We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but .....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fernie Slopeside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fernie Slopeside Lodge to your Saves list
Fernie Slopeside Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5339 Ski Hill Road, Fernie, British Columbia VOB 1M6, Canada (Formerly The Wolfs Den Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Cheap but .....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

....not cheap enough, staff friendly but room horribly 2 star, beds old and lumpy, furntiture old and poor quality, bedding all very nylon, walls and floors paper thin, was woken up both nights a number of times, wifi not working, heating not really connected to the thermostat - pretty ropey all in all, left very tired.

Avoid

Rob

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan A, General Manager at Fernie Slopeside Lodge, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear OmanRob,

Thank you for your review although i would like to extend our apologies for the inconveniences and quality of your stay.

I would like to mention that in January 2014 Fernie Slope Side went through not only a renovation and refurbishment but also new Management and Owners. All new appliances, linens, bedding, furniture, improved wifi quality and connection, service and necessary repairs to Lodge facilities.

We do hope that you will give a second chance to redeem our selves either through the summer or next ski season.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

After reading other reviews, I wasn't expecting too much. On arrival, the staff were very friendly and the lobby didn't look too bad, a little bit dated but I can live with that. Got to our room, not a bad size for 2 people, I guess it would be a little cramped if 4 people were sharing. The room, like the lobby, was dated, that would've been ok if it wasn't so grubby. The curtains and bedding had holes in, the coffee machine had not been washed as it still had coffee in it from the previous occupants, there were crumbs on the window sill and all over the floor, the fridge was filthy and there were dodgy stains on the bathroom floor and around the toilet bowl. The room had obviously not been cleaned. As far as I could see, the only thing house keeping did when they came in, was straighten the towels & bedding and put a couple of toilet rolls in the bathroom, the room did not get cleaned in the two weeks we were stayed there. The only reason I did not give the Wolfs den a 'terrible' was down to the location. I would never stay at this place again, if possible stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great location for skiing but staying in Spring meant the village itself was very quiet - and what was opened closed early.

The hotel itself is badly in need of some investment. One in 3 lights in the bathroom were working (we told the staff but nothing happened), the blanket on the bed was so thin it had holes in places, the beds sagged. It has so much potential but falls short currently.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The lobby and common areas are decent. The rooms are old and small. The beds were the worst. Paper thin scratchy old sheets on an old lumpy tiny double mattress with a gross comforter from 1979. You could hear everything from outside, the hallways and the other rooms because the walls are paper thin. There was rarely staff at the front desk. And a sign saying to call security for assistance in the evenings. We ran out of toilet paper and had no extras, went to the desk at 6 pm and no one was there. We were situated on the basement level across from the hot tubs Saturday night all we could hear was people partying all night. Banging on our doors/ walls/ windows. Vomiting in the halls, hanging/ jumping out the room windows. Screaming all night and there was no staff to notify or assist in anyway.

Literally the only good part was being able to walk to and from the mountain.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family and I stayed at The Wolf's Den at the end of July and I would not stay there again, even if the room was free. The place looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time, there were bags of laundry in the hallways, the hairdryer and tv didn't work, and checking in was a pain in the butt. But, I could have lived with it if the sheets had been changed.

The bed spread looked dubious, but when we pulled back the cover, the sheets had clearly not been changed. There was long, black hair all over both beds, and pillow cases too. There was nobody at the front desk to ask for fresh sheets and the store was closed, so we went and got a couple of old blankets from our car. The next day, we found a maintenance man outside and asked him if he had keys to the laundry room so we could get fresh sheets. After looking in two laundry rooms, we finally found a couple of extra sheets and pillow cases in a laundry basket. Then, we went back to our room and changed our own sheets. If I hadn't already paid for this through Groupon, I would have asked for a refund and stayed somewhere else.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Me and my husband went for the weekend. When we arrived, there was nobody to give us the room´s keys so we had to wait about 20 minutes to get in. The smell was horrible, the halls where covered with dirt. The carpet and the blankets where gross. The "hot" tub where cold!!! Not recommendable at all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This was our third time staying at the Wolfs Den. The location is it's obvious prime feature, but there are other hidden parts that make it better than just a slopeside bed for the night.

They have a BBQ on the patio that's available whenever you need it, so I've made a habit of bringing beef ribs with me to fuel up after a day on the slopes! Also the ski/board locker is much better than some other resorts I've stayed at. They're large and constructed of wood, so the boards don't get nicked trying to put them in, they also have holes at the bottom for water to drain through. Nothing worse than rusty edges from a board sitting in water all night!

The hot tubs are small and indoors, but very relaxing nontheless. Unfortunately some people don't respect the hot tub room and there can be quite a mess with towels everywhere at night. A little courtesy from other guests would make it a better experience.

The rooms are just right, and the beds reasonably comfortable. It's too bad they don't have any rooms with a single queen or king instead of the two doubles, as my better half likes to steal the covers and kick me while I try to sleep! Speaking of sleep, Sunday morning we awoke to the sound of TNT being dropped from a helicopter into the mountain bowls. For the uninitiated that might be a little concerning... For me I got a big grin on my face and was instantly wide awake! We were in the lift lines 15 mins before they opened, and some of the first people into the powder bowls as they opened them throughout the day!

I will stay here again, but it is a little expensive for the features included in the room (no kitchenette, basic TV, etc.) The pre-season and mid-week deals help, and I'll be trying to take advantage of those throughout the winter.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fernie Slopeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernie Slopeside Lodge

Address: 5339 Ski Hill Road, Fernie, British Columbia VOB 1M6, Canada (Formerly The Wolfs Den Lodge)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fernie Slopeside Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernie Slopeside Lodge, located at the base of Fernie Alpine Resort, is a comfortable ski in/ski out hotel- style accommodation. Relax in your room, complete with cable television, coffee maker and fridge. The Lodge features two indoor hot tubs, lockers for ski and board storage and laundry facilities. Located steps from the village plaza, including Kelsey's Restaurant and the Slopeside Deli, and 5km from the City of Fernie, the Fernie Slopeside Lodge offers convenience for guests to enjoy all that the Elk Valley has to offer in the winter and summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fernie Slopeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wolfs Den Hotel Fernie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernie Slopeside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.