We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome skiing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lizard Creek Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lizard Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Lizard Creek Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   #5346 Highline Drive | Fernie Alpine Resort, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book from $89/night
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome skiing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

A very old review, but still valid, great resort but it is a fair trek from Calgary airport and seems to take forever to get to. We were unlucky with the snow as it rained most days at the bottom of the hill and therefore the beginners in our party got very wet saying that, the snow at the top of the hill was fantastic.

Rooms are simply huge and great for a family with all the amenities that you could imagine. Food very good and everybody had plenty of choice.
Would go back to this hotel if we were to visit Fernie again, not sure when that will be though.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Tony B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Hope if you come back this winter the snow will be the best that we have ever had!!

We really appreciate your complements about our wonderful property.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fernie!

Kind Regards

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    45
    19
    13
    15
See reviews for
63
49
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I would highly recommend Lizard Creek Lodge to anyone who wants to experience an amazing summer vacation with family and friends. We all had fun at the pool, biking, and going down to Fernie Alpine Resort for hiking. The room came with complimentary continental breakfast and it was great value for the price we paid for the room. An all around great place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that your room was to your liking and made use of the pool and hot tub. Its a great way to end the day and enjoy the views.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fernie!

Kind Regards

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed two nights at Lizard Creek Lodge on a mid-July weekend. We enjoyed the fact that it is a kilometer off of the highway, so there is no highway noise at all. The lounge and pool areas, in the evening, are quiet with soft music playing. We didn't sit outside on the patio during the day, but expect that it is quite noisy as the pool and hot tub are just below it. The weekend we stayed there were a number of families staying there as well. In general, the hotel and rooms are clean. The rooms and furnishings are a bit dated, but that doesn't affect your overall comfort or experience. When we checked in Friday afternoon at 3:00 pm, were told that the room was not available and were told to come back at 4:00 pm. When we came back at 5:30 pm the room was still not ready and we were told to wait at least another half hour. When we mentioned we'd been there previously and were told to come back, another suite was offered. We had booked a two bedroom suite. The new suite offered was in the main building, was a two bedroom with a loft. The suite had a well equipped kitchen, living room, bedroom with a king bed, and bathroom on the main floor and two double beds and a bathroom in the loft. There was also a small balcony with two plastic chairs and a small table where we could sit outside. The loft was extremely hot and the air conditioning unit which is on the main floor did not seem to push any cold air upstairs. There are fans in the suite that circulate the air but they don't really cool the rooms.

A continental breakfast is included with the room booking. The breakfast room is very small and was extremely crowded when we visited. It did not seem that the room was being attended to as there were no knives and a very limited selection of breakfast items. The offering included coffee, juice, yoghurt, bagels, dry cereals, English muffins, jams/jellies, apples, oranges, and bread. It looked like many of the breakfast items were "thrown" onto the tables. The small yoghurt containers were still in the paper packaging.

These are condos and not hotel rooms so the rooms are not cleaned on a daily basis. We did not realize this until our last day when we looked in the guest binder and it was noted that only the garbage is taken out daily and the coffee supplies replenished. We experienced the first, but not the latter. Contrary to another reviewer's report - our beds were not made, and the towels and toiletries were not replaced daily. This wasn't a big issue for us because we only stayed two nights. I found the pillows to be quite large, so substituted one of the pillows that was in the shams for the ones on the bed. This made sleeping easier.

The cost per night was quite reasonable. There are some issues that the hotel needs to address, but we would stay there again because of its location and amenities. There's lots to do and would appeal to families.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.
We really appreciate your complements about our wonderful property.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Fernie!

