We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed for a hockey tournament with my daughter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Fernie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Fernie to your Saves list
Super 8 Fernie
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2021 Highway 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book direct and save 15%
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
CRANBROOK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“stayed for a hockey tournament with my daughter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Was comfortable and good value. Staff were supper friendly. Breakfast was good, place was clean.nothing fancy but a good place to spend a night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiahpauw, Owner at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank-you for your generous review.
I'm glad everything was comfortable and you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you again in the future sometime!

Jeremiah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    127
    43
    9
    4
See reviews for
88
81
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
PETITE RIVIERE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here from Oct.20 - 27th. What a great place,location for us was perfect, just 2 mins.from Fernie.Room was great although a newer mattress would have been nice but did not affect our stay.We had our black lab with us and we were in a room that gave us a backdoor exit for our walks.Staff was terrific and accommodated us when we needed 1 extra day.Breakfast was great,plenty of choices.When we return we will definitely consider staying again if things haven't changed,keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiahpauw, Owner at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank-you NovaScotiaPetite999 for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed our pet friendly room and found its location convenient. In keeping with our business plan we are continually upgrading and improving our property all the time. Thanks again and we hope you choose us for any future Fernie visits


Jeremiah Pauw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prince george
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed here many times for work, would never spend my own money here. Terrible maintenance and functionality. Dirty and things falling apart. Location is very poor. For a lot less money, you can get the same thing at a low budget motel in town. Internet is brutal, which they blame on the town... go figure!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremiahpauw, Owner at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello scootermp

I'm very sorry you did not find my establishment up to standard.

I do however take issue with some of our comments. I take pride in the fact that we provide comfortable clean rooms at a considerable value.

My cleaning and maintance staffs are very though and take pride in the job they do. We have very high standards when it comes to cleanliness. Deep cleans are done on a regular basis, carpet cleaning is a full time position and we inspect every room with a black light before renting out.

We have a full time maintance team that is always upgrading as well as keeping up with any issues that arise.

My internet within the hotel is a fastest speed available in my area and the network was upgraded last summer to a robust commercial product. However we do experience outages from time to time as is the nature of utilities.

In response to your comments on value, we will match any advertised hotel room price within Fernie. My average rate over the year is under $100 the average in Fernie is $119. We all so have free breakfast that is above brand(Super 8) standards, Wi-Fi, movie channels, shuttle to ski hill, ski lockers and local calls all included in your rate. Not to mention children under 18 stay free.

If problems are brought to the attention of my staff, they are trained to resolve the issue right away to the satisfaction of the guest. Our guest comfort is primary and we try our best to make sure the guest experience as pleasing as possible.

I’m terribly sorry that your experience at my property did not meet the standard I listed above. Please call me; I will do my best to fix the issues you experienced at my property.

Jeremiah Pauw
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a hotel that a new owner has really renovated and really cares. The hotel has new carpets throughout and many other renos, it's really quite current now. Staff member "sabrina" is very accomodating helping to change resevations at other properties when my needs changed. You just get the feeling at this property that the owners have set a standard and really care.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Fernie, Owner at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you John for your kind review

I appreciate you noticing all the improvements we have done to the property recently. I’m glad that Sabrina was able to help you with your reservations; it makes me proud to hear positive comments on my staff’s performance. Thank-you again for your comments and we look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Jeremiah Pauw
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Fernie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fernie

Address: 2021 Highway 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Fernie 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Super Start Breakfast, awesome hot tub and encloser. A must try!!!Exercise room and meeting room Strong reliable WI-FI though out hotel. Free Guest laundry Machines, Kids under 16 stay free Wyndham Rewards loyalty programSun deck and barbeque area All rooms are 100% NON-SMOKINGSki shuttle Business Center (word processing, printing, faxing, internet)Ski and bike storage Smitty's restaurant, Husky Gas and Dairy Queen on same property Minutes away from Fernie Alpine Resort.10 % Discount for all Super 8 Guests at Dairy Queen.With all these amenities included in all Super 8 Fernie's rates, you'll start your day full and save money at the same time! That's value and convenience, exclusively offered only by Super 8 Fernie. Our business is conveniently situated on the bank of the Elk River on Hwy #3. Guests at our hotel can expect to enjoy a Super start breakfast(R), complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms as well as an awesome large outdoor hot tub, meeting and exercise room. There's even a sun deck with barbeque and a ski locker room... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Fernie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Fernie Hotel Fernie
Super Eight Fernie
Fernie Super 8
Fernie Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Fernie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.