We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great motel to spend the night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Bateman Ave., Edmundston, New Brunswick E3V 3L1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay More, Save More!
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Edmundston
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“What a great motel to spend the night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel was clean and very comfortable. It is pet friendly which is a bonus. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast was good and was included with the price of the room. If I am ever this way again I will surely stop here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCN240, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments, This Hotel is Pet Friendly and we Welcome all guest traveling with their pets to stay with us and your pets will stay for free with no room restriction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    30
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
44
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coldwater, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was packed, a line-up at front desk but they were fast & efficient. We arrived late & left fairly early so didn't see much more than the lobby. We had a room on the lower level which allowed us to park in front of our door. Our room was clean & tidy! The pool area was very busy, we used the hot tub only. We stayed on a Friday night in July so a lot of travelers in the area. Fast shuttle service to/from the local slots.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCN240, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed with my wife and mother in law in a two queen sized bed room for $149. This is a good looking hotel right beside the highway but it has gone downhill since our last stay. The room was well furnished but not too clean. A chair seat was heavily stained and wafted a cloud of dust when the cushion was struck. A large chip in the sink had been painted over with paint instead of a proper porcellain repair. Body hair was in the bed when the sheet was pulled back. Towels were small and thin due to excessive wear. Worst of all, it was a hot night but the air conditioner situated immediately beside the bed was too noisy, clattering loudly with loose parts, such that we had to sleep without having it on. When we reported it to the counter person in the morning, he said he would make note of it which he did in a book. No real concern was expressed and certainly no apology offered.
On the positive side, I found the breakfast quite good, waffles, boiled eggs, cerals, fruit, breads, all well presented.
We will definitely avoid returning. Given the standards, this hotel is well overpriced and reflects poorly on otherise good standards at Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms have patio doors opening directly to your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCN240, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Due to some guest comments this Hotel as major Renovations plans for the Month of October 2013, Please check us out in November 2013. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn on our way to Nova Scotia. We originally looked at the Best Western, but it was full, and we did not make a reservation. If you are travelling down east and you are stopping half way, make reservations, hotels book up quick, as we learned. Because they were almost full, they could charge whatever they wanted for a room, and someone would pay it. I think with taxes we paid about $160.00, which in my mind, is way too much for what you get. The location is good, as it is immediately off the highway and is easy to find. The rooms are OK, you get 2 beds that are quite comfortable, and there is not much noise, if you are a light sleeper. The breakfast in the morning is adequate if you are not looking for a full buffet.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground level with the patio door. It makes unloading and loading of the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCN240, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Sorry if you find your stay expensive, the prices for our rooms are set as per the Market prices for this Region and are comparable to other Hotels for the City of Edmundston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on our way from Ontario to Halifax. Location was great but everything else was just OK. Service was poor as it took 1/2 hour to check in 4 guests. When I asked for a good place to take my family for dinner all I received was a blank stare and no directions.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCN240, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for letting us know, is it possible to get the date of the evening you check-inn? I would like to review with the staff working that day. 1-888-739-8361 Again, Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

For the money it was not worth it. Staff in the am were snotty and lazy. Night staff was great. Room was ok but not worth the hassle we had for the so called breakfast fiasco in the am. It was so disgusting. They were running out of food the room smelt like garbage because some brainiac thought putting an open garbage under a cramped table holding the coffee and tea was a good idea. I really was nauseated. The staff then proceeded to stand outside across from the front door and smoke while staring at clients. Really a very poor showing considering we stayed at another hotel the next evening in the same chain for less money and a much higher standard for the hotel and staff . Would not recommend unless you need a really desperate place to stay.

Room Tip: just don't waste your money unless you are desperate ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCN240, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for letting us know, I had a new breakfast attandant that was working those day's and the Hotel was running full, I will review with my morning staff to make sure this doesn't happen again.
Note: Our Breakfast room will be in renovation in October 2013 & i hope this solve the issues of overcrowding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel a few times before, the last time being two years ago. The hotel has really gone downhill since then! I booked the room online and at no point did it mention that the room was a smoking room. We got there, myself, my husband, my two daughters and our neice. None of us smoke. The room was DISGUSTING! Everything REEKED like cigarettes, even the bath towels. All the rooms around us were also smoking rooms and smoke drifted into our room all night! We complained at check in and at check out and got not even an apology! If it had mentioned that it was a smoking room online, I would have booked elsewhere! I couldn't wait to get out if that room. To make matters worse, we went down to the "breakfast" only to discover that all the fruit was rotten! So, if you are a smoker and enjoy rotten food, this is the place for you! We will not be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerCN240, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Sorry, The Hotel was running at 100% and all the Non-Smoking rooms had already been reserved by other Guest. In situation like these i would recommend making your reservations for a non-smoking room well in advance to ensure you not disapointed having to stay in a smoking room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 5 Bateman Ave., Edmundston, New Brunswick E3V 3L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Edmundston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Edmundston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Comfort Inn® hotel is close to many of Edmundston's points of interest, including the University of Moncton, Edmundston campus, home to the Madawaska Museum and Galerie Colline. Minutes away you'll find attractions including Edmundston Golf Club, New Brunswick Botanical Garden and Arena Saint Basile.The city is famous for the La Foire Brayonne festival and the Edmundston Jazz and Blues Festival. There are many outdoor recreational opportunities nearby, including the Petit Témis Interprovincial Linear Park for cyclists and the Mount Farlagne ski hill.Guest rooms include coffee makers, ironing equipment, cable television and hair dryers. Some rooms feature microwaves and refrigerators. Non-smoking and handicap accessible rooms are available. The hotel also has a conference centre for business meetings.Guests of this pet-friendly Edmundston hotel appreciate high-value amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, free continental breakfast, free weekday newspaper and free local calls. Other hotel features include an exercise room and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Edmundston
Comfort Inn Edmundston, New Brunswick
Edmundston Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.