manoir Hovey Is Heavenly"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is our fifth trip to Manoir Hovey and, God Willing, we hope to go back again and again. The Hotel is immaculate and the staff impeccably well trained. Because it is a relatively small hotel the staff quickly gets to know you, greets you by name, and leans your preferences. Immediately, you are treated like one of their family. It is an amazing experience both from a physical location (spectacular gardens, setting above a magnificent lake) and from a service (initial greeting dining room, tap room, poolside, etc.) point of view. It is set right in the heart of the gorgeous Eastern Townships in Quebec, affording a tour through the beautiful countryside with appealing towns/villages nearby. We enjoy cycling, kayaking, fishing, swimming in their beautiful pool or down at the crystal clear lake, or lounging with a book in the well maintained gardens. And oh, how we look forward to our evenings! The unique menu offering and impeccable service here makes for a sublime dining experience. Our compliments to the Executive Chef and his/her Team, and of course, to Patrick Grieve, Maitre d'Hotel and Sommelier for three extraordinary evenings. If you are looking for a romantic get-away, close to Montreal or Boston, look no further than the Manoir Hovey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    74
    38
    13
    2
See reviews for
58
355
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have been many times to Hovey Manor, and it always pleases. It is quiet and restful, despite a very busy lunch and function trade. If you go, it's probably best to stay for at least a couple of days to enjoy the swimming in the warm waters of its lake (swimming off dock). The pool tends to be taken up by families. The restaurant is very good indeed, though pay close attention to the dinner specials since the list of entrees is limited. The wine list is well selected but very pricey, and it would be a relief to have some cheaper and reliable house wines. Service is outstanding.

Our room was very well designed and beautifully decorated. We were in trogued by what one could call a designer tub -- beautiful to look at, but figuring how to get in or out into this beautifulo object was beyond us. We put it down as a design feature and used the equally beautiful but more practical shower.

Room Tip: The main building can be a bit busy and noisy, so try for one of the more distant rooms or suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at the Manoir Hovey for two exquisite nights with a Biking Inn to Inn package. The staff was welcoming and very accommodating. The meals that were included in the package were innovative, delicious and inspiring. Steve, the sommelier, suggested perfect (and unexpected) wine pairings that were reasonably priced on the very extensive wine list.The biking was wonderful in the area and the box lunches provided in a beautiful souvenir cooler were excellent. The room (#2) was beautiful, comfortable and wonderfully situated. We will definitely return... a bientot!

Room Tip: #1 was near the lawn, pool, dock and all the water sports. It has a lovely private patio with lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Me and my girlfriend had an amazing time at Manoir Hovey .The food is 5 star.very delicious.All activities are for free.Very relaxing and romantic.I will definitely go again.I would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just got back from the Manoir Hovey after an extended long weekend stay. This is a great hotel, as one would expect given that it is part of the Relais & Chateaux chain. The location is very nice, the grounds are great and the hotel itself is charming in a rustic sort of way. The service is superb. But the best part may be the food. We had dinner there last night and it was an excellent meal. The menu was challenging and the wine list was extensive with a number of wines imported directly and not otherwise easily available. The sommelier was very good.

Our room (#20) was very nice but a tad noisy in the middle of the day as it is close to the patio of the downstairs bar. One small glitch - the water container in the in room coffee maker badly needs to be cleaned. The coffee maker - a very nice one - does not seem to be used very often and the water needs to be changed regularly ...

Otherwise a great hotel experience. I

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hovey Manor with my husband, our teenage children and my parents for a family celebration. The staff were very accommodating and helpful with our reservation.
We had one standard room, one deluxe room and one superior room. 2 of the rooms had large balconies overlooking the lake. While one room had very dated decor, the other 2 were new and fresh looking, and all the bathrooms were updated and clean.
We had dinner and breakfast on site. Great food, good service and a very extensive wine list.
This is a lovely, secluded spot, with a stunning garden, nice pool and a small beach on the lake, but I would not recommend it for younger children as it is very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Loved the place and the location. Service is top notch as well as food but be prepared to spend a lot if you want to enjoy a limitless wine list.
We had to change room a few times as we didn't like the first one and the ac unit was very noisy in the second one. Staff was very helpful and even offered us a suite.
Aside from this we truly relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful lake.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.P. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manoir Hovey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Quebec, Canada
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir Hovey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.