We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a perfect 10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1622 7th Avenue | PO Box 2680, Fernie, British Columbia V0B1M0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Almost a perfect 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

This hotel is worthy of the high praises from the previous reviews. Not only it's located in beautiful Fernie, British Columbia in the Canadian Rockies, it's fits the mountain theme. You see it in the hotel lobby with the fireplace and the architecture. I stayed in the standard king suite with a single bed, and an electric fireplace which is a first for my hotel stay. This is a standard room, but this hotel features many themed rooms. I would consider staying in the Canadian Wilderness room for a future stay in Fernie. It's a matter of when, not if I return to Fernie and the Best Western. It's location is centralized, and within walking distance to everything. Near the Ghost Rider shopping centre, and downtown where you see the Victoria Avenue shopping strip. I also walked to the James White Park in the Elk River valley, so the location is perfect. It's attached to the Boston Pizza which is great if there's a big game on in the sports bar. I only stayed 2 nights, but it also boasts a massage parlor, pool, fitness centres, and meeting rooms. There's many activities to do in this hotel and around Fernie. Mountain cafe provides a healthy breakfast which you can charge to your room when checking out. It's reasonably priced for the breakfast you get. The only snag that I had with this hotel was access to the high speed internet to my laptop. I had hiccups with that, but it was only a 2 night leisure stay and used my smartphone. Just get that fixed, and this hotel is a perfect 10 for a 3 star stay. I mostly stay in 2 star hotels off the highway, but the few extra dollars I spend here makes the upgrade worth while in this town. If you enjoy getting away in the mountains, this hotel compliments it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    83
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
55
67
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I frequent this hotel a lot and my experience has always been positive; friendly helpful staff, quiet rooms and pet friendly (if you book ahead); the breakfast area offers limited choices but is sufficient for my purposes, fast and always friendly; the hotel's gym is small but clean

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Stayed one night at this hotel. Free parking. Small swimming pool. Choice of indoor and outdoor hot tubs. Quiet when room faces the back road. Down comforters. Very clean and new looking even though 10 years old.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010 via mobile

Despite the seemingly high room rate this hotel was well kept. The lobby was warm and inviting with a fireplace. I was greeted promptly by the evening manager and checked in. My room was comfortable and clean though I could hear my neighbors. I visited the Boston Pizza that was attached to the hotel for a late dinner and the service and quality was good there as well. The scenery surrounding the hotel is picturesque and there are many services conveniently close by.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I have stayed in Best Western hotels from coast to coast, but the one in Fernie, BC was amazing. As you drive up you have to say "WOW!" It is a beautiful building in a beautiful place. Clean, bright, and very nicely appointed, we were instantly impressed. Our room was more than we expected. We found 2 queen beds and a door at the far end of the room. It lead to another private room with another tv and hide a bed couch. Traveling with 2 children, a boy and a girl this extra bed was a great surprise. While we were in the lobby I looked at the plaque stating the date the hotel was built. I couldn't believe that it is 10 years old. It looks like it opened yesterday. Clean, Modern, Great amenities, polite staff.
If this isn't the pride and joy of the Best Western chain, it should be!

A must stay for anyone!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

This hotel gave a good first impression a nice spacious lobby and nice staff. All the public areas and our room was spotless. The rates do not include breakfast. There is a pizza restaurant attached which was very good and convenient. The old part of town is quant. Ideal location if you like trecking, water sports, fishing and golf. The views are amazing of the mountains so a balcony would have been nice some hotels around did have them. We did a one hour drive to the Fort Steele Heritage Museum what a lovely place very well run and great people. Washing powder was FOC at reception a nice touch.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Stayed at hotel for a week on business. My room was very comfortable, enjoyed the extra desk for my laptop and highspeed internet which allowed me to work from my room, the king size bed was a nice comfort I had forgotten about since returning from Europe, and the size of the room was excellent. Happy about the gym and pool. Happier about food choices near by. I think it may be the best choice in Fernie.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge

Address: 1622 7th Avenue | PO Box 2680, Fernie, British Columbia V0B1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fernie Mountain Hotel Fernie
Fernie Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.