We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lizard Creek Lodge

Save Saved
You added Lizard Creek Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lizard Creek Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   #5346 Highline Drive | Fernie Alpine Resort, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room starting from $99
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Fernie
Saskatoon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent all around!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Everything was perfect!! ...one minor detail that wasn't so good...the extremely hard beds!! But if that's what you like..this resort is perfect!! The hard beds would be the only reason we wouldn't return. Hey management...get foam toppers or something!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
40
36
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Fernie after usually travelling to Whistler for our annual 'out west' ski trip and we had a wonderful experience. I required a well kept, 2 bedroom, 2 bath accommodation that was ski-in and ski-out and Lizard Creek ended up being the perfect spot. We did not stay in the lodge itself but in the neighbouring condominium which is administered by staff at the lodge. The suites were clean, reasonably well equipped with daily cleaning if required.
We would visit the lodge daily to sit in the lobby area in the large comfortable couches by a beautiful stone fireplace and sip hot chocolate and Bailey's which was our treat for a couple of hours of skiing on the line-up free slopes covered in deep layers of powder.
The staff at the lodge were exceptionally nice and helpful.
We only eat in the lodge one night for the Sunday buffet and i have to say we were not impressed. We should have guessed as any time i go to a buffet where there are few people the turnover of fresh food is not as frequent and the hot food was on the cool side. That said when we asked to have our food reheated the staff were most obliging.
As with any place there can always be improvements and i have a few comments that i intend to pass on to the hotel. Firstly the ski lockers are tiny and kept in a room that has the temperature of a sauna and the last thing you need before you hit the slopes is to be drenched in sweat as you will soon have the chills. My last beef is the 2 bedroom units have 2 bathrooms but unfortunately most, if not all, condo owners have opted to put a large tub in one bathroom consequently there is only one shower to service the whole condo. As we had gone with another couple we had to shower in rotation in the bathroom. This may seem small but when you are on active vacation and end up showering a couple of times a day it can be a bit inconvenient.

Room Tip: My tips for those who, like us have gone to Fernnie just to ski I suggest you take the time out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights at Lizard Creek and enjoyed the great snow at Fernie. The resort is still in excellent shape, tastefully decorated, with a fabulous location right at the base of the Elk chair. It has convenient access to all the amenities you would want...even the buildings alongside the main lodge have their own large outdoor hot tubs. Condo units are generous in size. Service was great from everyone. We were given extra towels from housekeeping, a late check out from the front desk, and we were well taken care of by the staff at the lounge (nice view of the hill from there by the way, and the roasted red pepper soup was delicious!)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This alpine resort is perfect for a summer gateway. Nice shallow river for fly fishing and a great public golf course. The lodge has a large variety of rooms and our 3 bedroom was wonderful. Comfortable and clean with a bbq on the balcony. Perfect location nestled in the heart of the rockies.would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Loved the location of Lizard Creek amidst the very scenic Apline Resort. We had been updgraded to a 1 bed condo, with excellent, large kitchen facilities and really loved this as we enjoy self-catering esp for breakfast. We found all memebers of reception to be extremely helpful, informative and friendly. Enjoyed hiking several amazing trails at "Island Lake Provincial Park" as recommended.Restaurant at Lizard Creek was closed for the season but we were able to enjoy both pool and hot tubs. Dined at the newly opened Steak House in Fernie and found the wonderful "Loaf" bakery.
Really loved our stay in Fernie as part of a 5 week tour of Western Canada.

Room Tip: Opt for the more spaceous ! bedroom condo with mnt view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed two nights in this great facility right in Fernie Alpine Resort while I was attending a leadership retreat. We had a one bedroom condo that met all our needs and more. We had two bathrooms - one with a shower and one with a jetted tub. Our king sized bed was a little hard, but still ok. The living room was spacious and would easily sleep four people. We had a beautiful view of the the mountain. The kitchen was also large. There is an outdoor pool, in the main building, a hot tub in each of the lodge buildings. Staff was very cordial and willing to meet are our needs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We visited the Lodge for a wedding which was actually quite wonderful. The room was very spacious and comfortable and the wedding itself was lots of fun. Unfortunately we were very unhappy with the staff. We were mis-quoted rates when we booked the Lodge, this was after shopping around and being quite conscious of our budget. We did not receive an email confirmation for our quote, because apparently there was a crash in their computer system and our reservation was lost. When we tried to address the issue after the fact, when we were charged more than double what we were quoted the staff failed to accommodate us or really even acknowledge their error. I tried to phone and speak to a manager but they were never available and did not return our phone calls. Clearly one of their staff members messed up but no accountability was taken.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizardCreek, Manager at Lizard Creek Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi There

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, we pride ourselves on our spacious rooms and the great weddings we host here, great to hear that you had a good time.

I'm very sorry that the reservations weren't handled to your standards. Sadly, due to infrastructure and our remote location, outages and "crashes" are an all to common event here in the summer. Our front desk agent did the best she could do with the information she had remaining (1st name) and booked a unit for you at the exact same rate of the wedding special that the rest of your party were offered. Through a room shuffle, to accommodate the large numbers for the weekend, you received a room upgrade for the weekend. Our front desk supervisor had a conversation with you regarding your disappointment with your situation and offered you a free stay which you declined.

We have updated our computer battery backup systems and hope not to have this problem in the future but as I say outages and "crashes" are an all to common problem when the weather gets nasty here in the Lizard Range. I would like to speak with you further about the circumstances of your stay. Please drop me a line at: info@lizardcreek.com attn: Graham and rest assured I will get right back to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lizard Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lizard Creek Lodge

Address: #5346 Highline Drive | Fernie Alpine Resort, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lizard Creek Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Lizard Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lizard Creek Hotel Fernie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lizard Creek Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.