We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Fernie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Fernie to your Saves list
Super 8 Fernie
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2021 Highway 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good Value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This hotel is pet friendly which is why we picked it. It is a little out of the way from the downtown but costs a lot less - downtown hotels more trendy catering to skiers. Room was clean and the staff were nice. The breakfast was more than ample. It is a little off the highway but was pretty quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Hi BuffaloLake,

Many thanks for your review of the Fernie Super 8, we were glad to accomodate you and your pet. We are proud to be pet-friendly and we were also happy to see that you enjoyed our breakfast, that your room was clean and that our staff were nice too. We take pride in all of these elements and more to give every guest a super experience whilst they stay with us.

Fernie Super 8 looks forward to accomodating you and your pet the next time you are in town.

Regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    138
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
103
86
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

FANTASTIC Service! So helpful, fast response. I contacted the hotel to find out if we could possibly check-in early as I snowboard while my boyfriend doesnt. Jan, responded promptly and provided the front desk with my contact details in the event that an early check-in was possible. Called at 9:00 AM, totally not expecting to be able to check-in and they checked with housekeeping and got back to us within 10 mintues to say they had a room available. In addition, they extended our checkout time to 1:00 pm with no charge. Great service, friendly staff. Rooms are standard but perfect if your looking just to lay your head down. Breakfast was complimentary and standard but did the trick. Great out door hot tub, although this time the jets were broken. Unexpected but were still able to use. Would stay there again forsure!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Hi Shannon M

Many thanks for taking the time out to review Fernie Super 8. We were glad you had a great experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We booked in midweek March and got a good rate of around $110.00 a night. When looking at other options, we found this to be a reasonable choice, not too far away from the hill. The quality of room exceeded our expectations. It appears that they have got new carpet. When returning to Fernie, I wouldn't look anywhere else - I don't think you could find the same value anywhere else in town! We'd come back.

Room Tip: Book more than one night and book it earlier than two weeks out for the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Hi Sekaitraveller,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Fernie Super 8, we are glad you found us to be a good choice and that the rooms exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to offering a warm welcome on your next visit to Fernie
regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We chose Super8 Fernie because of proximity to the ski resort. We will return because of the great service, spacious and clean rooms, nice hot tub and good breakfast.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
HI there Vanvoyageur

Many thanks for the review, we were glad to hear you had a good stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you on the the Fernie Super 8 on your next trip to Fernie

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Nice and clean hotel! Nice sized room, with good TV, Free Internet, Fridge and Microwave! Washroom was in great condition. Stayed for 6 nights and it was perfect. Hot tub outside was worth the price of admission on its own. Two 25 yr old travelling and was great. Will be staying again when we return to Fernie!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferniesupereight, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Hi there Travels0me,

Many thanks for the review, it always makes us smile when we hear that a guest has had a good stay.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Fernie
Thanks again for taking the time to review us.
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We booked a room at the Super 8 for a 3 day ski trip. The room was clean and very comfortable outfitted with cable TV, internet, fridge and microwave. The staff were accommodating and a pleasure to deal with. The hotel offered a great continental breakfast to suit everyone in the families tastes. The stay was excellent value for the money spent. Our family will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpau_9, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Hi there Lori135,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Super 8 Fernie after your recent stay. We were glad to hear everything was good and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards
Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Early check-in, nice room, hot tub, Wifi, coffee, hot chocolate - what else could you need (they do have some cable too). Glad we decided to stay here. As opposed to another review I saw on TripAdvisor, I think for what you pay it's pretty good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jpau_9, General Manager at Super 8 Fernie, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Hello Matt J

Just a quick note to say thank you for taking the time to visit Trip Advisor and review your stay with us

We were glad to hear that you had a good stay with us and found everything to be as you had hoped.

We hope that we can be of service to you again at some point in the future and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Fernie

Kind regards

Jan Baker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Fernie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Fernie

Address: 2021 Highway 3, Fernie, British Columbia V0B 1M1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Fernie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Super Start Breakfast, awesome hot tub and encloser. A must try!!!Exercise room and meeting room Strong reliable WI-FI though out hotel. Free Guest laundry Machines, Kids under 16 stay free Wyndham Rewards loyalty programSun deck and barbeque area All rooms are 100% NON-SMOKINGSki shuttle Business Center (word processing, printing, faxing, internet)Ski and bike storage Smitty's restaurant, Husky Gas and Dairy Queen on same property Minutes away from Fernie Alpine Resort.10 % Discount for all Super 8 Guests at Dairy Queen.With all these amenities included in all Super 8 Fernie's rates, you'll start your day full and save money at the same time! That's value and convenience, exclusively offered only by Super 8 Fernie. Our business is conveniently situated on the bank of the Elk River on Hwy #3. Guests at our hotel can expect to enjoy a Super start breakfast(R), complimentary high-speed internet in all rooms as well as an awesome large outdoor hot tub, meeting and exercise room. There's even a sun deck with barbeque and a ski locker room... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Fernie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Fernie Hotel Fernie
Super Eight Fernie
Fernie Super 8
Fernie Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Fernie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.