Kind Regards

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently spent 2 nights in a suite at Lizard Creek Lodge while attending a wedding. Other than the amazing views, this hotel is a disappointment.
My room was a loft suite. The beds were rock hard and desperately need to be replaced.
While I saw 2 staff enter our room after the first night, our room was not cleaned, towels were left in the tub & no clean towels were provided and the beds were not made. It appears the only reason they entered the room was to replenish the coffee/coffee mate.
The air conditioning was broken in the building which added to the sleepless nights as the loft in the suite where I stayed was extremely hot. The temperatures that weekend were in the low 30's. I do have to say, the hotel was kind enough to allow the pool to remain open after hours to "make up for the AC not working".
My biggest issue is with the "free continental breakfast"... this was a joke.
On the first morning of our stay, we discovered that the continental breakfast did not include fruit or yogurt. The "continental breakfast" included only bagels (which were frozen), bread and Cheerios.
The ONE lady working was running around like a chicken with her head cut off trying to restock the bread and bagels AND run the front desk and was very rude when I asked if they had any fruit available. The response I got was "I don't know... maybe an apple... I'm busy trying to run the front desk too". She couldn't even be bothered to look at me to answer me; brushed me off and walked away. On the second morning, I knew there wasn't a large variety of food, so was prepared for that. All I really wanted was a glass of juice. The juice containers were empty and the SAME rude employee was again working and this time when I asked if they had anymore juice, I was advised that the juice was frozen and she didn't know when there would be more juice.
It amazes me that with a full hotel of wedding guests, they would be understaffed and underprepared.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We booked in mid May for a room in mid August and had a confirmation number. When we asked a question via telephone re the room in mid July, they advised they were full with a wedding and we had no reseravtion. Two followup emails asking for clarification were not answered but we were fortunate to find alternative accomodation. They were not helpful and indeed did not follwup on emails - not the best example of customer service. Ihad to put a date on a travel date to submit this, actually it will nothappen with Lizard Creek since they overbooked and did not advise us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed for 5 days - 4 night. This is a condo/hotel winter resort for the winter outdoor enthusiast. The resort changed ownerships within the last two years. It is open for the 1st time all year in 2014.
Pros- the rooms are very spacious and bright. We got a one bedroom suite. It has a full kitchen with fridge, stove, microwave and dishwasher. Washer & Dryer are also part of the suite. The bed was uncomfortable and could use an upgraded mattress. We experienced a "maintenance day" meaning the pool and hot tubs could not be used. We also noticed a very strong chlorine smell in the tap water as a result.
The major downfall - the hotel rooms are NOT touched up daily, meaning no cleaning of bathroom or making beds. That is only done every 3 days. Fresh towels are provided daily, garbage removed and toiletries replenished. However, our empty facial tissue box was never replaced during our stay. I believe, a 4.5 star resort as it claims to be - should provide such a service daily.
The resort has 3 buildings - stay in the main part if you like party and lots of people, building 2 and 3 are much quieter.
The continental breakfast is included - but not recommended. We opted out and received two $5.00 coupons instead (ask at reception each day you need them) which can be redeemed towards a full breakfast in the restaurant.
Overall, the experience was good - the value was good. We purchased a deal that included lunch within the resort and found it very good value.
I would not recommend this resort for a family with small children under 6. There is no kiddie pool or park to play in. If your children like hiking and the outdoors, by all means, go for it.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room/suite in building 2 or 3 if you like quiet, ask for building 1 if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, February 27, 2015
Thank you for your review. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.

Warm Regards,

Lizard Creek Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed two nights at Lizard creek. The rooms were great, quiet, full kitchen, dishwasher, washer and dryer, nice out look at the pool, nice hot tub, we had underground parking. On the downside pool could have done with a clean halfway through the day, jets on the hot tub not working, elevator near our room broken. Always bring your towels from the room because they often are our at the pool. Breakfast was a huge disappointment. Two options of cereal, white toast, muffins (if they have them) and juice. We ended up having to go into town to have breakfast so if you are expecting a normal continental breakfast bring the food with you to cook it yourself or be prepared to go to town.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Front Desk Supervisor at Lizard Creek Lodge at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Debbie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review from your recent stay with us here at Lizard Creek Lodge. We appreciate you taking the time to review us.

Although we are disappointed to hear that the continental breakfast was not to your liking. Our restaurant hours have changed since you were here last, we are now open from 8am-9:30pm daily. We still have the continental breakfast but you can get a voucher from the front desk for $5.00 off of our hot breakfast menu.

Maintenance has looked into the problem with the hot tub, they have since fixed it.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Kari Zuffa
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lizard Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Creek Lodge

Address: #5346 Highline Drive | Fernie Alpine Resort, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
#4 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lizard Creek Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook and Expedia so you can book your Lizard Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Creek Hotel Fernie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lizard Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.