We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Fernie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Fernie to your Saves list
Super 8 Fernie
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2021 Highway 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Gas, Rooms, Tickets
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here on Dec 30 and 31 while skiing at nearby Fernie Alpine Resort. The room had everything we needed including a fridge and microwave. The outdoor hot tub is quite large and felt great after a day of skiing. Lots of variety for the included continental breakfast and the staff was extra vigilant in ensuring nothing ran out and the serving area remained neat and tidy.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the front of the motel, but next time would ask for one facing the back away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Fernie, Owner at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello Debin

I really appreciate your comments. I'm lucky to have such good staff who take pride in their work.
Hope you decide to stay with us again when you crave some fresh POW.

Jeremiah Pauw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    127
    43
    9
    4
See reviews for
88
81
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

After discovering make up smears on the pillow, I looked closer only to discover tiny black and red insects which we now know are bed bugs. Discovering these lead to further internet research and the tiny poop like smears on the pillow were left behind by bed bugs, when they feed on their host they molt and leave behind bloody smears if the infestation is large enough. The front desk acted like this could not be a possibility, but there are reviews online about Fernie being full of bed bugs. The front desk actually asked me to bring down some of the bugs. These bugs are as little as. 0.4mm, and I was asked to bring in evidence? Don't want the bed bugs biting you at night? Avoid the super 8. Or bring tin foil. Beds are from the 70s... yikes.....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Fernie, Owner at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hello Elster
The words bed bugs are very dangerous for the hospitality industry. I takes one disgruntled guest to ruin a business just by mentioning bed bugs even if it is true or not. After talking with my staff whom I have the utmost confidence in they told me you were rude from the moment you checked in. My staff is sure you were just looking to get a free night as you complained about multiple things during your short stay with us. It is suspicious that you reported the bed bugs in the evening but when we offered to change rooms for you refused and slept in the room that night anyway. You also did not want my staff to check the room that evening. We are a family run business and take pride in the hard work we do every day to please to offer our guests a clean comfortable room which is shown by the bulk of other reviews on this site and all other review sites. I'm sorry that you did not feel you received the level of service and quality of the room you felt entitled to, however I feel it is unfair of you the write a review that is untrue.
Bed Bugs are something we take extremely seriously. After carefully checking your room we were not able to find a single sign of bed bugs. We take every possible preventive measure to prevent bed begs.
1. All mattresses and box springs are encased in special bedbug protective covers.
2. All rooms have 2 bed bug detectors. (These are specially designed traps that attract any bed bugs within 20 feet) These detectors are checked every day by the housekeeping staff and weekly by me.
3. All staff undergo a full days training every six months on how to spot bed bugs and what to do in the cases bed bugs are detected.
4. Twice a year our rooms are completely emptied of all contents including furniture and thoroughly deep cleaned and inspected.
5. We keep up on the latest scientific discoveries and technological devices in order to help us prevent a problem.
Your comment on my mattresses being from the 70's is unfair as all bed are less than 3 years old. We do have two types of mattress in the building. Pillow top and firm. Maybe your mattress was not your personal preference and for that I’m sorry.
To our Trip Advisor audience I have to apologise for my forwardness of this response but my staff, my family and I work very hard to provide a clean comfortable room with great service and good value. It is frustrating when someone whom was unhappy writes a review that is both untrue and inflammatory. I’m sure our audience is able to read all other reviews written about us and make their own informed choice.

Thank-You
Jeremiah Pauw
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Our room was clean and had everything I needed- I was happy to find a fridge and microwave on hand in addition to the extra pillows. The hotel is quiet, with a standard breakfast and a rather large hot tub that is well maintained. $150/night on the weekend leading up to new years.

Room Tip: Prefer staying on higher levels for window privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Fernie, Owner at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank-you Hschultzy82 for your review.

We are all glad you enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub and found our in room amenities convenient.
Next time you get a craving for some powder turns, give us a call we will be happy to serve. Thanks again

Jeremiah Pauw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel is clean and quiet. Desk staff were friendly and efficient. The room was large and beds were comfy. There are extra pillows & blankets. Breakfast was good. We would stay there again.
Location is convenient.

Room Tip: We stayed on 2nd floor, odd numbers which back onto a huge hill. No traffic noise, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiahpauw, Owner at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank-You Barb for your kind review.

We are happy everything was to your liking and you were able to make use of free amenities like the breakfast. Take care and happy holidays, we will keep the lights on for ya when you come back this way.

Jeremiah Pauw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We decided to overnight in Fernie on out way home as the roads were getting bad. We had originally thought about staying at the Best Western but couldn't justifiy the $160/night price, especially during shoulder season.

I was pleasently surprised with the Super 8 here. There looks to have been some recent updgrades done. New carpet in the stairwells as well as fresh paint for the whole building. Everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was average but good enough to fill our bellies before hitting the road again. The hard boiled eggs were a nice surprise. We hadn't brought out swimsuits along, but it would have been nice to enjoy the outdoor hot tub!

The only minor issue was the location. While the location was good as far as access and visibility, it is right along the Crowsnest Hwy. I did notice quite a bit of traffic noise at night, as our room faced the highway. There are quite a few semis going by at night. But, that is to be expected. Otherwise we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, it may be best to ask for a room that faces away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Fernie, Owner at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hello Erin

Its nice to hear your stay with us was comfortable and you found good value in your stay with us.
We are continually upgrading the property as you noticed. Our next upgrade will be new 36" flat screen TVs in all rooms. This should be complete by January. Thank you for your time and nice comments about Super 8 Fernie we hope to see you again.

Jeremiah Pauw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Fernie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fernie

Address: 2021 Highway 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fernie 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Super Start Breakfast, awesome hot tub and encloser. A must try!!!Exercise room and meeting room Strong reliable WI-FI though out hotel. Free Guest laundry Machines, Kids under 16 stay free Wyndham Rewards loyalty programSun deck and barbeque area All rooms are 100% NON-SMOKINGSki shuttle Business Center (word processing, printing, faxing, internet)Ski and bike storage Smitty's restaurant, Husky Gas and Dairy Queen on same property Minutes away from Fernie Alpine Resort.10 % Discount for all Super 8 Guests at Dairy Queen.With all these amenities included in all Super 8 Fernie's rates, you'll start your day full and save money at the same time! That's value and convenience, exclusively offered only by Super 8 Fernie. Our business is conveniently situated on the bank of the Elk River on Hwy #3. Guests at our hotel can expect to enjoy a Super start breakfast(R), complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms as well as an awesome large outdoor hot tub, meeting and exercise room. There's even a sun deck with barbeque and a ski locker room... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Fernie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Fernie Hotel Fernie
Super Eight Fernie
Fernie Super 8
Fernie Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Fernie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.