We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Relaischateaux we expected more.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manoir Hovey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Manoir Hovey to your Saves list
Manoir Hovey
575 chemin Hovey | C.P. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Walpole, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“For a Relaischateaux we expected more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

After staying at the Relais St. Antoine in Quebec city and having had an amazing stay there by the way, we had high hopes for manor hovey. Disappointed. Upon arrival we were ignored by the front desk staff for several minutes. When they finally acknowledged us they did show us to a lovely room. The parking is on a road, while private did have traffic. The lake was lovely but the stairs down to it were a bit shaky. Well worth it though as we had a lovely canoe paddle.
Dinner was a mixed bag. The food, excellent and we highly recommend. The staff, while very pleasant all seemed to have just started there that week. The sommelier was very knowledgable and helpful. The wine, a tad on the expensive side.
Bottom line. If it were not a relais perhaps we would not be so disappointed, but since it is, north hatley is lovely with many other choices of places to stay.
Again, in Quebec city though St. Antoines! Absolutely fantastic.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    69
    32
    13
    2
See reviews for
55
319
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was to be a surprise birthday weekend, and it didn't disappoint!
However there were a few things for future visitors to note.
This is a very refined property, you don't really go here for a wild party
or a girls weekend away. The average age of the patrons is in the baby boomer
category. Not that I have a problem with that, but it's just best to know before
you go! Our first night we were in room 45, all seemed well, then we went
down to dinner (dinner and breakfast we're included in the price) the food was
mainly local, and quite good, but not necessarily sufficient in the portion department.
The service was spectacular, but to get through the service it took over 3 hours...that
might be something to work on, because it's a bit much. Certain entree's and certain dessert
dishes, had an "add-on" cost... When you charge that kind of price for dinner, my advice
would be that you remove the $10 add on here, and 7$ add on there... It doesn't show well.
Again, service was great, food was good, and the bread... WOW the bread was awesome!!
We retired for the night to our room, everything is clean, things are relatively well spaced out given that this manor was built over a 100 years ago. But one thing that may still be from the original construction, was the BED!!! Both of us were fighting to avoid falling into the middle of the bed because the bed was caving in... Now the reason I still have five stars is because it's in-evitable that problems arise when you operate any business in the service industry, the question is HOW DO YOU REACT TO the problem!! We mentionned this issue after breakfast the next morning, and within minutes, actually before we even got back up to the room, the manager and two maintenance staff were in our room!! And within minutes of that, we were moved to another room, #30 which was a major upgrade to our previous room! Now that's the way you get repeat business!
The Breakfast was buffet, and order one dish. It's a very good meal, and walk-ins can come and have breakfast for $25, which is actually quite good, given the location, and the views on the beautiful lake!
The sit for this hotel is impressive, and you should go if you just want to un-wind. The manor has wi-fi which is fast and dependable. There is a nice library with the original fire place, one thing I would suggest is finding a place to put a spa. I am more then sure that there would be alot of business to be had if you did manicure's pedicure's and massages. I know you can order some of these things, but if you offered them on site, you could benefit from the impulse of it all.

