We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1622 7th Avenue | PO Box 2680, Fernie, British Columbia V0B1M0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Fernie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had clean spacious room with comfortable beds. Our free breakfast was great, room rate was ok, our dog was welcomed,discount for auto club. There was a Boston pizza there for our dinner that was good, the golf course is near,parking was plentiful , there was a small pool.,a exercise room, a computer use area and free wifi that was not too busy

Room Tip: All rooms. Seemed good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    92
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
60
70
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlegar, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Even though the desk staff was great and got us into our room well before the 3 pm check-in time and very helpful with a bunch of questions; we found six items at the during our stay that would make us think twice about staying here again.
1- The door / floor mats outside the elevators doors on each floor are a tripping hazard and did cause my older relative to trip and fall to the floor. Someone had dislodged a floor matt outside leaving the edge of it askew, on the second floor outside the elevator. When my elderly relative who has some difficulty walking exited the elevator he got the rug caught up in his feet and he tripped and landed on the floor. Anything to hamper an entrance or exit from any door way is a hazard including a door map, what would have happened if he had of injured himself?
2- When we woke up in the morning we went make a pot of coffee in our room and there was no coffee pot in the coffee maker.
3- In the morning we went to get a bottle of water out of the room fridge and someone had tuned the temp up to max so every bottle of water we had was frozen. Yes we should have checked the temp before hand, but who would have thought?
4- I think it was one of the maintenance guys sat in the lobby on Sunday morning for a while, watching all the customers walking by, my daughter found it disturbing, I didn’t notice it and not until she told me after we left.
5- Free Breakfast, lucky if was free because if I was paying for it we would have to sent it back. It was the worst scrambled / rubber eggs, warm dry and hard pancakes, weird seasoned / tasting sausages & Paper thin / bland bacon, we ever had. The Juice and Coffee were fine.
6- The last Item was just as we were leaving, our 4 year old granddaughter went down the wheelchair access ramp on the way to our Truck. She tripped and fell to the ground over the handle bar of a Bicycle which was sticking through the railing. The bike was parked on the opposite side of the ramp railing and was chained & locked in that position. The handle bar was so close but not touching the ground that not one of us saw it before our granddaughter has fallen.

Room Tip: From now on we will be checking the fridge temps setting as well ad looking for the coffee pot befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your recent stay and thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you found our front desk staff very helpful. Customer service is one of our highest priorities so we’re happy you experienced it. We encourage all guests to bring any items of concern to the attention of our very helpful front desk staff so that they can assist in making your stay more enjoyable. I’ve noted your feedback on some of the items around the hotel and will be sure to bring these up in our training meetings. Some are out of our control but appreciate you pointing them out so that our staff can become more aware of outside surroundings and look for ways to anticipate potential issues around the hotel. We hope you will stay with us again to see the continued improvements we make, and would encourage you to bring anything of concern about the room or surroundings immediately to our staff so that we can help you out. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I spend a week here every year with a couple fishing buddies. Very nice rooms. Clean, large. Free wireless that's fairly fast, laundry facilities ($2 wash, $2 dry). Nice touch was they gave us free soap and bounce sheets at the front desk. As a "plus" version of Best Western, it was a little spendy. It's at the far edge of town, which is no real problem since the whole town takes about 3 minutes to drive across. Fernie is a beautiful town, and not many hotels have this great a view from the front step. Get a north facing, upper story room if you can. My one gripe about the hotel is the breakfast, which is included with the room. It's a buffet style with eggs, bacon, potatoes, etc, all of which tasted like they'd been in the pan too long. Fernie in general needs some better breakfast options. Best one we found was Smittys. Pool and hot tub are very nice. They also have a complete spa with massages, etc, but I've never used it. The attached restaurant is Boston Pizza, which had good food and great service.

Room Tip: North facing, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks for the outstanding review! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It makes us happy to hear you liked our rooms, amenities and breakfast. Thanks for telling us about it here and we look forward to having you again soon!
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Greeted very warmly and professionally upon arrival by the front desk staff.

Newer hotel, yet charming. Excellent amenities. Extremely comfortable beds.

Free hot breakfast was fantastic!

Only downside was people smoking directly outside the front door of the hotel.

I will definitely stay here again when back in Fernie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn WA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Driving into Fernie is beautiful. It's a quaint Alpine town with lots of character. The hotel fits right in. It was one of the best hotels we stayed at on our trip to Canada. The staff is excellent very polite and friendly. I didn't see any dirty areas the hotel was spotless from the lobby breakfast area to our room. The breakfast was great. Waffles, pancakes and french toast.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spruce grove
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and we knew what to expect. The location is great..near a Tim Horton's, McDonald's and even a liquor store. A Boston Pizza is also attached to the hotel which serves your basic pizza restaurant fare.
The bed is one of the more comfortable ones we encountered on our 2 week holiday thru the States and Canada. Very clean modern hotel and the wifi worked great. A hot breakfast was included in the price. However, this was the most expensive Best Western we would stay in for the next 10 days...and it was in Fernie! Didn't expect that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed in a "Scandanavin Suite". Lots of room, though the decor doesn't remind me of what I saw in Sweden or Denmark. No big deal. Though for almost $250 a noght it was not cheap. Great pool and hot tubs.

The location in central Fernie is nice. I found it loud thought. Between the single pane glass and throught-the-wall a/c units, although we were not on the highway side, trains are loud and horn through every crossing in town.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojtek H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We hope you enjoyed your stay in the Scandinavian Suite and are glad to hear you enjoyed our location and pool/hot tub. Our location is one of the things guests enjoy the most about our hotel, among all our many amenities, so we’re glad you enjoyed it as well! We apologize for any noise you experienced. We are looking at any improvements we can make for our guests to be even more comfortable while staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you visit.
Sincerely,
Wojtek Hellwig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge

Address: 1622 7th Avenue | PO Box 2680, Fernie, British Columbia V0B1M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Fernie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fernie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fernie Mountain Hotel Fernie
Fernie Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Fernie Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.