We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmmm steak” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fernie Cattle Company

Fernie Cattle Company
561 Hwy 3, Fernie, British Columbia, Canada
+1 250-423-7498
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 45 Restaurants in Fernie
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Organic, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fernie's premier steakhouse featuring grass fed Black Angus Beef, oceanwise seafood, and certified organic, fresh vegetables all year long.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“mmmm steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Went for steak dinner while on ski vacation in Fernie. The steaks were good, but because it was family day weekend, they were out of a few selections.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We have now dined at the Steak Hse on numerous occasions over the past few months. On each occasion we have been very impressed with the level of service. Coming from Ireland we were delighted on each visit to receive exceptional attention from a charming girl from Dublin! The food on each visit was good, however that olde Dublin charm made our nights truly memorable. We will definitely be back for more great service. Keep up the great work! Golu!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What an amazing Valentines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have been to the cattle company a few times before this and it has always been amazing....the food, the atmosphere, the service. We booked ahead for a table on Valentines night as we knew it would be busy as it is the best restaurant in fernie. We had the best valentines dinner we have ever had. The tables were all nicely decorated with roses and we got chocolate hearts at the end of the meal. We both had Tenderloin steaks & they were cooked to perfection. We dont usually order desert but when we found out they had creme brulee we had to give in and order, it was sensational!!overall a great night in a great restaurant with great service. cant wait to go back again soon

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernie, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Had some trouble with making reservations as they only allow certain times for seating . They did not have the fish on the menu. The food was really good. The steak is cut thin though, but tasty. The lamb chops were great. The service was good and atmosphere friendly. Expensive but nice for a special evening out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Please just stay at home or in your hotel instead of visiting!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

As regular visitors to Fernie the idea of a nice steak or other grill items is very appealing and this is the only restaurant dedicated to such a menu. So the idea is good but after three visits now and walking out twice the next time I want a steak in Fernie I will go the supermarket and cook one myself. My real issue here is not the food, on the one occasion we stayed to eat and they actually had some of what we wanted on their menu, the food was ok, nothing spectacular, but ok.
The big problem is that the menu is limited and even then they always have a long list of items not available, their standard excuse is that they have had a busy night or busy last days, but believe me we have been here in mid January when the town is empty and they still have the list of not available. On this most recent visit once again we were presented with a list of items not on the menu (because they had been busy apparently) - their only chicken dish not available, their only fish dish not available etc, etc. Despite this we ordered one steak and one lamb chops both with baked potato ( no French fries available at any time which always seems a bit strange to me in a steakhouse). Our order was taken and we waited for our food. During this time we heard another waitress tell a nearby table that sorry but Baked Potato was no longer available. We were not told the same and thought maybe we had got lucky and got the last 2, well we were soon to be even more disappointed. Our waitress came to tell us that the lamb order that she had accepted was no longer possible, so now the only lamb dish on menu was not available. At this point we said that we overheard that Baked Potato was not available and surprise, surprise we were informed that we would also not be having BP. Enough was enough and I asked to speak to a manager, instead I got another server (apparently the place is managed by the joint owners who both work in kitchen) who had been specially trained in these situations and from our experiences and her own admission she gets plenty of practice explaining why multiple dishes are off the menu. I was not happy with the explanation and asked to speak with one of the owners, this was denied and I was told they did not and would not speak to customers with problems. Our evening at Fernie Cattle Co ended pretty soon after that, we paid for the wine we had drank, left and agreed that we would not be giving them another opportunity to disappoint! It is a shame because there really is a place for a good steakhouse in Fernie but believe me this is not a good steakhouse!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fernie Cattle Company also viewed

Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 
Fernie, Kootenay Rockies
 

Been to Fernie Cattle Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernie Cattle Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.