We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fish and Chips we've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilly's

Gilly's
Snug Harbour, Nobel, Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
705 342 5552
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Nobel
Restaurant details
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
“Best Fish and Chips we've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family frequents Gilly's every summer by boart from our cottage at Pointe au Baril. The food is consistently great so it's worth the 45 minute boat ride and all the gas we use to get there and back. We've tried most of the items on the menu at one time or another and been very satisfied with almost all of them. The battered whitefish is our favorite meal. We've had fish and chips from some of the most recommended places in the UK, Australia and the US but Gilly's is best we've ever had. The batter is unique and the texture of the fish is less flakey and more moist than cod or haddock. The slaw is course cut with a light, distinctive, mayo free dressing and the fries are fresh cut, not frozen. It's worth going out of your way for and, while you're there, ask about their smoked fish. It's always available in the restaurant but is often sold downstairs in small grocery store as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    8
    6
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bradfordwoods, PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A must if you are in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fresh local fish cooked a variety of ways! If you like fish, find Gilly's. We were staying in Parry Sound and drove the 25 minutes but it is definitely worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“A Georgian Bay Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Every year we spend time with friends up on Georgian Bay. Gilly's is a delightful restaurant run by the family who also run the marina, docks, and local store. It is located in Snug Harbour a most attractive sheltered bay serving cottagers and vacationers. Being a waterfront cottagers' restaurant it is of course casual and relaxed; but it has clearly had considerable time, energy, love and money spent to make it as attractive as it is today. A group of us had dinner there this week. Service was friendly and excellent. The food was similarly very good. Grilled shrimps and fried calamari for the table to start. Entrees of pickerel, perch and whitefish with great home made french fries. Prices are reasonable. Great views across the water. All in all a very nice dining experience when up at the cottage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Amazing food. Well worth the drive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Had a fantastic lunch. All 3 of us agreed it was the best fish we have ever had (and we eat allot of fish). Even the after meal coffee was superb. Beautiful scenic views as you eat. Would highly recommend it

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mifflintown, pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wouldn't be a trip "up north" without going to Gilly's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is our 11th year going to Gilly's. It is about a 15 minute boatride from our cottage. My first trip there in 2003 was to get gas, and the owner was cleaning fish in the basement of the restaraunt. I figured that was a good sign!
I have always ordered the fish and chips. Even though it is not on the menu, for a couple of bucks more you get 50% more fish! Never dissappointed. Others we take are always very pleased with their meals and experience.
Get there before 5:00PM for dinner, otherwise packed. Often we do a late lunch. I am just so glad this place exists! A huge asset to the area!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilly's also viewed

Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
Parry Sound, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Gilly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.