We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Place Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Place Lodge to your Saves list
Park Place Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   742 Highway #3 | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Calgary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

They are replacing the carpets here so it is like a construction site. Piled up old caroet and bare floors and associated noise. The rooms are hot. Thermostat in room not working so have to use air con which sounds like a train. If you turn it off and open the window the traffic noise is horrendous. The breakfast is good but service is very slow and servers seem more interested in socializing than serving.

Room Tip: Stay at Best Western. If you have to stay here, don't stay on front side facing main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear JudyM:

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are very disappointed that your stay did not meet your expectations and that noise had a negative impact on your stay. We are pleased to announce that the new carpet installation is complete. We have shared your concerns with our maintenance team and restaurant staff.
We apologize again for your inconvenience and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
26
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
BC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The room was clean, large and the bed was comfortable. The room was very quiet; we did not hear anything from our fellow travellers. We were in a room in the back of the hotel, so did not have a mountain view, but you only have to step outside to see the beautiful scenery that Fernie has to offer. It is only a few blocks from the downtown core, and there are restaurants close by if you chose to eat elsewhere. The ski hill is a short drive away, so everything is close at hand. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Enjoyed the Fish & Chips and a Big Caboose. The fish was good enough to have been poached. But the batter was almost worth having to work off the extra calories - very crisp and made from scratch I believe. The Big Caboose is a draft beer from their local brewery http://www.ferniebrewing.com/big-caboose-red-ale named in tribute to their rail-side heritage. Our server was attentive and good humored. The worst (minor) thing was the room lacked some freshness and ventilation. I had a good Greek Salad here the time before, and possibly the same server, so they have some continuity and consistency. Summary: Food second only to http://www.tripadvisor.ca/Hotel_Review-g182167-d611043-Reviews-Fernie_Stanford_Resort-Fernie_Kootenay_Rockies_British_Columbia.html which is where I usually stay, and the taps and service as good as any in Fernie.

Room Tip: Remember the front is the Highway 3 (big trucks through the night) side, and the rear the railroad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear darryh,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Pub Bar & Grill. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our food and drinks and we have advised our service team of your kind words. We brought your concerns to the attention of our maintenance team. We look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I prefer to stay in town rather than on mountain, and this place works well. It's a short walk to the town center and an easy drive to the resort. Staff are friendly and the pool is always popular, which gives it a good family friendly feel.

The room we had was 2 queen beds and it was massive, with a nice balcony. The Pub attached to the lodge is busy during the ski season and provides good pub food. A very short walk to Fernie Memorial Arena for catching a Ghostriders game.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Jarrod S.

Thank you for taking the time to review the Park Place Lodge. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the amenities in our facility. We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you took advantage of our location. We look forward to being of service to you and your family on your next Fernie Vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Park Place Lodge for a few days over new years. The location is great. A short drive to the hill, close to restaurants and grocery stores. Our room was nice. Fairly big, was clean had a fridge, microwave and dishes/ utensils. The hot tub was a fair size and a nice size pool as well. Our room was a little noisy. We booked last minute so had a room right off the pool/hot tub so heard everything. Also was noisy after the bar shut down and people were walking through main pool area. We booked late and it was NYE so we didn’t find it too big of a deal. Would suggest a different room away from the pool though if you have the option.

We liked the convenience of having a liquor board, lounge and restaurant right in the hotel. Our only real complaint is we had REALLY long waits for our food. We tried the lounge a couple times and went to the restaurant but when told it was a 45 minute wait we decided to get it sent to our room instead of sitting and waiting. We waited over 1.5 hours for it to get to our room (we didn’t order anything fancy) and were not happy with what we got however we were tired, hungry and didn’t want to have to send it back. We always got the same excuse that they were busy and the kitchen was backed up. There was never more than 2 other tables in the restaurant when we were there. The lounge was full but if people were eating it was usually just finger food/deep fried type things. Unfortunately had to send food back twice in lounge. Once because it was ice cold and the other because they brought me the wrong thing. They did rectify things quickly both times though.

Overall the hotel was good and we would stay again. Just might venture out a bit more for meals.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear wmc484:

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Park Place Lodge and appreciated the value of our location. We are very sorry that your experience with our Food and Beverage department did not meet your expectations. While it is no excuse we would like you to know that our restaurant, pub and room service are all serviced by the same kitchen. We experienced staff shortages this winter and while our small team tried to keep up they were unfortunately not always able to do so. We continue to work hard to build a larger and stronger team so that we can ensure more prompt service. Again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to welcome you for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I was in town for work and i stayed at park Place Lodge for 4 days. This hotel will make you feel as though you have come home. The bed was very comfortable with excellent quality bed linen. Large flat screen tv ,comfortable chairs. It's very clean. Lots of windows so it was all very bright. The facilities like the Hot Tubs and indoor pools are great, the hotel is exceptionally beautiful, and the service is superb.I ordered room service every morning which was delivered quickly and food is very good.

They took care of every details that you need to make your stay as comfy and convenient as it can be.They go extra mile with the services that they provided.

In all honesty, I couldn't ask for more. I had an awesome experience and I will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Kaye_Owfg:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments regarding our facilities. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt that our customer service team provided an excellent guest experience. We do look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at Park Place Lodge on a recent staff trip to Fernie. The service was exceptional, and the staff were extremely friendly. I received many comments from members of the group about the quality of the rooms & facilities. The breakfast buffet was delicious and there was plenty of food to ensure that everyone left for a day riding with plenty of energy! We really felt looked after and at home during our stay, and I will definitely be recommending that future staff groups also stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlaceLodge, General Manager at Park Place Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear traceyjeffery:

We are so happy that your group returned to Fernie and the Park Place Lodge for another successful event. Thank you so much for your gracious comments regarding our staff and facilities. We are very happy to see that you would recommend our property. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Place Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Lodge

Address: 742 Highway #3 | PO Box 2560, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Place Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy distinctive lodging in the heart of Fernie. Park Place Lodge is a 64-unit, full service, boutique hotel. Comfortable, well-appointed guest rooms feature deluxe pillow-top mattresses, free high speed internet access, large televisions, air conditioning, in-room microwave and mini-fridge. Studio units also feature a king bed, fireplace, balcony & kitchenette. Hotel amenities include Max Restaurant, The Pub Bar & Grill, Spirits Cold Beer & Wine Shop, indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room & meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Place Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Fernie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Place Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.