Thank you again to the staff, well done, and we'll see you again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The accommodations and food are not worth over $500 per night. Stayed in a standard room which was less than adequate. The dinners and service were not up to very high standards. The wine list was terrible with over 90% of the wines well over $100 per bottle. Chose quaffing wines by the glass which I rarely do. The breakfasts were by far the best meals offered. We left there after a two night stay feeling cheated with a bill of over $1100.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innviting, Owner at Manoir Hovey, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are sincerely sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the cost of your stay with us in early October. This is a little perplexing since you state it was your second visit so you were apparently very satisfied after your first. Our rates have changed very little over the past few years in spite of considerable renovations and upgrades.
You stayed with us in a standard room during peak foliage time when high season rates are in effect. Your rate was $390 per day for the 2 of you INCLUDING your room, fine dinners (amuse bouche, starter, main course, pre dessert, dessert and coffee), full country breakfasts (which you apparently enjoyed), gratuities on these meals and free use of the inn's recreational facilities. After mid-October, off season rates go into effect and this same package rate for the standard room category is now $300.
As proud members of Relais & Chateaux, I can only say that our rates are among the lowest in the world among this prestigious grouping of luxury, small hotels. In many 5 star properties, the rate for the room alone well exceeds the Hovey Manor meals included rate.
With regard to our wine list with over 700 references, it is true many selections of our privately imported wine are over $100. but there is also a good choice of wines starting from the low $30's. This price point is rarely found in top end restaurants in Quebec.
Thank you for sharing your concerns but I do feel I needed to offer a little clarification.
Sincerely,
Steve Stafford
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our October visit to manoir Hovey couldn't have been better . We chose a little cottage that had its own dock equipped with a canoe. The hotel is situated on a beautiful piece of lakefront property and our daily canoe trips were a chance to take in the exquisite beauty of the lake and the spectacular colours of fall. Our room had its own fireplace and was a classic eastern Canada cottage design, warm and cozy . The main lodge had the same inviting design and with the roaring fire in the library it was easy to sink into the chair and read . The restaurant meals were an adventure in eating . We experienced some of the best meals we have ever had, including meals had on our travels in both France and Italy . This hotel and the staff deserve nothing short of a 5 star rating. Being at Manoir Hovey is magic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A man once said, "Good etiquette means behaving yourself better than is absolutely essential." That can be said of all the staff at Manior Hovey, and when tested, they are flawless. My husband and I arrived at Manior Hovey in early October, long after midnight, as a result of flight delays that started in Colorado and finally ended at the doorstep of the Manior and Mr. Florian Gavinaitis, in charge of the evening reception desk.We babbled, as one often does after a rather harrowing experience, and his concern was equal to our frustration and exhaustion. He checked us in quickly, personally carried our bags to our room, and thereafter, sent up hot tea, warm scones and a cheese tray, all presented by an immaculately attired young lady in both perfect dress and manner. It was 2:00 AM! Satiated, we slept away the night and spent the following 3 days thoroughly enjoying Manior Hovey and its surroundings. Mr. Gavinaitis set the tone for our stay and I congratulate him for his patience and immediate grasp of our situation.I am less concerned on websites about the worn-end of a comfy parlor chair than I am about the impeccable service the staff provides each client. Beyond the front desk at Manior Hovey, the dining staff executes their responsibilities, impeccably. We inquired to a young server the morning of our departure as to how much training the staff received, and aside from the expected 'we are well-trained', she also made mention of the fact that she learned much of her social behavior at the hands of her mother and that kindness began in her home. How refreshing. I might also make mention of the fact that at no time did I ever see my room being cleaned, but rather, as if by magic, our room was always restored to perfect order upon returning each morning after breakfast. We never tripped over hallway vacuums or edged our way about rolling carts of clean/soiled linens. I have no idea how they master doing that, but its impressive. All the good elements mentioned on websites regarding excellent food and facilities I concur with and applaud. There is no evidence at Manior Hovey that they are trying to squeeze out every tourist dollar within you, but rather, you are a welcomed traveler and they take great pleasure in providing you personal comfort to an impressive degree. We had a fabulous stay!

Room Tip: I was in a quite high bed that required a small step-stool of no concern to me. However, someone mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent a beautiful autumn weekend at Manoir Hovey. We were staying in the Masssawipi suite. The manor is a huge victorian white mansion. As we come in, the manager shows us around and gives us an overview of the history. We can feel the soul of this sumptuous manor. The suite has a huge balcony overlooking the magnificent lake, the lovely garden and the heated pool.The colours of fall are surrounding the moutains. wow... the suite also has a fireplace that starts just with the push of a button. The spacious bathroom has a hot tub, separate steam shower and the cleanliness is perfect. We walked for one hour on the grounds. They have chalets that we can rent ! Beautiful!! We had the ''menu degustation'' where a different glass of wine accompanied each and every meal of the 7 meal course. Every single course was a delight! From seafood to quail to foie gras without omitting local cheese .... mmm! I have to mention the professionalism and courtesy of each and every staff member. The cook has been working there for over 30 years and we can feel a sense of belonging from the staff. We also had a duo massage that was heavenly. Again, the professionalism was impeccable. We walked to Knowlton, it only took 20 minutes. Nice! We will definitely go again for another very special occasion. Thank you to every staff member for making this weekend so precious.

Room Tip: It is worth to pay a little more for a magnificent suite with view on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We visited Manoir Hovey in October when the leaves were changing colour. We stayed on one of the suites on the cliff overlooking the hotel. The suite included a fireplace, outdoor hot tub and a whirlpool tub and separate steam shower. The unit even had it's own outdoor swimming pool. As usual, the food at Manoir Hovey is exceptional as is the service. The staff even drove us back to our unit each evening in a golf cart. The only down side was that Edna no longer played the piano during dinner. I would highly recommend this resort for a get-a-way.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the private lodges on the cliff overlooking the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manoir Hovey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Hovey

Address: 575 chemin Hovey | C.P. 60, North Hatley, Quebec J0B 2C0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > North Hatley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Hatley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only 75 minutes from Montreal, Manoir Hovey is a 5 star Relais & Chateaux property on the shores of Lake Massawippi just outside of North Hatley, one of Quebec's most picturesque villages. Manoir Hovey is truly one of Canada’s most charming and romantic inns. We offer thirty-seven beautifully appointed bedrooms and suites, year-round activities, and host conferences, weddings and special events. Our award-winning four diamond restaurant, Le Hatley, showcases fine regional cuisine complemented by an extensive wine list. Overlooking the lake and surrounded by English gardens, the dining room has a tranquil setting with breathtaking views. An unforgettable experience to enjoy with your partner or your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Manoir Hovey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Hovey North Hatley, Quebec, Canada
Manoir Hovey Hotel North Hatley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manoir Hovey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.