We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Sainte-Anne

Canyon Sainte-Anne
Rd 138 E | 206, Beaupre, Quebec G0A 1E0, Canada
+1 418-827-4057
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Beaupre
Type: Canyons
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: During a trip to Quebec City, an amazing day out at the Canyon Sainte-Anne's gorge with its imposing waterfall and 3 suspension bridges is a must-do family attraction. Get into a spectacular and vertiginous canyon. Listen to the roaring of the majestic Sainte-Anne falls (74m high) between its narrow 1.2-Billion-year-old rocky cliffs. Vibrate while walking across our 3 suspension bridge. One is 60m (243') high over the gorge!Discover Giant potholes and cascades in the Mini-Canyon, along with the challenging Stone Stories Treasure Hunt with all family members. Be thrilled by our 3 vias ferratas and our 2 giant zip lines.Canyon Ste-Anne is well located, only 30 minutes from Quebec City, towards the Montmorency falls, and only 5 minutes from the Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupre Shrine and the Mont Sainte-Anne ski resort. The entrance is situated directly on Route 138 East, towards Charlevoix, the Le Massif ski resort, and the whale watching cruise area.
Allen, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is an easy (barring the detours) 45 min. drive from QC, and the falls were conveniently located right off the highway. It has ample parking and a welcoming visitor center where you purchase your ticket. At first you are greeted with some cute sculptures of very large local wildlife which is fun for the children.

The falls are approached on three levels. It is indeed spectacular on each. However, we found that the highest viewpoints were the best. Down on the lowest level was indeed beautiful but didn't compare to what we had seen going down. I would say that wouldn't be a big deal other than it does take some effort (we are pretty fit boomers) to get down there as there are a LOT of steps going down (and of course going back up). They were not difficult, just numerous. There are signs warning you of this. Therefore, if you have any condition that would forbid such an endeavor then you would want to pass on that part of the falls. Even if you are capable and would find the steps simply a chore, I wouldn't bother simply because the views are not that spectacular from below.

We spent several hours there and it was well worth the trip, money, and time. Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    37
    7
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
165 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Don't miss this if you love waterfalls, views or nature - easy hike around the entire trail and several suspension bridges that cross over the rushing river and falls (lower stairs were closed) and the views and lookout points were amazing - great photography. There were only a few people there the day we visited which made it even more special. Nice picnic spots available outside and inside the park.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So glad we took in this side trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spent most of the day taking in the Sainte Anne de Beaupre shrine, just outside of Quebec City, and we did this attraction as an after thought. It was such an uplifting trip. The trail takes you through 3 different levels of the falls. The further you go, the louder the rumble of the falls. It was beautiful inspite of the cloudy day that we had. There is a well marked, safe trail to follow, with lots of overlooks to take lots of pictures and movies. No elevators and few steep walking areas.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmineruby
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A nice attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We went here rather than Montmorency Falls based on reviews and we were not disappointed. Unlike the Montmorency Falls, you cannot see these falls from the road--you have to do a short hike to the falls. The hike is on a well laid out walk way and is not difficult. The scenery is beautiful and the paths are set up to give you a variety of views of the falls and in some viewing areas, the water is so loud that you can barely carry on a conversation. There is a suspension bridge--it offered a great view of the falls and the area. I, however am slightly afraid of heights and bridges that easily move so I waited until everyone was off the bridge (including the man jumping on it and trying to get it to swing) and then crossed...an advantage of visiting in the low season. While there I also saw an elderly group getting a tour of the falls on an airport-type golf cart--it can't cross the large suspension bridge but it did cross other bridges to offer multiple views on the falls.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Up close views of beautiful falls, nice to walk around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We went here after visiting Les Sept Chutes waterfalls (about a 25 minute drive from the canyon). We enjoyed both but of the two, Canyon Ste-Anne was our favorite. Compared to Les Sept Chutes, where you do a lot of hiking to get good views of the falls, at Ste-Anne, after a 5 minute walk, you are right at these gorgeous falls and then you walk along this path around the falls and stop at different scenic overlooks. There were great views and we both enjoyed staring at the falls as we crossed the suspension bridge. We only had a hour and were able to get through everything but had to move a little faster than we would have liked. I would recommend an hour and a half to 2 hours. Although if you want to bring a picnic lunch or do the zipline, you might stay even longer. The walk was not difficult although if you choose to take the path down the almost 200 steps to the second suspension bridge and overlook, the climb back up is a little tiring. I thought it was worth it because going across a swaying suspension bridge that is right over rushing rapids while a little scary was also very cool. My husband, less of a "thrill seeker" than myself, was not as enthusiastic and did not feel it was worth the long climb back up on a hot sunny day. We both really enjoyed this experience and would definitely recommend it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Sainte-Anne also viewed

 

Been to Canyon Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Sainte-Anne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Canyon Sainte-Anne to your Saves list